Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th May 2009, 11:22   #4876
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
@SLK i know about manual switching of networks but what i wanted to know was

What does "2GX and 2GH" mean here.
Oops, sorry!

No Idea what that means. Other than the obvious Network type/ capabilities. The part that says '2G' is understandable, don't know what 'X' or 'H' would stand for.
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 13:13   #4877
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
Each tower (called BTS in GSM) broadcasts its capabilities. This is what is shown in your phone. ...
If there is only EDGE, it can support high data rates specific to EDGE or low data rates without dropping down to GPRS (or showing so) as you say.
True, but in most cities we are past that stage when some of the towers were upgraded and some weren't. If the SPs are cheating by still maintaining non-EDGE in some places, well, not much we can do.

In Bangalore it was done 4 years back - we find non-EDGE towers only in the interior areas away from major highways. For example, when one travels NW on Tumkur Road, the towers after Nelamangala on the Mangalore highway are non-EDGE, whereas on the NH4 you are still on EDGE past Tumkur.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 11:01   #4878
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 679
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Guys

Need your kind inputs on buying a new phone for my Sis-In-Law

B'day is on June 4 2009. So need your inputs urgently

Budget : 5000 INR

Brand: Preferably Nokia, Samsung, LG

Requirements : LOOKS , Like all females are interested in the same [ No pun intended ] , Rich in colors, FM,

Any other features is a added benefit. SIL is in college, so major fuss about the features

Eagerly waiting for your replies
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 11:49   #4879
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

In terms of Looks Samsung comes on top. I think u can get good looking samsungs in ur budget too. J700 etc ?? check it out
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 12:41   #4880
BHPian
 
bigron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: chandigarh,melbourne
Posts: 593
Thanked: 233 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

you could look at the nokia 7210 supernova or the nokia 5130 xm.
bigron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 13:05   #4881
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

Alert: Windows Mobile newbie here

I've recently upgraded to a Windows Mobile 6.1 phone from my old Crackberry.

This might sound stupid, but how do I bulk import all my phone contacts from the SIM to the Windows mobile phone? I can browse them on the WM from my SIM but I'd like to copy it to the WM device so that I can add the extra fields that WM supports.
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 13:17   #4882
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Alert: Windows Mobile newbie here

I've recently upgraded to a Windows Mobile 6.1 phone from my old Crackberry.

This might sound stupid, but how do I bulk import all my phone contacts from the SIM to the Windows mobile phone? I can browse them on the WM from my SIM but I'd like to copy it to the WM device so that I can add the extra fields that WM supports.
wasnt your crackberry synced up with outlook - you can simply restore from outlook in that case by syncing wimo with outlook
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 14:06   #4883
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 679
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigron View Post
you could look at the nokia 7210 supernova or the nokia 5130 xm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
In terms of Looks Samsung comes on top. I think u can get good looking samsungs in ur budget too. J700 etc ?? check it out

Thanks a lot guys for all your help. Samsung loooooks cool. Will explore the options and keep you posted. Let me know if you have anything more on your minds
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 14:09   #4884
Senior - BHPian
 
14000rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, MI
Posts: 1,843
Thanked: 541 Times
Default

I was using a motorola E398 till the battery packed up. Can somebody tell me where in bangalore i can buy the battery for the E398 ?
I currently use a HTC P3300 but wouldn't mind shifting over to the old phone as soon as i get the battery. Its an amazing phone.

Last edited by 14000rpm : 29th May 2009 at 14:11.
14000rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 18:07   #4885
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 708
Thanked: 89 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Alert: Windows Mobile newbie here

I've recently upgraded to a Windows Mobile 6.1 phone from my old Crackberry.

This might sound stupid, but how do I bulk import all my phone contacts from the SIM to the Windows mobile phone? I can browse them on the WM from my SIM but I'd like to copy it to the WM device so that I can add the extra fields that WM supports.

Real easy
contacts
menu-Sim manager
sim to contacts/copy to phone.

Let me know if you have a common issue of multiple entries, this happens because the phone will display the same contact in phone as well as sim memory. Is an easy fix!
sukrit7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 18:45   #4886
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

Thanks guys!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
wasnt your crackberry synced up with outlook - you can simply restore from outlook in that case by syncing wimo with outlook
Unfortunately not synced with the latest and I returned the crackberry to office.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukrit7 View Post
Real easy
contacts
menu-Sim manager
sim to contacts/copy to phone.

Let me know if you have a common issue of multiple entries, this happens because the phone will display the same contact in phone as well as sim memory. Is an easy fix!
I cant see to find "SIM Manager" option in the contacts menu. Also please let me know how to avoid double contacts being displayed
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 19:13   #4887
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post

I cant see to find "SIM Manager" option in the contacts menu. Also please let me know how to avoid double contacts being displayed
Not in contacts, its in programs. Was in my phone at least.
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 19:42   #4888
BHPian
 
deathwalkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 611
Thanked: 412 Times
Default

another option would be to use a third party application like Dashwire or Jeyo Mobile Companion which makes things so much easier
deathwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 19:44   #4889
BHPian
 
deathwalkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 611
Thanked: 412 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathwalkr View Post
its the latest firmware. i use an Idea connection but when i inserted an Airtel SIM it showed E but another Idea SIM same old G again. But confusing thing is both Idea SIMs are showing E in my HTC phones?!
so again is this is a phone defect or is everything ok?
deathwalkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2009, 19:47   #4890
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLK View Post
Not in contacts, its in programs. Was in my phone at least.
Sorry... Cant find it there either...
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks