Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2008, 09:13   #3391
BHPian
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 414
Thanked: 61 Times
Default Network Frequency?

What frequencies do the individual networks run on?
E.G. Airtel Maharashtra - 1800mhz
What about Vodafone, !dea & the others?
Does it vary state-to-state (network circles)?
I am looking for a network in Maharashtra that runs on the 900mhz frequency (non Mumbai).
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 11:41   #3392
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,873
Thanked: 1,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
What frequencies do the individual networks run on?
E.G. Airtel Maharashtra - 1800mhz
What about Vodafone, !dea & the others?
Does it vary state-to-state (network circles)?
I am looking for a network in Maharashtra that runs on the 900mhz frequency (non Mumbai).
The older (2 original) networks are GSM 900. Not sure about BSNL, but all others are on 1800. So in your case it would be the old Birla AT&T (Idea) and BPL Mobile (Vodafone).
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 11:52   #3393
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 23 Times
Question Battery change for 6670

I have Nokia 6670. The battery life is very little and it drains off too often. The battery make is BL-5C. I have another mobile with battery BL-6C. I replaced 5C with 6C and it is working fine. The battery back up of 6C is better than 5C.

Now my query is whether I can go ahead with replacing the battery of 6670 from BL-5C to BL-6C. Will there be any problems like explosions / radiations etc. Need your suggestions from Gurus of this thread.
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 14:04   #3394
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
K i just got the ASUS p320
Asus P320 -- NaviGadget
it has built in GPS support but no navigation software, what Windows mobile software can I use ?
anyone ???? Please
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 14:08   #3395
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 23,117
Thanked: 16,422 Times
Default

mapmyindia and satguide both make software to use with windows mobile.
you can go to either satguide.in or mapmyindia.com for details.I think all india maps are around 2000rs
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 14:14   #3396
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
mapmyindia and satguide both make software to use with windows mobile.
you can go to either satguide.in or mapmyindia.com for details.I think all india maps are around 2000rs
so what i need is the maps and the navigation s/w correct ? I can get the maps for free that is not an issue
what about the navigation software
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 15:14   #3397
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,879 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
... replacing the battery of 6670 from BL-5C to BL-6C. Will there be any problems like explosions / radiations etc. ...
Quite a common practice. No it won't explode or radiate anything.

The difference is higher capacity (1070 mAh v/s 850 mAh), at the cost of being a tad thicker. Will take slightly longer to reach full charge.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 15:30   #3398
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Quite a common practice. No it won't explode or radiate anything.

The difference is higher capacity (1070 mAh v/s 850 mAh), at the cost of being a tad thicker. Will take slightly longer to reach full charge.
Thanks, DerAlte. I will go ahead and replace it. Was wondering whether I will get any answers in this forum for the query raised.
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 17:03   #3399
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,879 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
... Was wondering whether I will get any answers in this forum for the query raised
We aren't that bad, yaar. Are we?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 17:37   #3400
BHPian
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 414
Thanked: 61 Times
Default

Thanks for the info Steeroid.
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 17:40   #3401
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,879 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
K i just got the ASUS p320
Asus P320 -- NaviGadget
it has built in GPS support but no navigation software, what Windows mobile software can I use ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
what about the navigation software
Hindi adage: Aankh ka andha, naam Nayansukh! It is called a NaviGadget, yet doesn't supply the Navigation software - only the GPS! Like getting a car without a steering wheel.

Both Satguide and MapmyIndia also give the software, apart from the maps. I think by software you mean one that will give you Route Guidance. Otherwise there are other software which will display the map based on GPS coordinates, like mgmaps.

How much did you buy the P320 for? Where from?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 20:06   #3402
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 222
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Sony Ericsson W810i - Configuration error

Today morning all of a sudden, my SE W810i showed a screen saying Configuration error, please contact your service provider. And then it died.

Its not starting up since then. I have removed and cleaned the battery and sim after that, still nothing.

Any suggestions regarding how to get it working? or is it beyond repair and I need to buy a new one?

iPhone 3G is coming in a week's time...so this could be a sign
abhijitaparadh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 21:36   #3403
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,705
Thanked: 120 Times
Default

Whoa!! A Four-year-old thread! Wonderful!!!

I am carrying a LG Viewty KU990R and Nokia 2300. My history goes as follows:

Nokia 2110 (Slider) > Nokia 5110 > Nokia 3350 > SE P900 > Moto Razr v3i > Viewty.

Used to have a Motorola before the 2110, but forgot the model - it was a brick by all definitions!!! The Second phone I carry is for my official number, ofcourse!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 22:02   #3404
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 585
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Was just about to reply....yes and regular data services will work, its just Push Mail & enterprise connectivity that you will lose out on.

But if you're not using these, why bother with Blackberry in the first place?
Not sure it will work. I remember trying to put my Vodafone chip in the Airtel BB once I ran out of battery power, and it returned a SIM registration error message.

Just checked it again and it reads "Invalid SIM Card".
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 22:17   #3405
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,873
Thanked: 1,642 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkapoor777 View Post
Just checked it again and it reads "Invalid SIM Card".
Perhaps the AirTel blackberry is network locked? The answer was meant for a generic blackberry NOT provided by a service provider. I.E., bought from a retailer who sells Blackberry handsets without the service.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks