Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2010, 11:27   #7066
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
What is the ongoing street price of N900. After looking at platforms, I think a linux phone completely open will suite me the best.
As of a week back, price of n900 in Baroda (Gujarat) was ~22k rupees. My bro owns one. He is happy with it. Though its the one i send him from USA, for just 15k rupees 4 months back.


Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
I saw this phone and loved it Nokia did a very big mistake by not promoting N900 in a big way like it is doing for N8 ( Symbian) .
N900 is too bulky since they have incorporated qwerty. Also the screen is resistive and thats a major drawback. But still its quite good if somebody uses network as browser is full flash supported and based on mozilla firefox.

I am sure you won't be interested, but N900 is being heavily advertised in USA as unlocked phone. It is not available on contract. Prices are very low here for n900.

Last edited by chevelle : 8th October 2010 at 11:28.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010, 12:15   #7067
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

I think I will wait for the MeeGo version then. It should be out in a month. 22K means I have to stretch budget just a little bit.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010, 21:01   #7068
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

is there a way we can use 3g in international unlocked phones? like my bro has a n900 unlocked from USA. gprs and edge works but 3g doesnt. any pointers?
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 11:47   #7069
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 373 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
is there a way we can use 3g in international unlocked phones? like my bro has a n900 unlocked from USA. gprs and edge works but 3g doesnt. any pointers?
First see the settings is the 3G selection automatic or does it allow manual settings for the bands. Many times by default 3G is disabled in settings to save on battery.

If settings are fine then you need to check the 3G bands which your phone supports , BSNL 3G is 2100Mhz,
I think N900 is triband 850,1700 and 2100 Mhz so you should have no problem here but not fully sure about US version. In US many phones just support 850Mhz and 1900Mhz only t-mobile has 2.1 Ghz network.

Last edited by amitk26 : 9th October 2010 at 11:54.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 14:17   #7070
Ram
Senior - BHPian
 
Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore, Mumbai, Nagpur
Posts: 2,164
Thanked: 139 Times
Default What is your view on pre-booking?

Friends:
My view is that:
  • Manufacturers should not artificially inflate demand by over-hype and short-supply, followed by premium pricing.
  • New products should flood the retail stores and sustain market acceptance or rejection on their own merits/demerits.
  • Pre-booking forces customers to commit money based on advertisements, the blogosphere and even market hype which in some cases could be no more than vaporware.
What do you feel?
Do you support the pre-booking initiative of phone manufacturers?
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 18:32   #7071
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,015 Times
Default

My bro's SE Xperia X10 Mini Pro -

The Mobile Phone Thread - Queries, decisions, discussions all here-dsc_0468.jpg

I like the phone since it looks like my phone's (X10) baby!
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 19:00   #7072
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
First see the settings is the 3G selection automatic or does it allow manual settings for the bands. Many times by default 3G is disabled in settings to save on battery.

If settings are fine then you need to check the 3G bands which your phone supports , BSNL 3G is 2100Mhz,
I think N900 is triband 850,1700 and 2100 Mhz so you should have no problem here but not fully sure about US version. In US many phones just support 850Mhz and 1900Mhz only t-mobile has 2.1 Ghz network.
Thank you for your opinion. All these was done and dusted as soon as it was received. BSNL, Vodafone, Reliance didn't work. After many trips to airtel office, finally they smsed 3g settings which was manually entered in n900 and voila is worked. For around 1 month or so, they kept telling n900 is not in their database so they can't give the settings. After pulling some strings higher up we finally managed to get it.
So as of now only Airtel 3G works and no other. In the manual it says its triband, so don't know why BSNL won't work.

Edit: Any reviews on Nokia c6? Is it worth Rs. 12k i am getting it for?

Last edited by chevelle : 9th October 2010 at 19:02.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 20:49   #7073
BHPian
 
rohan_iitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 992
Thanked: 401 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Do you support the pre-booking initiative of phone manufacturers?
I feel the same way. Pre-booking is not a good idea.

But the more important question is why do people spend their hard-earned money to pre-book a phone (or even a car) without experiencing it personally or even reading an expert review.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
My bro's SE Xperia X10 Mini Pro -
I like the phone since it looks like my phone's (X10) baby!
Even I felt the same way when I saw them side by side in Croma.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
Edit: Any reviews on Nokia c6? Is it worth Rs. 12k i am getting it for?
Check out this review on GSM Arena.

Nokia C6 review: A playful character - GSMArena.com

Is this price with bill and warranty ?

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 23:22   #7074
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Friends:
My view is that:
  • Manufacturers should not artificially inflate demand by over-hype and short-supply, followed by premium pricing.
This is a common practice across the industry. Reasoning is:

1. Initially, inventory is bound to be low. Even suppliers like Samsung / Hundai / Intel will take few months before they start supplying at peak quantities.

2. It makes business sense to make max out of limited inventory.

3. Early adapters are more than willing to pay "Aspirational" prices. So product is priced at MUCH higher prices.

4. Once supplies stabilize and inventory is normal, price is reduced to what average buyer (in that particular category) is willing to pay.


So, NEVER buy a just launched product if you want VFM. Of course, if you are willing to pay any price to get your hands on latest gadgets this does not apply.

In tech, it makes sense to buy the product generation that is "about to be discontinued".

E.g., TV / HT Receivers /Phones that are going to be phased out.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 05:23   #7075
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
Check out this review on GSM Arena.

Nokia C6 review: A playful character - GSMArena.com

Is this price with bill and warranty ?

Rohan
Thanks for linky.

yes price is all inclusive
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 05:49   #7076
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LAX-SNA-BFL-BLR
Posts: 319
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Here is my take on the whole resubmitting documents for our pre-paid mobile connections: If it is indeed for national security as they say it is, it wont really matter cause the terrorists or other criminals will still get a SIM somehow or just fake their identities. I understand why the government is doing it, but its still an exercise in futility pretty much :(. .
CaliAtenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 12:15   #7077
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

An interesting article on Nokia and what ails it. The video on N97 is interesting.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2010, 23:06   #7078
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 12
Thanked: 0 Times
Question Best Mobile Phone for my father

Hi friends,

This dusshera I am planning to give a new cell phone to my father. Since he is quite aged, I want to give a him a cell phone that is easy to use and handle.

The main features being:

1) Ease of use. No need for fancy stuff.
2) Large display for easy reading.
3) Bigger sized buttons for ease of dialing and calling.

Can you guys suggest a phone that will meet all these requirements.
xingmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2010, 07:47   #7079
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 373 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
Thank you for your opinion. All these was done and dusted as soon as it was received. BSNL, Vodafone, Reliance didn't work. After many trips to airtel office, finally they smsed 3g settings which was manually entered in n900 and voila is worked. For around 1 month or so, they kept telling n900 is not in their database so they can't give the settings. After pulling some strings higher up we finally managed to get it.
So as of now only Airtel 3G works and no other. In the manual it says its triband, so don't know why BSNL won't work.

Edit: Any reviews on Nokia c6? Is it worth Rs. 12k i am getting it for?
Wait a minute since when AIRTEL started 3g service. ?did. I miss a big news?
If in manual search you are able to see 3g plmn of BSNL then it is not a band issue Nd just need to set apn. Correct in settings

Last edited by amitk26 : 11th October 2010 at 07:49.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2010, 10:00   #7080
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Go for Nokia 6303i, all of your needs would suffice. Also, its a metal bodied phone, dropping wont even hurt it.
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Pictures Thread inder_s1 Shifting gears 13 10th April 2009 21:06
F1-2009...All your Discussions here....! PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 395 4th April 2009 13:58
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57
Decisions... Decisions on choosing a four wheeled friend balashome The Indian Car Scene 47 1st October 2005 20:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks