Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th December 2012, 15:16   #571
BHPian
 
arup.misra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 651
Thanked: 293 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by neerajpv87 View Post
I'm planning to buy a Modem+ Wi Fi Router for my BSNL broadband connection. Saw one D-Link model in Flipkart, Model no: DSL-2750U. Is anyone using this model? Is this good? If not, could you guys please recommend a good model? Any help would be appreciated

If its not too late to answer, I've been using the same model for nearly 8 months now. It works very well and the dual antenna is very useful as the signal reaches almost all the rooms which I had a problem with the earlier MTNL box. Go ahead and buy this. Its VFM.
arup.misra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2012, 15:24   #572
Senior - BHPian
 
longhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,152
Thanked: 290 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Any device which has WiFi will work with the modem. Also the modem has a web configuration utility. So any operating system with a web browser can be used to configure it.
That's absolutely correct. The reason I mentioned this was because I had a very tough time getting internet working on my laptop beacuse the VMC modem (which I was using prior to this) did not have a driver that supports the Win 7 OS. Finally I did a jugaad with the existing XP driver to get it working, but it was not a smooth sailing.This of course was not on WiFi, but the old school method (ethernet cable).
longhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 10:28   #573
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 44
Thanked: 11 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I know this has been asked before.
But i am looking to extend the range of my wireless network (have a MTNL ADSL wireless router.)

I found ASUS RT-N10+ EZ N Wireless Router on flipkart which supports Wireless Brige mode.
So here's what i want to achieve
MTNLROUTER <wireless> ASUS ROUTER <wireless> my wifi devices in the extended range

On ASUS's website : i found an article on WDS(Wireless distribution system) which i suspect is the bridge mode.
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN10...B-B32C297615BB

Now it says that we need to have a wired connection at the repeater router end.
If this is true, its not good enough as i want it to be wireless

Do you guys have any idea about this?

Basically i need a repeater so that i can connect wirelessly when i am in the extended range
djkher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 11:02   #574
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 262
Thanked: 108 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

My Beetel 450 TC1 wifi router loses its settings and resets to default every time its switched off. Earlier this used to happen once in a week or so but now its happening on every reset. Any one faced this issue earlier?

Airtel is the ISP and as usual they have washed their hands off it mentioning that they dont support any routers after 12 months of installation.
@Chaand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 12:12   #575
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankjha1806's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BLR/Gurgaon
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 820 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Bought a Belkin Modem+Wifi Router Model (F7D4401zb). Which went bad in about two months. Raised a call with Belkin was asked to give the Modem at their designated collection center. A Month later got a call from them that my Modem will be replaced and got a shiny new one, thats when i got this beauty. Works flawlessly, the whole house now has Wifi with very strong signal, with good speeds.

For those who are interested this is the model number (Belkin N600 DB Wireless Dual-Band N+ Modem Router - F9J1102ZB).

Quote:
The Belkin N600 DB Wireless Dual-Band N+ Modem Router offers advanced performance for video streaming and online gaming. Known as the fastest N600 Modem Router, this Belkin innovation uses MultiBeam antenna technology that renders maximum throughput while minimizing dead spots. Exclusive to Belkin, this technology is responsible for optimizing video streaming from multiple devices, virtually. This Modem Router comes with four integrated Belkin apps: Self-Healing, Video Mover, Print Zone and Memory Safe. The N600 DB Wireless Dual-Band N+ Modem Router delivers Dual-Band Speed - up to 300Mbps (2.4GHz) + 300Mbps (5GHz). The router is equipped with a USB port which offers easy connectivity for file sharing and wireless printing.
On Wi-Fi & Routers-20130128_081610.jpg

Last edited by mayankjha1806 : 30th January 2013 at 12:17.
mayankjha1806 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 12:18   #576
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,529
Thanked: 8,459 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
Bought a Belkin Modem+Wifi Router Model (F7D4401zb). Which went bad in about two months. Raised a call with Belkin was asked to give the Modem at their designated collection center.
Not sure if you are aware, Cisco sold off its linksys part of modem/router business to Belkin. We will see more re-branding!
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 13:51   #577
BHPian
 
k2max6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 482
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djkher View Post
I know this has been asked before.
But i am looking to extend the range of my wireless network (have a MTNL ADSL wireless router.)

I found ASUS RT-N10+ EZ N Wireless Router on flipkart which supports Wireless Brige mode.
So here's what i want to achieve
MTNLROUTER <wireless> ASUS ROUTER <wireless> my wifi devices in the extended range

On ASUS's website : i found an article on WDS(Wireless distribution system) which i suspect is the bridge mode.
http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN10...B-B32C297615BB

Now it says that we need to have a wired connection at the repeater router end.
If this is true, its not good enough as i want it to be wireless

Do you guys have any idea about this?

Basically i need a repeater so that i can connect wirelessly when i am in the extended range
Why not buy a wireless repeater straightaway?
You can get one from TP link for around 1600.
Works great.
k2max6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 14:01   #578
Senior - BHPian
 
Sn1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,017
Thanked: 224 Times
Default

Guys, for about $150 to $250, there is a slew of 802.11ac wifi modems. I know these are not available off the shelf in India and about twice as expensive as a good router but its worth the upgrade.

Also, just as information (a friend did not know it), a single b/g wifi device will bring the total speed of the network to that level. That is if you are using N type device (new age laptops, Apple devices) then a single old laptop will decrease the speed of the network and the N type will not benefit with the router.
Sn1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 18:30   #579
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 507
Thanked: 57 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Guys, Do we have any router which has bandwidth throttling capacity?
I want to limit the bandwidth to 1-2 computers and keep an unrestricted port for the rest. Even wired would work.
Let me know if anyone has any information on these or how to have this configured.

TIA
livyodream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 19:14   #580
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,381
Thanked: 329 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by livyodream View Post
Guys, Do we have any router which has bandwidth throttling capacity?
You need to buy any router that is compatible with dd-wrt. After that you can configure throttling (known as QOS in UI).
NetfreakBombay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 12:17   #581
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 36
Thanked: 14 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by livyodream View Post
Guys, Do we have any router which has bandwidth throttling capacity?
I want to limit the bandwidth to 1-2 computers and keep an unrestricted port for the rest. Even wired would work.
Let me know if anyone has any information on these or how to have this configured.

TIA
@livyodream To truly expand the capacity of your routers, you will need to run GPL/community built firmwares like DDWRT, TomatoUSB etc. I run Tomato USB on RT Asus N16 which allows me to run VPN server, advanced QoS, Torrent manager and a whole lot of other features.

A few days back I even wrote a small article on "Advantages of running custom ROMs on routers"

You will need to check if your router supports any of these firmwares, if yes thats the first thing you must do Surprising that all it takes is a little more effort for these manufacturers to bundle these addons, but hardly any of them do it.

Last edited by pranxter : 4th February 2013 at 12:25. Reason: typo at "custom"
pranxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 08:14   #582
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 527
Thanked: 101 Times
Question Re: Modem + Router?

Please suggest a decent modem + router to cover ground + first floor which is around 1800 SFT. My budget is around 3K. I would prefer something with dual antennas. Right now, with a BSNL modem + router which doesn't cover some of the area.

JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 10:14   #583
Senior - BHPian
 
longhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,152
Thanked: 290 Times
Default Re: Modem + Router?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Please suggest a decent modem + router to cover ground + first floor which is around 1800 SFT. My budget is around 3K. I would prefer something with dual antennas. Right now, with a BSNL modem + router which doesn't cover some of the area.

Take a look at the DLink D2750U. Costs below 3k and comes with dual antennas. Works perfectly with my BSNL broadband connection.
longhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2013, 16:23   #584
BHPian
 
Hells_Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 155
Thanked: 57 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Hi,
I currently have a Linksys WTR54G2 router which is a Wireless-G model (54 Mbps). I need to upgrade to a Wireless-N (300 Mbps) router. The following devices will connect to the router via Wi-Fi:

1. Desktop PC via Wi-Fi (Always On)
2. Xtreamer (1080p media streaming)
3. PS3
4. 2 Cell phones
5. An additional laptop occasionally

I do not need a modem, just a wireless router. Also, I will not be installing any custom firmware on the router. My house is approximately 1000 square feet. The following are my requirements:

1. Range (Primary requirement)
2. 1080p media streaming
3. MAC Filter
4. Port Forwarding

Based on all of the above, as per my understanding I need a 300 Mbps router. Dual-Band is not a requirement for me, single band will do. External antennae will be preferable since I believe that range will be better with these. Please correct me if I am mistaken.

I went through various sites but ended up getting totally confused as to which router will meet my needs. I had zeroed in on this one but need opinions:
TP-LINK TL-WR941ND - TP-LINK TL-WR941ND 300Mbps Wireless N Router - TP-LINK: Flipkart.com

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Hells_Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2013, 16:31   #585
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hells_Fury View Post
Hi,
I currently have a Linksys WTR54G2 router which is a Wireless-G model (54 Mbps). I need to upgrade to a Wireless-N (300 Mbps) router. The following devices will connect to the router via Wi-Fi:

1. Desktop PC via Wi-Fi (Always On)
2. Xtreamer (1080p media streaming)
3. PS3
4. 2 Cell phones
5. An additional laptop occasionally

I do not need a modem, just a wireless router. Also, I will not be installing any custom firmware on the router. My house is approximately 1000 square feet. The following are my requirements:

1. Range (Primary requirement)
2. 1080p media streaming
3. MAC Filter
4. Port Forwarding

Based on all of the above, as per my understanding I need a 300 Mbps router. Dual-Band is not a requirement for me, single band will do. External antennae will be preferable since I believe that range will be better with these. Please correct me if I am mistaken.

I went through various sites but ended up getting totally confused as to which router will meet my needs. I had zeroed in on this one but need opinions:
TP-LINK TL-WR941ND - TP-LINK TL-WR941ND 300Mbps Wireless N Router - TP-LINK: Flipkart.com

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Just one advice, please buy Asus RT66U, though costly u won't regret the buy, I have a tablet, laptop and my plasma connected to it, the router simultaneously downloads torrents and also streams 720p and 1080p movies from a 500 GB hard disk connected to it. It does all this without a sweat. I paid 13.5k in blr, in US it is cheaper.
rbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks