Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th April 2010, 23:38   #6151
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
Hey, I too have an E72.

When I cross checked from Nokia's Indian site no such update was indicated.

My E72's Product Code is 0591952.

What gives?
You need to change product code to get new firmware. Check my post or phoenix's post about that in this thread. I think its in page 5. Good luck! Nokia India still has firmware 22.xx for E72.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 03:39   #6152
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Yep! the blokes at blokia cannot help but make us hack our phones - this appears to be a major update, from 2x.123 to 3x.123: Nokia E72 firmware updated to version v31.023

And stupid NSU would want to do a ~36 MB update every other week, incremental updates anyone?!! Anywaya, am downloading 31.023 as of now, lets see how it goes!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 10:02   #6153
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Alright, I am on 31.023. Here are my observations:

Before your start be prepared for HUGE downloads. The Nokia software updater would demand itself to be updated (mine was v2.4.6) to v2.4.8, which is a ~34 MB download. Once that is done, and if your phone "belongs" to one of the right region codes, it will find the new firmware, v31.023 - which is a ~184 MB download.

The firmware update, like previous versions, is non-destructing update - which means none of the user settings / files will be touched. But it is prudent to have a back, just in case.

After the update - my impression in the order I noticed it:
  • The responsiveness is pretty good, thanks to the special effects (appear/ fade) being disabled by default
  • There is a new icon called "SC" inside Apps - hey, what is that? Something pretty important, and something I had been wishing for ever since I got hold of the phone. Before I go into what that is, here is a background:
  • Most applications that require internet, including the built-in email client, will ask you to specify a connection - say, a Wifi or a GPRS connection. If you specify a Wifi connection, there is no auto fall back to another connection (say, GPRS). And if you choose GPRS as the preferred connection, and if there is a faster Wifi available, the phone wont switch to the Wifi - and your internet experience take a hit
  • This SC - which stands for Smart Connect - is from someone called birdstep technologies. It gives you the option of creating a connection group, which can have any of the configured connections. And this connection group itself will appear as a connection in the email client and other apps. You can specify all the Wifi networks, as well as the GPRS connection - and prioritizing the Wifi networks first - in the group. What this means in theory is, the phone will try to connect seamlessly to the first listed connection in the group when internet is requested.
  • I say theoretically because I haven't been able to get the darn thing to work like it should yet - I am fiddling with it for 30 minutes now (also see note below)
  • The full version of the firmware is 31.023.C00.01, dated 31st March 2010
  • The delay that was there after you select new message > message / while replying via message to an SMS still remains

Note: For the connection / connection group problem, the simple solution is to do what the built-in browser does - choose the access point's group (internet / wap / mms) - I set this to internet in the browser, and it will automatically connect to one of the Wifi networks I had saved if it is available, else connect to GPRS, which is the last priority in my access points listed under internet.

Overall, I have not faced any problems with this firmware. Will keep adding to this as and when I discover a new feature or (mis)function

I would definitely recommend those who have hacked their E72 / those to dare hack it to try this firmware!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 11:37   #6154
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Alright, I am on 31.023.
I am in 31.023 too. First impression is FAST! As you said menu transition is disabled and it moves faster than before. It has two new themes namely, White Business and White personal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x
Most applications that require internet, including the built-in email client, will ask you to specify a connection - say, a Wifi or a GPRS connection. If you specify a Wifi connection, there is no auto fall back to another connection (say, GPRS). And if you choose GPRS as the preferred connection, and if there is a faster Wifi available, the phone wont switch to the Wifi - and your internet experience take a hit.
You can create a priority of connections in Internet (Network destination). I configured my home WLAN as first priority and BSNL 3G as second. If WLAN not available, it falls back to 3G connection.

I setup Ovi mail during the initial Email setup and i am not able to see the Inbox of Ovi mail. Do you have any idea?

Last edited by funda2max : 21st April 2010 at 11:41.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 14:41   #6155
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 123 Times
Default Change product code?

Quote:
Originally Posted by funda2max View Post
You need to change product code to get new firmware.
Any idea when will this update be available for aam janata who can not, or do not, change their product codes?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 15:33   #6156
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
Any idea when will this update be available for aam janata who can not, or do not, change their product codes?
You may have to wait for months. Nokia India still has 22.007 as the latest firmware for E72. Changing product code is not a wacky job as you can always return to your old code.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 16:44   #6157
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funda2max View Post
It has two new themes namely, White Business and White personal.
Missed listing that - but the themes are not worth mentioning either, at least I hated it in those few seconds I switched to it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by funda2max View Post
You can create a priority of connections in Internet (Network destination). I configured my home WLAN as first priority and BSNL 3G as second. If WLAN not available, it falls back to 3G connection.
Yup, this works in a bunch of apps like the built-in browser seamlessly. But if you configure, say, GMail in the built-in email client you would see what I meant - it does not allow you to select the network destination (internet), rather demands that you choose an individual access point, or select the destination every time it checks for mails automatically
Quote:
Originally Posted by funda2max View Post
I setup Ovi mail during the initial Email setup and i am not able to see the Inbox of Ovi mail. Do you have any idea?
Did you change the messaging folders to the memory card (or back to phone) after setting up? If not try the setup again.

