Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th August 2012, 20:52   #436
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,017
Thanked: 4,197 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Lower than wep? Then I think I have to reconfigure WEP at least. But regarding hackers, I have a senior citizen couple and a senior doctor as neighbours with their own WIFI, so I think its quite safe
audioholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2012, 21:14   #437
Senior - BHPian
 
ariesonu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,060
Thanked: 1,197 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Agreed. My main use will be share a Dongle across a couple of laptops. Also, to send the occasional file to printer and pick it up from a scanner, all in the same room. I agree these things are of no use beyond this.
Due to travelling nature of my job, I was indeed looking for router for EXACTLY same purposes & after reading various reviews & taking suggestions from my office IT dept, shortlisted the below:

Asus WL-330N3G (Rs 2995)
Asus WL-330N3G | Router | Flipkart.com

AND

D-Link D-Link DSL-2750U Wireless N ADSL2+ 4-Port Wi-Fi Router (Rs 2562)
D-Link D-Link DSL-2750U Wireless N ADSL2+ 4-Port Wi-Fi Router | Router | Flipkart.com

Then finally bought Asus WL-330N3G for ts portability & I'm VERY VERY happy with the product.

I'm also using Asus RT-N13U, which is permanent fixture at my home.

Raab rakha.
ariesonu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2012, 11:12   #438
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 242 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Slightly OT.

Any comments about 3G WiFi routers. I will prefer one with a battery. I hear that Asus and TP Link have non battery models, while iBall has a battery. Also, there is a forthcoming TP Link with a battery. Any ideas / suggestions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
Due to travelling nature of my job, I was indeed looking for router for EXACTLY same purposes & after reading various reviews & taking suggestions from my office IT dept, shortlisted the below:

Asus WL-330N3G (Rs 2995)
Asus WL-330N3G | Router | Flipkart.com

AND

D-Link D-Link DSL-2750U Wireless N ADSL2+ 4-Port Wi-Fi Router (Rs 2562)
D-Link D-Link DSL-2750U Wireless N ADSL2+ 4-Port Wi-Fi Router | Router | Flipkart.com

Then finally bought Asus WL-330N3G for ts portability & I'm VERY VERY happy with the product.

I'm also using Asus RT-N13U, which is permanent fixture at my home.

Raab rakha.
Slipped my mind earlier, you dont actually need a Wifi router for this purpose as long as you(or anyone in your family) have an Android phone with 3G enabled internet.

You can configure your Android phone to be a wifi hotspot and use that as a router, simple.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2012, 11:22   #439
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Slipped my mind earlier, you dont actually need a Wifi router for this purpose as long as you(or anyone in your family) have an Android phone with 3G enabled internet.

You can configure your Android phone to be a wifi hotspot and use that as a router, simple.
Or an iPhone or a Windows Phone. All smart phones have internet sharing built in. Heck my Windows Mobile phone running on Win6.5 had internet sharing in those days, but sadly then we didn't have 3G in India.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2012, 12:44   #440
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 404
Thanked: 203 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
@2500cc,
Asus RT-N66U is indeed powerful. But want to evaluate all options first cause its 14k+
Goodies are it has 2 USB slots so you can have the printer and an ext storage.
Good speeds of min 98Mbps on 5GHz n/w on Wifi and Gigabit Ethernet if its hardwired.

However for this price I might even want and get one of the new gen 802.11ac routers.
Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router EA4500 - available from 13.5k+
Or maybe the cheaper Linkysy EA3500 N750
Or Netgear WNDR4500

It's getting more confusing, I need to re-evaluate whether its better to get a high scaling router that has fast wifi transfer rates Or reconfigure my setup at home such that the HDD is hardwired into the media player :-( ..
I too bought the Asus RT-N66U around 3 to 4 months back, paid 14K in BLR, I know it is expensive, but with the $ kissing 55 bucks that was to be expected.

I researched for close the 2 months for my decision, make no mistake this router is the performance king as far as performance and reach is concerned, I play 1080p movies over this router on my plasma while I am simultaneously connected on the phone laptop etc, I download all my movies using the inbuilt torrent app in the router.

My personal advice do not go for the next genration ac routers now, wait for atleast another 6 months, at present all these new routers are work in progress and I believe you should have the latest wifi adaptor to extract the best out of these latest devices.

Do your research on Real Help For Your Small Network - SmallNetBuilder, very good site.

@ALL :- OT question, anyone using NAS?

Last edited by rbp : 20th August 2012 at 12:46.
rbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 15:41   #441
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Hi all,

Well this is to inform you regarding Linksys service in India. I purchased a Linksys E4200 top of the line wireless router for ~10k in June 2011, now after 1 year and 2months later the router has conked off. The internet connection works perfectly well if i connect my DLink modem & router directly to my laptop without the wireless option. I call their helpline on 18004198899 who telephonically ask me to perform a few checks after which they say "we are helpless sir your router cannot be saved" and add this "The 1 year warranty period is over, so we can neither replace it nor repair it, Please buy a new one".

So any suggestions how i can take this forward?
Remo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 16:21   #442
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remo View Post
Hi all,

Well this is to inform you regarding Linksys service in India. I purchased a Linksys E4200 top of the line wireless router for ~10k in June 2011, now after 1 year and 2months later the router has conked off. The internet connection works perfectly well if i connect my DLink modem & router directly to my laptop without the wireless option. I call their helpline on 18004198899 who telephonically ask me to perform a few checks after which they say "we are helpless sir your router cannot be saved" and add this "The 1 year warranty period is over, so we can neither replace it nor repair it, Please buy a new one".

So any suggestions how i can take this forward?
If it is out of warranty, then how do you expect them to help? Under warranty, they have replaced 2 routers for me no questions asked.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 16:28   #443
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
If it is out of warranty, then how do you expect them to help? Under warranty, they have replaced 2 routers for me no questions asked.
So you mean to say the question of service doesn't arise at all after the warranty period. You meant to say after the 2 year warranty of your swift if something goes wrong "please dump it, buy a new one". Well if i am paying around 10k wouldn't i expect any sort of service backup from this reputed brand like Cisco.

And god forbid your router doesn't end up needing a replacement a third time, which if out of warranty isn't going to happen. So much for a reputed brand like Cisco.

Last edited by Remo : 29th August 2012 at 16:46.
Remo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 16:54   #444
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remo View Post
after the 2 year warranty of your swift if something goes wrong "please dump it, buy a new one".
Unfortunately that is the case with most routers. A singel PCB has everything and troubleshooting / fixing costs as much as buying a new one.

One thing that you can try is formatting and reinstalling the firmware. That would resolve it if its a configuration issue that is messing up the radio or router.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 17:46   #445
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remo View Post
So you mean to say the question of service doesn't arise at all after the warranty period. You meant to say after the 2 year warranty of your swift if something goes wrong "please dump it, buy a new one". Well if i am paying around 10k wouldn't i expect any sort of service backup from this reputed brand like Cisco.

And god forbid your router doesn't end up needing a replacement a third time, which if out of warranty isn't going to happen. So much for a reputed brand like Cisco.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Unfortunately that is the case with most routers. A singel PCB has everything and troubleshooting / fixing costs as much as buying a new one.

One thing that you can try is formatting and reinstalling the firmware. That would resolve it if its a configuration issue that is messing up the radio or router.
As NetfreakBombay has already pointed out these things run of a single PCB board and troubleshooting them and repairing them is as expensive as buying a new one. Thankfully my Swift or any of my cars for that matter do not run on a single PCV board.

Or you could also try doing a factory reset and configure everything from scratch first if you are not sure/confident of flashing the firmware again.

Edit: I have at least 10 dead routers lying with me of various makes. And if my 3rd Linksys router dies when it is out of warranty I will just go and get a new one and this one will join the junk pile.

Last edited by vikram_d : 29th August 2012 at 17:49.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 18:34   #446
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Unfortunately that is the case with most routers. A singel PCB has everything and troubleshooting / fixing costs as much as buying a new one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
As NetfreakBombay has already pointed out these things run of a single PCB board and troubleshooting them and repairing them is as expensive as buying a new one. Thankfully my Swift or any of my cars for that matter do not run on a single PCV board.
Not sure about that as long back in my college days i had repaired an old motherboard from a guy on SP road for 200 Rs which was refused by the manufacturer and worked till i upgraded it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
One thing that you can try is formatting and reinstalling the firmware. That would resolve it if its a configuration issue that is messing up the radio or router.
I can try that, but most probably it isn't going to work as it is heating up pretty bad.So something wrong with the PCB, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Edit: I have at least 10 dead routers lying with me of various makes. And if my 3rd Linksys router dies when it is out of warranty I will just go and get a new one and this one will join the junk pile.
If every one was as well off as you i wouldn't bother to inform others or ask for suggestions.

My Luck with Dlink DI-524 was around 3 years after which i had to retire it as it wan't giving complete coverage for my 2 floor house, when my neighbors added their networks. This fancy router from Cisco gave complete coverage and i could even hook up my Samsung TV, hp wireless printer, with a couple of laptops. It worked fine till it gave up.

Will i buy again? NO. I cant spend 10k for a router with a 1.1 year lifetime.

I just want to inform those people who want to buy this latest route spending that 7-8k extra with the thought process "Will not get obsolete for the next 2-3 years", please beware if it conks off after 1 year you have to buy a new one as Vikram suggests.
Remo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2012, 23:50   #447
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Hi all,

Just checked flipkart and seems Belkin, Buffalo and Asus come with a 3 year replacement warranty, Netgear comes with 2 years. Though i haven't tried any of these brands or their services. If anyone can comment on the services provided by these brands would be helpful.

Dlink and Linksys come with a 1 year warranty. I may even buy a Dlink because of prior good experiences.
Remo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2012, 09:14   #448
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,587 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Let me add that Linksys is the lower end label of Cisco, the largest networking co in the world. Huawei are No.2
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2012, 10:36   #449
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Asus RT-N66U is indeed powerful. But want to evaluate all options first cause its 14k+
Goodies are it has 2 USB slots so you can have the printer and an ext storage.
Good speeds of min 98Mbps on 5GHz n/w on Wifi and Gigabit Ethernet if its hardwired.

However for this price I might even want and get one of the new gen 802.11ac routers.
Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router EA4500 - available from 13.5k+
Or maybe the cheaper Linkysy EA3500 N750
Or Netgear WNDR4500
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Unfortunately that is the case with most routers. A singel PCB has everything and troubleshooting / fixing costs as much as buying a new one.
So it is a nobrainer please buy the one with the highest warranty like ASUS with 3 years, even if is not the latest for peace of mind. The EA series which are EA4500 and EA3500 from Cisco though comes with 2 years warranty. The E series which are like linksys E4200,E2500 etc are still sold with 1 year warranty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
One thing that you can try is formatting and re installing the firmware. That would resolve it if its a configuration issue that is messing up the radio or router.
Tried it. My router doesn't get recognized at all. So no question of installing firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Cisco, the largest networking co in the world
Precisely the reason for the mistake I made. People do tend to believe on the brand value and i ended up blindly comparing the features of Dlink vs Cisco when i did my research before purchasing, purchased the latest Cisco without even looking at the warranty or asking about the after service. I didn't even look up at other brands warranty periods offered.

Basic Lessons learnt the hard way. Look at the warranty period.

Last edited by Remo : 30th August 2012 at 11:01.
Remo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2012, 11:48   #450
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remo View Post
Tried it. My router doesn't get recognized at all. So no question of installing firmware.
Did you try 30/30/30 reset? If router is not accessible on hardcoded IP (via LAN) even after that reset, then you need to connected to ti PC via a JTAG cable and flash from PC. This reset erases the NVRAM.

Hard reset or 30/30/30 - DD-WRT Wiki
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks