Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th January 2008, 11:08   #2521
BHPian
 
binoyb22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: cochin
Posts: 168
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

@aza

Thanks for the details.u mean to say N82 is better than N95 and K850??
i was bit confused which one to go for.
Anyways will buy N82 next week

regards
binoy
binoyb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 11:46   #2522
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

weeehaa connected through bluetooth for internet sharing. Remember the earlier settings didnt allow this form of connection earlier and was stuck with USB cable connection.

So after some fiddling got it to work and thought of sharing with others who are facing issue.

Handset: HTC touch (Win Mob 6 professional, so should work with other phones with same OS)
Service provider:Airtel (Airtel GPRS)

Following settings if done will make the bluetooth PAN network work.
CSD Line: 9600 bps(v.32)
Connection element: Transparent

GPRS setting: PAP Authentication

This is apart from your regular GPRS settings
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 12:11   #2523
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
GPRS setting: PAP Authentication
GPRS Authentication (PAP or CHAP) would depend on the operator, therefore do not use these as global settings.

However, using an HTC phone as a wireless modem is a relatively simple task which does not require any settings to be changed.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 20:23   #2524
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

yeah that's what I thought, yes it used to connect through usb cable (slow) but bluetooth was "no net connection" though pan networking used to happen.

finally these settings gave connection as well as faster gprs. again I know pap or chap is service provider dependent and hence posted its for airtel.

some google and reading up helped
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2008, 23:48   #2525
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Can the gurus pls help me with this?

2 MP Cam with autofocus, flash
good mp3 player

Budget - 10k
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 00:27   #2526
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,172 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Can the gurus pls help me with this?

2 MP Cam with autofocus, flash
good mp3 player

Budget - 10k
SE K750I (20 characters)
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 11:32   #2527
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Can the gurus pls help me with this?

2 MP Cam with autofocus, flash
good mp3 player

Budget - 10k

I would recommend SE W810i and it got everything u want.Looks very cool and it got dedicated walkman buttons and no joystick unlike 750.
810 also comes in nice package with 512 MB card & little speakers etc.It should be around 10000-10200rs.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 14:25   #2528
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: On The Net
Posts: 302
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Guys, I bought E51 yesterday from Univercell. While the phone is great, the headset that it came with is really of very poor quality. Any suggestions for a good Nokia headset upgrade under 2K? Please note, I don't need a wireless/bluetooth headset, I am pretty fine with a good sounding wired headset. Also, the connector is a 2.5mm one on the E51.

Also, what is a good Nokia car handsfree speaker set? I can figure out the compatibility w/ E51.

Thanks!
pmbabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 15:01   #2529
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,242 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
I would recommend SE W810i and it got everything u want.Looks very cool and it got dedicated walkman buttons and no joystick unlike 750.
810 also comes in nice package with 512 MB card & little speakers etc.It should be around 10000-10200rs.
Nopes. W810i was anyways around 9k-ish range sometime back. But that's not the point.

Take a K750i, mod the camera/firmware and in 20 mins, you will have a W810i. Only issue is that W810i has EDGE, rest all is same. Koshun is whether 2.5k is worth the EDGE to you - in which case you should be buying nokia E series

I have done the same on my phone, so I speak from experience
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 00:10   #2530
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

does anybody know how to rearrange program icons in W810i? my newly installed programs are all at bottom. and i can't find a way to access them faster.

it could be because my phone is locked to cingular. but does anybody know any tricks to access them easily?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 01:02   #2531
Senior - BHPian
 
rr_zen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheap_deal View Post
i use garmin on my n95 8gb its much much better than nokia maps. i love the fact that it displays the actual speed your travelling at, its more accurate than my speedometer in the car.
the garmin maps for N.America are quite good. haven't used India maps so i cant comment on that.
Can you please tell me how you loaded Garmin maps onto the N95 8GB and where do you get them ? I own a Garmin Nuvi 350 and am extremely happy with it. Just that when I come down to India am not sure how I would source maps for the same. I also propose to buy an N95 8GB soon.

Thanks in advance.
rr_zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 16:53   #2532
BHPian
 
sans33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 82
Thanked: 0 Times
Default which phone for online share trading

I need a mobile phone capable of running java applet, and trading online on indiabulls or icici direct.
sans33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 19:22   #2533
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kollam/Bangalore
Posts: 234
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rr_zen View Post
Can you please tell me how you loaded Garmin maps onto the N95 8GB and where do you get them ? I own a Garmin Nuvi 350 and am extremely happy with it. Just that when I come down to India am not sure how I would source maps for the same. I also propose to buy an N95 8GB soon.

Thanks in advance.
You can load garmin GMobileXT on N95 and point the software to use nokia's integrated GPS receiver. Since you have US maps, you can load the same to Nokia using map loader. Let me know if you need a step by step instruction.
Regarding India Maps of Garmin, I am also waiting to see if there is a way to get.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sans33 View Post
I need a mobile phone capable of running java applet, and trading online on indiabulls or icici direct.
Not sure about that applet bit, but I use my Nokia N95 8gb for trading using icicidirect.
RakishRam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2008, 00:07   #2534
BHPian
 
hkanitkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pune
Posts: 641
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Just got my AT&T Tilt ( unlocked ) from usa. I have used 2 PPCs in last 3 years but find this to be the best by the feature set.

Few things i miss : flash to go with camera and loud ringers.
hkanitkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2008, 00:58   #2535
Senior - BHPian
 
rr_zen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 1,710
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RakishRam View Post
You can load garmin GMobileXT on N95 and point the software to use nokia's integrated GPS receiver. Since you have US maps, you can load the same to Nokia using map loader. Let me know if you need a step by step instruction.
Thanks RakishRam. I will surely approach you once I get my N95 8GB.
rr_zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks