Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2009, 17:37   #4276
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra
Can any one using Nokia E71, tell me how to navigate i.e. how to use the GPS along with the navigaton software provided?
I have the very same question.
I think you need to call Nokia and enable navigation in Nokia maps. Its not free.
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 18:21   #4277
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default SMS alerts from banks

Hi folks,

Since this is related to mobiles, I am posting this here.

Many of you may be aware of the provision for getting SMS alerts for blance in your accounts, debits, credits etc.

I have subscribed for such services for a couple of my accounts.

Since the past three months, I am getting alerts for an account which is not mine.

The format of the message is different. As the alerts were originating from the same number that gives me Axis bank alerts, I informed them. All that they could was to get their alerts from another originating number.

The other messages do continue to come and they are not Axis bank, ICICI bank or Kotak mahindra bank.

The message is as follows:

Closing available balance in your CA xxxxxx on 14-01-2009 is Rs 0.00

The other messages from other banks have a different format.

Do any of you recognise the format? How can I get these SMS alerts switched off?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 18:26   #4278
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Apple iPhone 3G vs Blackberry Storm? Which one?
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 18:53   #4279
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 731
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

If I were you, I'd go for black BlackBerry Storm.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:05   #4280
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

I would go for Blackberry Storm.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:17   #4281
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
If I were you, I'd go for black BlackBerry Storm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
I would go for Blackberry Storm.
A big downer, BB Storm comes without WiFi.
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:32   #4282
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

I had got a Motorola Z6W with wi-fi. I returned it for a non wi-fi phone. I dont think phones need wi-fi unless one needs to use it for calling.

Also I would not recommend the Iphone as a phone yet. Maybe the next generation will be fully functional. It's an excellent multimedia device though.

Also a new communicator like phone, the asus M930W may be a good choice as it comes with windows os.

But definitely the storm between the two.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:36   #4283
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 731
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

A question about Nokia E71.
#1-When I transfer a ring tone via blue tooth, its comes in as a msg, i save it. it gets saved to tracks. While the same process with a picture gives me an option of saving on the phone or memory card.
how do know if the ring tone is on the mem card or the phone?
#2-How do i access the msgs stored on the sim card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
A big downer, BB Storm comes without WiFi.
That's unbelievable!
Then again, the iphone has a few limitations of its own!

Last edited by gendarmee : 3rd February 2009 at 20:37.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:46   #4284
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
If I were you, I'd go for black BlackBerry Storm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
I would go for Blackberry Storm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
A big downer, BB Storm comes without WiFi.
Yeah no Wifi is very shocking. I mean what do they smoke?
Tomorrow going to Vodafone to check both iPhone and Storm. Vodafone Churchgate and Peninsula Center, Lower Parel have live demo phones.
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 22:59   #4285
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

I have met a large chunk of buyers who dont care about wi-fi. Many are actually converts as they didnt find the necessary use.

But if you want wi-fi and like the nokia communicators form, look at asus M930W.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2009, 23:04   #4286
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,822
Thanked: 1,449 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
A big downer, BB Storm comes without WiFi.
I've had WiFi on several of my devices so far. I cant remember the last time I used it!
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 00:00   #4287
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
I've had WiFi on several of my devices so far. I cant remember the last time I used it!
Yeah. It might not be the most used feature on a phone but now-a-days almost all phones costing 15k+ has Wifi so phone costing nearly double that price should have that.
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 09:32   #4288
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 709
Thanked: 89 Times
Default

My p1i has wifi, it's quite a complete device, priced competitively. I use the wifi extensively.
sukrit7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 14:32   #4289
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,138
Thanked: 1,571 Times
Default

Thanks devarshi84, NetfreakBombay, five46 & phamilyman for your suggestions about the camera-phone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84
Even a 5mp camera phone is not close in quality to a 3.2 mp digital camera. But if you really want a 3mp camera phone. better buy a Sonyericsson. But to print I would recommend a 3.2mp camera K790 from sonyericsson which is available for about 10 grands if I remember corectly.
I was not even looking at SonyEricsson phones, but finally ending up buying it (K810i) because BIL had K790 and it is pretty good pictures and also because wifey liked it more. I am pretty happy with the pic quality and flash (xenon), but few days of playing with the phone convinced me that a phonecam can never replace a digicam in user-friendliness. But, it is handy and another +ve is one less gadget to lug around. Cost me 10900 for phone + 2GB memory card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by five46
I think SE has stopped producing K790i, may be available if in stock. You may also consider the SE K810i which comes with a secondary VGA cam for video calling (just in case ), and is priced around 10.3K.
Yes, K790i no longer available - the replacement is K810i. And yes it has dual cam as you said.
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2009, 14:54   #4290
BHPian
 
five46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: L-O-S-T!!
Posts: 417
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
... but few days of playing with the phone convinced me that a phonecam can never replace a digicam in user-friendliness. But, it is handy and another +ve is one less gadget to lug around. Cost me 10900 for phone + 2GB memory card.
Yes! Phonecams have still some catching up to do if they wish to replace entry level digicams.

A good bargain considering that a genuine 2GB M2 will cost somewhere around 900-1000 bucks!
K810i is a very decent mid ranger, only ask your better half to be little easy on the joy stick. There's always an option of avoiding using it, like to access 'Messages', you can press Menu followed by 5 (again, mentioned it just in case you're unaware of it, if you do know, great! )

Last edited by five46 : 4th February 2009 at 14:56.
five46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks