Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th February 2008, 10:48   #2611
NIP
Senior - BHPian
 
NIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,147
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

iraghava...a similar moron told me (Airtel CC) that the 'Airtel Online' GPRS cannot be activated on my HTC P3300 WM6 phone. This is a plan where I pay 99 bucks for unlimited GPRS use. The chap said I will need to upgrade to their 'Airtel Mobile Office' package, that costs 150 bucks a week for unlimited use.

My Nokia E61 has no problems with Airtel Online, and I can use it for Gmail, Google Maps, Browsing etc. This plan is more than enough for my use and I see no reason to blow 600 bucks a month on some other unlimited package. I see no reason why this should not work on windows either !!

So is there no setting/configuration available for a windows phone for 'Airtel Online' ?? If anyone is using this plan, can you please let me know how I can configure my phone. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
NIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 10:52   #2612
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

@rkbharat - What i meant was that there needs to be a service provider who is ready with all the required technology & infrastructure from his end or the traffic police regarding traffic updates

Anyways, yes, there are companies coming up like mapmyindia & such but what i said was that GPS is yet to go mainstream in india and also the pricing has to fall, which again will happen on its own if it goes mainstream. Also, im not saying the maps are not good regarding main roads & important routes, what im saying is that there are thousands of Gallies & bylanes in India which will take time to show up on maps

Last edited by Xehaust : 20th February 2008 at 10:55.
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 10:53   #2613
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Can anyone suggest a phone with a decent camera for under 6k?

I know the k550 is there at 7k, but anything below that?
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 11:01   #2614
BHPian
 
jaibir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 317
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Anyone has any idea about the N-91 8 GB? I'm getting one with B&W for about 11K and was wondering if its VFM at that price. I know its a discontinued model but wouldnt mind going for it if its a good phone for the price.
jaibir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 11:50   #2615
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Hey Proxima,
Under 6K - What resolution are you looking at?
A basic camera phone would be SE K205i and have recently seen ads of LG Dynamite which has a whole lot of features.
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 12:00   #2616
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIP View Post
iraghava...a similar moron told me (Airtel CC) that the 'Airtel Online' GPRS cannot be activated on my HTC P3300 WM6 phone. This is a plan where I pay 99 bucks for unlimited GPRS use. The chap said I will need to upgrade to their 'Airtel Mobile Office' package, that costs 150 bucks a week for unlimited use.

My Nokia E61 has no problems with Airtel Online, and I can use it for Gmail, Google Maps, Browsing etc. This plan is more than enough for my use and I see no reason to blow 600 bucks a month on some other unlimited package. I see no reason why this should not work on windows either !!

So is there no setting/configuration available for a windows phone for 'Airtel Online' ?? If anyone is using this plan, can you please let me know how I can configure my phone. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
I believe the mobile office settings are same more or less. I am running GPRS successfully on my p990i, and expecting to it as good as now on my to be acquired HTC P3300 as well. As you seems to be a corporate customer, better screw the airtel chap dealing with your company. He'll get the settings hands down to your table PM me if you need usual settings, as i have a backup of the same.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 12:02   #2617
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

@proxima

Have you tried looking at Samsung E250 all functions along with camera and 1 GB card free as well @ <5K

Cheers
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 12:12   #2618
BHPian
 
Xehaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 845
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
@proxima
Have you tried looking at Samsung E250 all functions along with camera and 1 GB card free as well @ <5K
Cheers
Seems like a very nice phone for under 5K
Xehaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 13:38   #2619
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,487
Thanked: 6,764 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIP View Post
iraghava...a similar moron told me (Airtel CC) that the 'Airtel Online' GPRS cannot be activated on my HTC P3300 WM6 phone. This is a plan where I pay 99 bucks for unlimited GPRS use. The chap said I will need to upgrade to their 'Airtel Mobile Office' package, that costs 150 bucks a week for unlimited use.

My Nokia E61 has no problems with Airtel Online, and I can use it for Gmail, Google Maps, Browsing etc. This plan is more than enough for my use and I see no reason to blow 600 bucks a month on some other unlimited package. I see no reason why this should not work on windows either !!

So is there no setting/configuration available for a windows phone for 'Airtel Online' ?? If anyone is using this plan, can you please let me know how I can configure my phone. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
You need to configure the proxy server IP along with port no, once you configure the Airtel online.

PM me and i can guide you, Airtel has no clue on setting up Win Mob phones he he

Last edited by Jaggu : 20th February 2008 at 13:39.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 15:07   #2620
Senior - BHPian
 
androdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,506
Thanked: 1,428 Times
Default

i nearly bought n95 8GB, but someone told me n-82 is coming in black color. if yes, i would prefer n82 black (except for smaller screen, functionally better than n95-8gb). any idea when n82-black will be available in India?
androdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 15:22   #2621
Senior - BHPian
 
X-Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mumbai/Tokyo
Posts: 1,476
Thanked: 11 Times
Default HTC Touch Cruise launch in India?

Hi. Is anyone aware as to when will this model be launched in India. Its available in many other countries. Seems like a rocking phone.



X
X-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 16:54   #2622
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

@androdev - Black N82 is officially announced last-to-last week only in India, so one can expect it on the shelfs by the end of next week as company is expecting a major hit.

Cheers
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 17:03   #2623
Senior - BHPian
 
androdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,506
Thanked: 1,428 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
@androdev - Black N82 is officially announced last-to-last week only in India, so one can expect it on the shelfs by the end of next week as company is expecting a major hit.

Cheers
Sweet. But are you sure it will be available so soon? Not used to such immediate launches in India!
androdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 17:47   #2624
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

@androdev -Well... i was wrong it is debuted outside in india , but still we can expect to be out in india as india being a global market for major handsets manufacturers.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2008, 18:19   #2625
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Already available - about 27K.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks