Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th January 2009, 19:51   #4216
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 218
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

Well, I've just got a new Nokia E71. I just checked the firmware version in the phone and it is 100.07.76.

When I checked the Nokia software update site for the E71 phone (code 0566235), it has a version of 110.07.127. Now, is it better if I update the firmware in the beginning it self? Can anyone who has the Nokia E71 or others suggest on this upgrade? THanks in advance.
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 20:18   #4217
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 449
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
Well, I've just got a new Nokia E71. I just checked the firmware version in the phone and it is 100.07.76.

When I checked the Nokia software update site for the E71 phone (code 0566235), it has a version of 110.07.127. Now, is it better if I update the firmware in the beginning it self? Can anyone who has the Nokia E71 or others suggest on this upgrade? THanks in advance.
Yes back up your phone contents and upgrade your firmware. I did this last week just two days after purchase.
Mission_Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 20:27   #4218
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 218
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

There is nothing in contacts and in the phone. I just inserted the SIM card. SHould I still do a back up. Pl confirm. Thanks
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2009, 20:47   #4219
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 449
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
There is nothing in contacts and in the phone. I just inserted the SIM card. SHould I still do a back up. Pl confirm. Thanks
In that case you don'r have to back up. But just to be safe there is nothing wrong in taking a back up.

The Nokia software updater software will be downloaded when you click the firmware upgrade icon in your PC suite.

After this the actual firmware update will be downloaded which is about 96MB.
Mission_Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 21:04   #4220
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Now I get a reply saying that 'GPRS settings are not available as the phone type is not supported'.
I've had this experience trying to configure samsung L700 for GPRS. Punching in the setting got gprs working.

User name-blank
Password-blank
Conn security-off
GPRS APN- portalnmms
ip- 10.10.1.100
Port- 9201
Name it anything and can use any homepage.

I should quote my experience with Hutch(Renu C/O GPRS section) in 2003, they said that Motorola C350 was in compatible with "their" GPRS because C350 used Switch circuit GPRS and they provided closed circuit GPRS.
Punched in the setting manually, which i got from their website, and GPRS started working. This was during the cricket world cup when they had the unlimted browsing & Multimedia messaging scheme. Sending voice notes or text as MMS for free was fun.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 22:58   #4221
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

yeah or just name it HUTCH_LIVE

anyway guys today i was there to buy E63 and the salesman was like it doesn't have 3G. Now with 3G services just on the anvil in india, i stopped! I dont need a 3.2MP camera or GPS as i've a N82 also. Can someone clear the air about E63's 3G capability. On the net they say its got 3G but not HSDPA, now whats the difference ? and how would it affect the bandwitdh with 3G is launched in india. Btw if it matters i'll be using it on VODAFONE delhi.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 23:47   #4222
BHPian
 
sinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thane - Mumbai
Posts: 422
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

All i can say is that shop guy dn't know much. E63 sure does have 3G. HSDPA sure does inhances the downlink speed. But what speed you'll get on pohone with / without HSDPA only time will tell once 3G is launched.

Furthermore, If you can live without a 3.2 MP and GPS , then go ahead with E63.
sinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 02:12   #4223
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinner View Post
E63 sure does have 3G.
E63 does not have 3G.

I'm trying to choose b/w E51 & E63, at the moment.
Can someone elaborate how a E71's keyboard is different from an E63's qwerty keyboard?
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 12:26   #4224
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

I thought E63 has 3G.

@gendarmee - Its not very different but noticeable changes are:

1) visibly E63 keys are bigger than E71
2) Space Bar is bigger on E71
3) E71 has a single button for Ctrl & Chr whereas E63 has two.
4) And E63 has a torch, it uses its LED Flash as torch, Space bar is the torch button.

Ok, now my problem.

My 10 months old N82 has developed this weird problem.

As soon as I finish a call, read sms etc and lock the phone and keep it on the desk, bed etc the phone activates the camera on its own!! I dont know for what reason this is happening. Tilted towards the right the front camera starts, as the shutter is closed after few minutes it shows Camera on Stand By. This is the reason why my battery gets used up so fast because the camera is on most of the time.

Anyone faced this problem? Whats the solution? Im planning to do a hard reset and observe if not then take it to Nokia Service Center.
Any suggestions?
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 18:24   #4225
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F50 View Post
@gendarmee - Its not very different but noticeable changes are:
Thanks F50, I was wondering what the differences were, the site says E63 has a qwerty key pad while E71 has a keyboard!

Guess that eliminates the E63 from my choice then.
Im looking for a phone with a good screen, Good battery backup & PDA features. Cam & music are not a priority.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 20:45   #4226
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
Thanks F50, I was wondering what the differences were, the site says E63 has a qwerty key pad while E71 has a keyboard!
But what is the difference? I thought both have same qwerty keyboards!
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 21:14   #4227
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F50 View Post
But what is the difference? I thought both have same qwerty keyboards!
Yep. Nokia's site got me confused, said that the E63 has a better qwerty keypad. Hence I asked.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 00:51   #4228
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
Yep. Nokia's site got me confused, said that the E63 has a better qwerty keypad. Hence I asked.
yep i feel the E63 has a better keypad feel, plus some extra keys. Apart from this after digging up a lot of urls, i found out that HSDPA is sort of an enhancement to 3G. E63 has 3G but no HSDPA. So i guess its not that bad.

Pls see the following link

3G (E63) vs HSPDA (E51)

Now ignoring the salesman i will be picking up a red E63 this weekend
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 09:27   #4229
BHPian
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 414
Thanked: 61 Times
Default

I might be visiting Dubai soon, wanted to know if:
Apple iPhone 3G 'FACTORY UNLOCKED' is available from 'trusted retailers'?
What sort of prices can one expect to pay?
I have seen prices on souq.com for approx AED3300. Are they the average shop prices from reliable shops?
Where can I buy one? (Shop names please)

Thanks in Advance

Last edited by Raja : 13th January 2009 at 09:30.
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 10:45   #4230
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,897 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
I might be visiting Dubai soon, wanted to know if:
Apple iPhone 3G 'FACTORY UNLOCKED' is available from 'trusted retailers'?
What sort of prices can one expect to pay?
I have seen prices on souq.com for approx AED3300. Are they the average shop prices from reliable shops?
Where can I buy one? (Shop names please)

Thanks in Advance
Most trusted retailers like Saraf DG,etc have the 3g iPhone unlocked but I dont think it is factory unlocked. Was in Dubai 3 weeks ago and the price was 3000 AED.
Would be wiser to pick it up from Airtel or Vodafone, India.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks