Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th January 2014, 13:32   #751
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,930
Thanked: 1,390 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
What is a WISP Client router mode?
WISP is Wireless ISP, which is an ISP that services its client via Wireless (but not Mobile) networks. Tikona is one. In Chennai and Mumbai, you could scan for Wireless networks at several locations in the city to find Tikona APs visible.
binand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2014, 13:34   #752
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,427
Thanked: 678 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
WISP is Wireless ISP, which is an ISP that services its client via Wireless (but not Mobile) networks. Tikona is one. In Chennai and Mumbai, you could scan for Wireless networks at several locations in the city to find Tikona APs visible.
I ordered the TP LINK TL-MR3020 from FK. ₹1675/-.

I saw some videos and TL-MR3020 has Repeater mode as well as can be easily used with Tata Photon+.

Regards,
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2014, 13:41   #753
BHPian
 
shyamhegde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 284
Thanked: 3 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I have TP-LINK 3040 on .
Wireless just goes unavailable after 5-10 minutes and sometimes gets reset as well.
Product did not live up to my expectation. yet to reach out to their support folks, hope they wont disappoint me further.
Bought one with battery in it specifically to use it even when mobile, but battery backup is just pathetic from day one.

Look for better options if you are looking for one.

Regards,
shyam
shyamhegde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2014, 17:03   #754
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 93
Thanked: 8 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Little off topic.
I am using MTNL wifi in my residence. Recemtly I got Netgear wifi extender. When plugged in, it did connected well and received the signal. However the devices - Mobile phones and laptops are not able to pick up the extended signal from Netgear extender.

Has anyone used the extender? If so, any help would really be appreciated.
F1amit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 22:12   #755
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
If your broadband comes on ethernet cable, then it is likely to be PPPoE. Just make sure you buy an AP with PPPoE support. What do you mean, connect an HD - seems like you just need a USB 3.0 port as well? I can't comment about the specific models you mention though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Yes he has to buy a wireless modem router. The most VFM choice is Belkin N150 . comes with 3 years warranty . I am using it for past 2 years. Totally happy with it.
He does not need to do any modifications . The splitter is also provided in the box. Just ensure that he buys a modem plus router version.
Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
.....After accounting for all those, the absolute max speeds on 300mbps wifi-n routers I've seen is 10 megabytes a second when there are absolutely no other wifi networks in the area.

Also for asus routers, it is best to install dd-wrt or openwrt. Their default firmware is absolute rubbish. I've been using an rt-n16u for a very long while now. Its a decent router, nothing spectacular. With dd-wrt, it is very very stable with no drops.

A BIG Hi to all,

I have a TP-LINK TD-8816, a wired modem, that I use for providing net connectivity to my PC.

Recently I bought a latest smartphone, and a tab too.

I want wireless connectivity to my mobile and tab through wifi.

Can I somehow connect a wireless router to my existing modem to make a wireless setup.

Or do I have to jettison my existing modem and go for a new wireless modem cum router.

Some guidance is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by skdking : 28th January 2014 at 22:25.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 22:22   #756
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,608
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
A BIG Hi to all,

I have a TP-LINK TD-8816, a wired modem, that I use for providing net connectivity to my PC.

Recently I bought a latest smartphone, and a tab too.

I want wireless connectivity to my mobile and tab through wifi.

Can I somehow connect a wireless router to my existing modem to make a wireless setup.

Or do I have to jettison my existing modem and go for a new wireless modem cum router.

Some guidance is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

You can do both. Better would be to jettison the existing one and buy a new Modem router or just router. If yours is BSNL then you will need a modem router.

Or you can also buy a wireless router only and extend the connection to it via your existing TP LINK modem if it has multiple ethernet ports at the back. Choice is yours
sagarpadaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 22:30   #757
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,930
Thanked: 1,390 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
I have a TP-LINK TD-8816, a wired modem, that I use for providing net connectivity to my PC.
Recently I bought a latest smartphone, and a tab too.
I want wireless connectivity to my mobile and tab through wifi.
Can I somehow connect a wireless router to my existing modem to make a wireless setup.
Of course. This is a standard configuration.

The modem you have is this, right? Presumably the Internet link goes into the "Internet" port and your computer connects to the "LAN" port? You just need a wifi unit with a corresponding LAN port. Look through some models on Flipkart or elsewhere, most would work out of the box.
binand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2014, 22:36   #758
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
Of course. This is a standard configuration.

The modem you have is this, right? Presumably the Internet link goes into the "Internet" port and your computer connects to the "LAN" port? You just need a wifi unit with a corresponding LAN port. Look through some models on Flipkart or elsewhere, most would work out of the box.
Thanks for the lightning reply, people.

Hey binand,

Can you suggest a router to this idiot? Nothing fancy.

Thanks to all, again.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2014, 10:20   #759
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 480
Thanked: 96 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I have the Belkin Wifi router connected to my Beam connection. I have placed it in my hall, 5ft from the floor. It does have an antenna which is pointed to the sides. I am getting very minimal to no signal in my bedroom, which is exactly backside to my router. Is there a way to increase the signal by means of some DIY antenna kind of stuff or should I purchase some repeaters.
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2014, 14:35   #760
BHPian
 
rohan_iitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 992
Thanked: 401 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
Thanks for the lightning reply, people.

Hey binand,

Can you suggest a router to this idiot? Nothing fancy.

Thanks to all, again.
You can retain your existing modem and buy a wifi router separately.

I would suggest N series router from any reputed brand like D-Link, Netgear, TP-Link etc. You can get these for 1k INR approx.

D-Link DIR-600L Wireless N150 Cloud Router
Netgear JNR1010 N150 Wireless Router
TP-LINK TL-WR740N 150Mbps Wireless N Router

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2014, 19:44   #761
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
You can retain your existing modem and buy a wifi router separately.

I would suggest N series router from any reputed brand like D-Link, Netgear, TP-Link etc. You can get these for 1k INR approx.

D-Link DIR-600L Wireless N150 Cloud Router
Netgear JNR1010 N150 Wireless Router
TP-LINK TL-WR740N 150Mbps Wireless N Router

Rohan
A BIG thanks, Rohan.

Just one query.

I want the internet connection to my PC to remain wired and to my other devices to be wireless.
Do these devices have provision for providing wired and wifi both.

Thanks in adv.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2014, 19:48   #762
BHPian
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 271
Thanked: 127 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
A BIG thanks, Rohan.

Just one query.

I want the internet connection to my PC to remain wired and to my other devices to be wireless.
Do these devices have provision for providing wired and wifi both.

Thanks in adv.
Yes, almost all wifi routers will have at least 4-5 wired ports.
You can google up the model and click on the image views

Most sales sites will show you an image of the ports available.
Fillmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2014, 20:44   #763
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
You can retain your existing modem and buy a wifi router separately.

I would suggest N series router from any reputed brand like D-Link, Netgear, TP-Link etc. You can get these for 1k INR approx.

D-Link DIR-600L Wireless N150 Cloud Router
Netgear JNR1010 N150 Wireless Router
TP-LINK TL-WR740N 150Mbps Wireless N Router

Rohan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Yes, almost all wifi routers will have at least 4-5 wired ports.
You can google up the model and click on the image views

Most sales sites will show you an image of the ports available.
Just placed an order for TP WR740 for 931/- on flipkart.

A big thanks.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2014, 18:12   #764
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 84
Thanked: 27 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Dear members,

Help me choose a WiFi router.

I have Airtel wired broadband internet connection with 110BX1 ADSL2+ router given free long time back. Now I want to switch to WiFi. This modem has got a port saying "Line" into which the wire coming from ISP is plugged. Another port says "Ethernet" and a wire is plugged here and connects to the PC port at the other end saying "Ethernet". Another port is the power port. There are no other ports at its back.

The primary usage of WiFi will be net access at my HD smart TV and browsing on my 3G-enabled mobile. In future, I will use a tab to browse wirelessly.

I am looking for a WiFi that has the following:
2 x 5 dbi antenna gain
802.11 n or ac

I want to choose one with advanced features and future proof even if it costs a little extra. My budget is ~3,000 INR.

I have zeroed onto the below modems.
TP-Link TD-W8968 V2
D-Link DIR-803

What I like in TP-Link:
Multifunction USB port
EWAN port
IPv6 ready
2 x 5 dbi antenna gain
IEEE 802.11b,g,n

What I like in D-Link:
750 mbps
Dual band
IEEE 802.11ac

My questions are:
1. Do I need just a wireless router or a router/modem combo?
2. Will a router/modem combo lead to any configuration problems making it unusable? (Since a modem has been configured already in my PC)
3. TP-Link has 1 RJ11 port and 4 10/100 mbps RJ45 ports. D-Link has 1 RJ45 WAN port and 4 RJ45 LAN ports and no RJ11 port. Which one should I buy?
4. D-Link says 750 mbps and TP-Link 300 mbps. Which one should I buy?
5. D-Link says dual band - is this relevant for me?
6. Do I need Airtel technician to configure?
7. Where will TP-Link products be available around Anna Nagar, Chennai? (No online purchase)

By now you would have gathered I am a technology noob. Please help me make a good decision.

Thank you.

murillo.
murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2014, 18:30   #765
BHPian
 
sathish81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 113
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by murillo View Post
Dear members,

Help me choose a WiFi router.

I have Airtel wired broadband internet connection with 110BX1 ADSL2+ router given free long time back. Now I want to switch to WiFi. This modem has got a port saying "Line" into which the wire coming from ISP is plugged. Another port says "Ethernet" and a wire is plugged here and connects to the PC port at the other end saying "Ethernet". Another port is the power port. There are no other ports at its back.

The primary usage of WiFi will be net access at my HD smart TV and browsing on my 3G-enabled mobile. In future, I will use a tab to browse wirelessly.

I am looking for a WiFi that has the following:
2 x 5 dbi antenna gain
802.11 n or ac

I want to choose one with advanced features and future proof even if it costs a little extra. My budget is ~3,000 INR.

I have zeroed onto the below modems.
TP-Link TD-W8968 V2
D-Link DIR-803

What I like in TP-Link:
Multifunction USB port
EWAN port
IPv6 ready
2 x 5 dbi antenna gain
IEEE 802.11b,g,n

What I like in D-Link:
750 mbps
Dual band
IEEE 802.11ac

My questions are:
1. Do I need just a wireless router or a router/modem combo?
2. Will a router/modem combo lead to any configuration problems making it unusable? (Since a modem has been configured already in my PC)
3. TP-Link has 1 RJ11 port and 4 10/100 mbps RJ45 ports. D-Link has 1 RJ45 WAN port and 4 RJ45 LAN ports and no RJ11 port. Which one should I buy?
4. D-Link says 750 mbps and TP-Link 300 mbps. Which one should I buy?
5. D-Link says dual band - is this relevant for me?
6. Do I need Airtel technician to configure?
7. Where will TP-Link products be available around Anna Nagar, Chennai? (No online purchase)

By now you would have gathered I am a technology noob. Please help me make a good decision.

Thank you.

murillo.
For your requirment you can go for either TPLink adsl cpe- which will eliminate the need for your existing modem provided by airtel or go for dlink router in which case you need to retain your existing modem. However my recomm would be to go for the second option (dlink)

The config should be pretty straightforward and you might be able to get it done in few mins
sathish81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks