Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st October 2012, 15:09   #481
BHPian
 
arup.misra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 651
Thanked: 293 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I am using D-Link 2750 as an ADSL + wifi router as my primary access point. This is placed in a central location to serve internet to different platforms. I have manually assigned static IP to each gadget.

Now I need access point in my bedroom to connect my home theater as well as TV. I have a spare wifi router available. Could anyone please guide me how to I set this up so that I have access to the internet from my bedroom too. Mind you I don't have internal LAN cable wiring nor can I run one from the hall. It has be to a wifi bridge kind of network.

Please help
arup.misra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2012, 16:20   #482
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaush666 View Post
Ok need for a new wifi router arises. I am looking at the ASUS RT N66U.
Its perfect for my needs and reviews suggest that it is awesome. I am getting it for 13.5k. Should I go ahead and buy this one or should I buy the Apple Airport Extreme? Are there are any other routers to look out for that are better than the RT-N66?

Cheers,
K
At present Asus N66U is the best. I have it and have no regrets buying it.
rbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 08:33   #483
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chennai , Tamil Nadu
Posts: 282
Thanked: 56 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbp View Post
At present Asus N66U is the best. I have it and have no regrets buying it.
How much did you get it for?
kaush666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 09:21   #484
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaush666 View Post
How much did you get it for?
I guess 14 or 14.5K. I guess it has been around 6 months since I brought it.

In US it is available for less than 9K.
rbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 22:07   #485
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chennai , Tamil Nadu
Posts: 282
Thanked: 56 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbp View Post
I guess 14 or 14.5K. I guess it has been around 6 months since I brought it.

In US it is available for less than 9K.
Nobody here has it in stock and the best price that I got quoted for this one was around 13k. He said he could get it on order. Shopyourworld.com offers it for 13k as well. Doesn't seem to be worth all the trouble to save just 4-5k. Can anyone direct me to some place in chennai to get this one?

ITDepot says they don't have stock and Delta Peripherals have no idea whether they will be able to source one for me.

Cheers,
K
kaush666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 11:42   #486
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 244 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by arup.misra View Post
I am using D-Link 2750 as an ADSL + wifi router as my primary access point. This is placed in a central location to serve internet to different platforms. I have manually assigned static IP to each gadget.

Now I need access point in my bedroom to connect my home theater as well as TV. I have a spare wifi router available. Could anyone please guide me how to I set this up so that I have access to the internet from my bedroom too. Mind you I don't have internal LAN cable wiring nor can I run one from the hall. It has be to a wifi bridge kind of network.

Please help
You need to bridge both the routers, there are options available for bridging in the router. Look at the manual on how to.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 11:51   #487
Senior - BHPian
 
vasoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,031
Thanked: 207 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I recently bought a TP-Link wifi router as a replacement to my 6 year old Linksys WRT54G. I must say, I am terribly disappointed with its poor signal strength even though it claims to have an extra long range at 300 mbps speed. Here is the link. Bought it from Flipkart for Rs 1750.
vasoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 11:56   #488
BHPian
 
2500cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 663
Thanked: 230 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaush666 View Post
Nobody here has it in stock and the best price that I got quoted for this one was around 13k. He said he could get it on order. Shopyourworld.com offers it for 13k as well. Doesn't seem to be worth all the trouble to save just 4-5k. Can anyone direct me to some place in chennai to get this one?

ITDepot says they don't have stock and Delta Peripherals have no idea whether they will be able to source one for me.

Cheers,
K
Its on flipkart for about 15k. I too got one from US last mnth paid $159.00. Worth every penney.
2500cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 16:24   #489
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: US/India
Posts: 232
Thanked: 10 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

My Cisco Linksys WAG120N ADSL Router went bust last week. It was not all that good while it worked and it finally gave up last week. It was about a year old. I tried to contact the cisco service support. Was given a location on JC road for the service centre. But when i went there, apparently, i had to fill a 3 page questionnaire before and should have had a Case number. Too bad. The service guys never mentioned that to me.
Anyway, i decided that i had had enough with cisco. So i walked across to SP road and bought a Belkin N150 for 1952/-. Its been going well. No issues so far.
I am now trying to get my cisco router repaired from a local electronics shop.

Last edited by naveenvenkatesh : 3rd October 2012 at 16:27.
naveenvenkatesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 19:37   #490
BHPian
 
kap04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 159
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasoo
I recently bought a TP-Link wifi router as a replacement to my 6 year old Linksys WRT54G. I must say, I am terribly disappointed with its poor signal strength even though it claims to have an extra long range at 300 mbps speed. Here is the link. Bought it from Flipkart for Rs 1750.
What kind of issue are you facing? I have heard good reviews about this model. Did you try changing the channel, and any cordless phones nearby the router?
kap04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 20:23   #491
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 244 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasoo View Post
I recently bought a TP-Link wifi router as a replacement to my 6 year old Linksys WRT54G. I must say, I am terribly disappointed with its poor signal strength even though it claims to have an extra long range at 300 mbps speed. Here is the link. Bought it from Flipkart for Rs 1750.
It all depends on the numbers of obstacles between the AP and the clients and the routers positioning. Do ensure that its running on 100% RF power. Also 300mbps is the bandwidth it can support which is supported by Wireless N-protocol.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 16:28   #492
Senior - BHPian
 
vasoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,031
Thanked: 207 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by kap04 View Post
What kind of issue are you facing? I have heard good reviews about this model. Did you try changing the channel, and any cordless phones nearby the router?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
It all depends on the numbers of obstacles between the AP and the clients and the routers positioning. Do ensure that its running on 100% RF power. Also 300mbps is the bandwidth it can support which is supported by Wireless N-protocol.
My biggest issue is with the range it gives. My older router used to give pretty strong signals in one specific spot, whereas this one gives a weak signal in the same spot and elsewhere. Everything else remains same, position of router, walls, furniture, etc. I don't have any cordless phones at home. Channel is currently set Auto and I think it has selected 6. I will need to check about he RF power setting, if any. I am going back to my old router till this gets fixed.
vasoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2012, 10:45   #493
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 244 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasoo View Post
My biggest issue is with the range it gives. My older router used to give pretty strong signals in one specific spot, whereas this one gives a weak signal in the same spot and elsewhere. Everything else remains same, position of router, walls, furniture, etc. I don't have any cordless phones at home. Channel is currently set Auto and I think it has selected 6. I will need to check about he RF power setting, if any. I am going back to my old router till this gets fixed.
Goto their download page the based on the version of the hardware, download their latest firmware (V8 has one released in August). They have clear instructions on the upgrade process.

Other option would be to download the DD-WRT firmware(if your model is supported), it has much more options than the OEM firmware including increase power settings.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2012, 16:36   #494
Senior - BHPian
 
vasoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,031
Thanked: 207 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Goto their download page the based on the version of the hardware, download their latest firmware (V8 has one released in August). They have clear instructions on the upgrade process.

Other option would be to download the DD-WRT firmware(if your model is supported), it has much more options than the OEM firmware including increase power settings.
Done all that and more and still no improvement. I am now back to my 6 year old modem. It feels good that I didn't spend a fortune on this piece of brick.
vasoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2012, 16:46   #495
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,019
Thanked: 524 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Thanks for the red herring. I was also in your shoes two days back. I was using
WRT54G with BSNL modem. The modem conked off and I was in two minds whether to replace the entire set up with a cheap integrated Router+modem or just replace the BSNL modem with a lower end TP link modem with WRT54G. Finally I went for the second option and your review proves, I was right. This WRT54G Linksys router is one heck of a device. It is running for last 4 years with out a glitch. I hardly switch it off. Also as you pointed out the signal strength is unmatched. it reaches every corner of my home with min 3 bars signal strength.

Last edited by poloman : 6th October 2012 at 16:49.
poloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks