Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th May 2009, 12:51   #4711
Senior - BHPian
 
finneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,603
Thanked: 138 Times
Default

Congrats Sukrit! Enjoy the new gadget!

For keyboard, get the Spb keyboard from pocketgear.com, it costs $15.
I bought the same.
finneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 13:07   #4712
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,016
Thanked: 646 Times
Default

Need a phone which has blocking enabled for certain numbers. I'm aware that some manufacturers, including Sony have a call restriction wherein one can enable incoming calls from a pre determined list. However, I'm locking at a phone which blocks calls from numbers on a predetermined list. Appreciate any assistance.
Lalvaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 14:17   #4713
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Lalvaz,

This feature can be added to most phones by installing software that will disconnect / ignore calls based on blacklist of numbers.

Such calls are stored in log so you can check later to see which calls were blocked by software.

Which phone do you have at the moment?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 14:25   #4714
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalvaz View Post
Need a phone which has blocking enabled for certain numbers. I'm aware that some manufacturers, including Sony have a call restriction wherein one can enable incoming calls from a pre determined list. However, I'm locking at a phone which blocks calls from numbers on a predetermined list. Appreciate any assistance.
Buddy, you dont need a separate phone for that. A software called Handy Blacklist or Best Blacklist or Advanced Call Manager will do. I have used all three on Symbian phones (Nokia E series) and have been most happy with Handy BlackList.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 16:22   #4715
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 708
Thanked: 89 Times
Default

Thanks finneyp, will get a keyboard sometime today. Any ideas on putting contacts in diamond without active sync?
sukrit7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 16:37   #4716
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukrit7 View Post
Thanks finneyp, will get a keyboard sometime today. Any ideas on putting contacts in diamond without active sync?
Try this, don't know if it works on your phone. On your old phone goto the address book and select all contacts and send them all via bluetooth to the HTC.

This works in about 6-7secs to transfer all my contacts from my N82 to the Old XDA II Mini [which tends to lose them with battery runouts]
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 19:04   #4717
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukrit7 View Post
Tried that but it didn't work. Any manual method. There has to be something; Or can't I use a different program to transfer the contacts?
The process is described here:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ou...919601033.aspx
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 19:09   #4718
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

Nokia to launch lovely E52 in second half of 09.
Features: slim body, 3.2mp cam.
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 21:49   #4719
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 708
Thanked: 89 Times
Default

Thanks everyone. The problem was with outlook 2007 being a trial version and hence import contacts was disabled. Quite silly of them really, specially since it's coming with the phone. All sorted now, I'm back to enjoying my new device.
sukrit7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 11:18   #4720
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 20 Times
Default HTC P 3400i problem

I own a HTC 3400i. I'am not able to send and receive sms/mms etc from today morning. Is there any problem with the device or network? If it is a device problem, how can it be rectified? Need your suggestions.
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 11:32   #4721
Senior - BHPian
 
finneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,603
Thanked: 138 Times
Default

Snaronikar, Are you connected to network?

Do a soft reset & try.
finneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 11:36   #4722
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Snaronikar, Are you connected to network?

Do a soft reset & try.
I'am connected to network. I have also reset and tried and nothing's happening. The phone calls to & from is normal. I hav problem only with messaging. Is there a problem with software?
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 11:54   #4723
Senior - BHPian
 
finneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,603
Thanked: 138 Times
Default

I don't think it is a software problem.

Call-up the Airtel Customer Care.
finneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 11:58   #4724
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,490
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
I own a HTC 3400i. I'am not able to send and receive sms/mms etc from today morning. Is there any problem with the device or network? If it is a device problem, how can it be rectified? Need your suggestions.
Are you on Airtel and using Live? then as reported in another thread you might want to reconfigure the apn. Check with customer support on what is the new APN.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 12:05   #4725
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Are you on Airtel and using Live? then as reported in another thread you might want to reconfigure the apn. Check with customer support on what is the new APN.
Yes, my connection is airtel and also using "Office Mobile" as airtel live will not work on windows based mobile (as per airtel). I checked with:
1) Airtel: They informed to redo all the messaging settings.
2) HTC support: They informed only option is to "clear storage". It will delete everything (or restored to factory settings). I have synchoronised my mobile with laptop. He informed only the contacts and calender will be saved. I do not want to loose on sms's I have. Is there any otehr way out on this?
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks