Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st May 2013, 12:42   #601
Senior - BHPian
 
narayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,674
Thanked: 958 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsingh View Post
Tp link TD-W8961ND

It is300 Mbps .
has dual antenna for more range.

4 lan ports.

A WiFi router is something you'll buy once in 10 years. get something that won't go obsolete soon, or get one with a USB port for shared printing or shared Hard drive storage in future.

Go for something with more range as you'll roam around with your iPad and smartphone.
Thanks Dr Singh

My PC does not have WIFI. I was thinking of keeping the modem in my hall so as to have equal range to all the rooms. in that case, is there any USB based device which can make my PC also WIFI enabled ?
narayan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2013, 13:49   #602
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,587 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Just got a Digisol DG-BR4015N. Any experience with this one.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2013, 15:48   #603
BHPian
 
drsingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 663
Thanked: 446 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Thanks Dr Singh

My PC does not have WIFI. I was thinking of keeping the modem in my hall so as to have equal range to all the rooms. in that case, is there any USB based device which can make my PC also WIFI enabled ?
http://www.flipkart.com/computers/ne...f-bd2a2eeb4116

Take your pick!

Here is a pick of routers with USB ports.

http://www.flipkart.com/computers/ne...a2&layout=grid

This D Link model is very popular with 2 antennas and a usb port.

http://www.flipkart.com/d-link-dsl-2...d-0904b409d42c


This is what i use.my main concern was range and two lan ports.

http://www.flipkart.com/d-link-dsl-2...d-0904b409d42c

Last edited by drsingh : 1st May 2013 at 15:55. Reason: routers
drsingh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 19:46   #604
BHPian
 
GearOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 31
Thanked: 3 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Need to buy a Wifi Router+Modem. Have almost finalised D-Link DSL-2750U.

Primary use is to share internet with 2 mobiles & 1 laptop. House size is 1500 sq ft. and I intend to place it in one of the bedrooms. Wifi will be primarily used in Hall which is separated by a wall with the particular room. Does this Router have sufficient signal strength for my requirement?

Also can I watch movie on laptop or TV via this wifi router without lag? TV in question is P42X30D. Also by just adding a wifi adapter to TV is this possible?
GearOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2013, 19:55   #605
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by GearOn View Post
D-Link DSL-2750U.
...
Also can I watch movie on laptop or TV via this wifi router without lag? TV in question is P42X30D. Also by just adding a wifi adapter to TV is this possible?
This wouter will not work for streaming video to TV or for playing files from TV. For that you need a router with more powerful CPU and better radio.

It will work fine for sharing inernet across 2 - 3 devices, should not be any issue with wall.

Last edited by NetfreakBombay : 10th May 2013 at 19:56.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2013, 14:45   #606
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,945
Thanked: 1,879 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Ive got myself a Olive wifi router/modem. Its a slick device which can take inputs from a USB modem stick and converts it into wifi signals to support upto 20 devices. So I connected this Olive router with my Reliance 3g usb stick and 4 devices (2 smartphones, one laptop and one ipad) use the wifi very easily, the speed stays good and there is no dropping of signals.
I tested my device in a moving car, and upto speeds of 100kmph the youtube videos streamed on nicely without hitches, making the car a portable wifi hotspot.
Best thing about this device is, it charges off a USB port on any computer or a phone charger. Awesome buy
apachelongbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2013, 14:59   #607
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,930
Thanked: 1,390 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Its a slick device which can take inputs from a USB modem stick and converts it into wifi signals to support upto 20 devices.
Most Android phones can do that (become a Wifi hotspot and route traffic from laptops etc. to the public internet over GPRS/3G). This device has any other feature that these phones lack?
binand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2013, 20:33   #608
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,945
Thanked: 1,879 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
Most Android phones can do that (become a Wifi hotspot and route traffic from laptops etc. to the public internet over GPRS/3G). This device has any other feature that these phones lack?
Andriod hotspots on a phone wont connect to a data card. That is a big plus, using a phone you are using your 3g network, a datacard can have a much cheaper cdma network for data access alone.

That apart, I cant connect my Ipad to my Note2's hot spot. The Ipad recognizes the wifi network, connects but no data access. I believe its platform compatibility? not sure.
These niggles are finished with the Olive...
apachelongbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2013, 20:40   #609
Distinguished - BHPian
 
BlackPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 3,278 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Ive got myself a Olive wifi router/modem. Its a slick device which can take inputs from a USB modem stick and converts it into wifi signals to support upto 20 devices. So I connected this Olive router with my Reliance 3g usb stick and 4 devices (2 smartphones, one laptop and one ipad) use the wifi very easily, the speed stays good and there is no dropping of signals.
I tested my device in a moving car, and upto speeds of 100kmph the youtube videos streamed on nicely without hitches, making the car a portable wifi hotspot.
Best thing about this device is, it charges off a USB port on any computer or a phone charger. Awesome buy
Where did you get it from and what was the cost?
BlackPearl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2013, 22:19   #610
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,930
Thanked: 1,390 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Andriod hotspots on a phone wont connect to a data card. That is a big plus, using a phone you are using your 3g network, a datacard can have a much cheaper cdma network for data access alone.
Ah OK. My datacard is a GSM one (Airtel), and the exact tariff plan is available on my Android mobile too (Airtel again). So I actually don't need the data card any longer and am planning to "retire" it, and maybe try 4G. Are CDMA data plans generally cheaper (I have 6GB for Rs. 750 pm on Airtel 3G)?.
binand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2013, 18:50   #611
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,945
Thanked: 1,879 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
Ah OK. My datacard is a GSM one (Airtel), and the exact tariff plan is available on my Android mobile too (Airtel again). So I actually don't need the data card any longer and am planning to "retire" it, and maybe try 4G. Are CDMA data plans generally cheaper (I have 6GB for Rs. 750 pm on Airtel 3G)?.
CMDA are generally cheaper. Example: MTS Datacard in Bangalore/Karnataka. 999 unlimited data surfing for 30 days. Now beat that .

And olive router is available in all Croma stores.
apachelongbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2013, 19:43   #612
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 163
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Configuring D-link (DSL 2750U) ADSL modem with Tata Indicom broadband connection

Had a Zyxel modem for my Tata Indicom broadband connection. After 3 years of usage, it's giving up connection frequently.
Bought a D-link ADSL2 modem+router (model # DSL 2750U). Tried configuring it for last couple of days.
I tried with cables and it works just fine. Just couldnt get it up in WIFI mode.
The installation software CD is useless.

Has anybody done this configuration. Please help.
bigwheelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2013, 18:02   #613
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default Re: Configuring D-link (DSL 2750U) ADSL modem with Tata Indicom broadband connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwheelz View Post
I tried with cables and it works just fine. Just couldnt get it up in WIFI mode.
Just to be clear : your LAN connection works, but wifi does not?

Do you see a wifi signal being broadcast from the router when you check using a wifi device? Please attach a screenshot of the "Wireless Settings" page on your modem/router.

If you've got the wired connection up and running, getting Wifi to work should be very easy.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 16th May 2013 at 18:48.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2013, 20:11   #614
Senior - BHPian
 
agambhandari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Delhi,Ludhiana
Posts: 1,102
Thanked: 811 Times
Default Re: Configuring D-link (DSL 2750U) ADSL modem with Tata Indicom broadband connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwheelz View Post
Had a Zyxel modem for my Tata Indicom broadband connection. After 3 years of usage, it's giving up connection frequently.
Bought a D-link ADSL2 modem+router (model # DSL 2750U). Tried configuring it for last couple of days.
I tried with cables and it works just fine. Just couldnt get it up in WIFI mode.
The installation software CD is useless.

Has anybody done this configuration. Please help.
I have experienced a similar problem. In my case, it could be fixed by changing the wireless channel in the router settings. I suppose the default would be "Auto". Change to any value between 1-11 , save and reboot. Did the trick for me.
agambhandari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2013, 21:52   #615
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 163
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Configuring D-link (DSL 2750U) ADSL modem with Tata Indicom broadband connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by agambhandari View Post
I have experienced a similar problem. Did the trick for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Just to be clear : your LAN connection works, but wifi does not?
R
Thanks for the help. Got it working by spending almost a day and half and trying out all options available on the router. Not sure what clicked.
It's working fine now.
bigwheelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks