Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th August 2009, 14:27   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,071 Times
Default

just curious. Do you HAVE to install XP ? there are some lightweight linuxes which will make you feel like you're running a brand new machine
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 14:45   #17
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
just curious. Do you HAVE to install XP ? there are some lightweight linuxes which will make you feel like you're running a brand new machine
XP is not that bad. Have used it on a 233Mhz system with 128Mb RAM back in 2003. Disabled visual styles and a bunch of services and it performed nicely. Linux in those days was not up to scratch. Todays versions should be good though.
My point is XP can still work on old systems. Dont always need Linux.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 14:44   #18
BHPian
 
ramki067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 546
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
google for the details of the motherboard. Alternately, just post its name here, and we'll do it for you

Its a SIS 620 motherboard (written on green colored chip). And also doesn't this MB support 20GB Harddisk? I'm presently using a 4.3 GB one. My system hangs several times while booting XP installed with SP3.

Thanks,
Ramki
ramki067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 17:12   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

sis 620! its a very old mobo.?
please upgrade for intel and microsoft's sake don't torture yourself.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2009, 20:05   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramki067 View Post
Its a SIS 620 motherboard (written on green colored chip). And also doesn't this MB support 20GB Harddisk? I'm presently using a 4.3 GB one. My system hangs several times while booting XP installed with SP3.

Thanks,
Ramki
It should support up to 32 GB, IIRC. But am sure everything that comes onboard with this MoBo is supported in XP- there are drivers out there...
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 10:46   #21
BHPian
 
ramki067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 546
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

I fixed the 20GB HD and tried to install Win XP on my system and the install starts and proceeds till "Setup is starting Windows..." line and hangs! and doesn't recover even after 1/2 hour. I'm clueless on whats going on here... Please help.

Ramki.
ramki067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 11:13   #22
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

@Ramki, unless you get a kick of running XP on 400Mhz processor, you should drop this. Even if you succeed, your patience will be put to test on that slow machine. Believe me, opening a brower & then a web site will take you more than a minute.

In case you still want to use your old system, I suggest installing Windows 2000.
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core 2 Duo - E8400 shows 2000 MHz in CPU-Z ntomer Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 11th September 2014 16:42
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
HELP!! installing windows xp without cd-rom drive. clipto333 Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 23rd June 2007 19:41


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:29.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks