Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 9th April 2010, 15:37   #6076
Distinguished - BHPian

I always wanted to ask this, can you put a screen/scratch guard cover on a touch phone? Wouldnt it affect its working?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 15:45   #6077
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
I always wanted to ask this, can you put a screen/scratch guard cover on a touch phone? Wouldnt it affect its working?
It is always preferable to put on a screen guard since it is a touch phone.
It is working fine with mine.
Pancham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 15:48   #6078
BHPian

Quote:
I'm no expert, just telling from personal experience.

Resistive touch screens are not really touch sensitive, they are actually press sensitive. So it should be possible to put a scratch guard over resistive touch screens. The effort required to register a touch (press) may increase because of the scratch guard.

@ pancham - kindly confirm the above.

Capacitive touch screens are more sensitive, not sure if scratch guards would work on them.

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 15:56   #6079
Distinguished - BHPian

Thanks Rohan & Pancham.
Quote:
The effort required to register a touch (press) may increase because of the scratch guard.
Yes thats what even my understanding is, I wanted to know, to what extent is the effort to touch gets changed.

Last edited by Technocrat : 9th April 2010 at 15:59.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 16:05   #6080
Senior - BHPian

The screen guard does affect the sensitivity. Most scratches happen during non-use of the phone (in pocket etc). Its better to have a good pouch and not use the screen guard.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 16:44   #6081
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post