The messaging / email component of this phone is the yuckiest component of an otherwise well-rounded platform - ironic, considering this is supposed to a messaging phone!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 17:14   #6158
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post

Did you change the messaging folders to the memory card (or back to phone) after setting up? If not try the setup again.

The messaging / email component of this phone is the yuckiest component of an otherwise well-rounded platform - ironic, considering this is supposed to a messaging phone!!
Is it in Messaging ->Settings -> Others? My phone has Phone memory as Memory in Use. Should i need to change that? I never tweaked that anytime before.
Also, When i try to setup gmail from phone, it asks for username/password and goes off immediately when i press next. Weird :-/

Last edited by funda2max : 21st April 2010 at 17:18.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 23:10   #6159
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

If you configured the email setup for, say, Memory card and then change it back to Phone Memory, the inboxes you creates will disappear. But they should come back once you change the setting back to what it was when you configured the inboxes.

Suggest you keep Memory card as the storage location, transfer all that is there in the phone memory (it will ask when you select the external memory) and then try configuring the email accounts - I am using gmail, yahoo, hotmail and OVI - in addition to my office's Lotus Domino email without any problems!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2010, 23:51   #6160
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
If you configured the email setup for, say, Memory card and then change it back to Phone Memory, the inboxes you creates will disappear. But they should come back once you change the setting back to what it was when you configured the inboxes.

Suggest you keep Memory card as the storage location, transfer all that is there in the phone memory (it will ask when you select the external memory) and then try configuring the email accounts - I am using gmail, yahoo, hotmail and OVI - in addition to my office's Lotus Domino email without any problems!
Thanks. I have tried changing memory location from phone to memory card and back forth as well. I also tried to hard reset the phone and create emails from scratch. Nothing worked. All I could able to do was configuring my office mail I'd using MS exchange. Ovi, gmail,Hotmail and yahoo doesn't work :( did you configure email.nokia.com for accessing other mails.
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 01:04   #6161
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Nopes, I am having the other mails as individual POP3 / IMAP inboxes. I remember having this trouble you are facing just once after I got the phone - it somehow did not recur - are you restoring any settings after the hard reset? If so, try without doing that.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2010, 08:00   #6162
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 345
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Nopes, I am having the other mails as individual POP3 / IMAP inboxes. I remember having this trouble you are facing just once after I got the phone - it somehow did not recur - are you restoring any settings after the hard reset? If so, try without doing that.
No, I am not restoring any settings. I think the mailboxes are not getting created in the phone for Ovi/gmail etc...
funda2max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 09:43   #6163
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 504
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shapath View Post
SamSung S5620 Monte.This one seems to be better featured when compare to Nokia 5230 .This one has Wi-Fi ,3.15 mega pixel ,Turn to mute, Smart unlock, internal memory 200MB vs Nokia 70MB ( refer GSM Arena). price is just under 9K.
Thanks.
Has any one been using this phone? Looking for users input .

Anyone owning Monte? Any experience share? Im thinking Monte Vs SPICA. Which one? Price is 9K Vs 12.5K!
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 09:59   #6164
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,014 Times
Default

hey guys, i have a small doubt-

i recently bought a sony ericsson X10 for 37k from dubai. it is launched in india at a price of 35k. in some stores like croma, it is even sold for 31k! but on enquiry, i found out that the indian & even the US handsets come with only a charger, USB cable & 1 earphone whereas i got 2 accessories more, namely one extra earphone & a bluetooth headset + FM transmitter.

Sony Ericsson - Products - Accessories - Overview - MH710
Sony Ericsson - Products - Accessories - Overview - MW600

why this difference? why do they give more accessories in UAE & price it higher?
are both the accessories worth the 2k difference???
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2010, 11:42   #6165
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post

Sony Ericsson - Products - Accessories - Overview - MH710
Sony Ericsson - Products - Accessories - Overview - MW600

why this difference? why do they give more accessories in UAE & price it higher?
are both the accessories worth the 2k difference???
Well some things have intangible value and phone accessories are one of them , You have got a Stereo headset with 3.5 MM Jack and a BT headset
its up to you how much value you need to assign to it .

India is a value conscious market so for 2 K more a buyer would seriously think of either reusing a headset lying around or a preexisting BT headset and ditto is the case in US.

BTW : I did not get the sense of Sony Erricson bundeling in two acessories with very similar use cases together , A clip on BT headset which you can fit on ear makes more sense if you already have a ear bud type Stereo headset

Last edited by amitk26 : 23rd April 2010 at 11:46.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks