Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th August 2014, 11:22   #916
BHPian
 
Jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 561
Thanked: 141 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Let me clarify. The devices do connect with the Wifi router but it shoes 'no internet access'. And are you asking me to restart the router every time ?
So when you switch on and off the wifi in your device, you get internet back on?
Since the devices seem to connect to the wifi, my assumption is that the issue is between the router to the modem (or ISP) and hence the suggestion to re-start the router.
Jaguar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2014, 15:14   #917
BHPian
 
nishantbhatia84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 286
Thanked: 247 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Hello folks!
I'm looking for a Wifi Router to connect my Tata Docomo Max Wifi Dongle. The Wifi signal strength of the dongle isnt good at all so I'm looking to enhance the wifi signal using the router. I've checked several routers which support usb dongles but am confused about which one would be the best.
Please help me with the best router with usb support!
Thanks!
nishantbhatia84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2014, 10:06   #918
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,136
Thanked: 3,733 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I used a Digisol with my Photon Plus with excellent results.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 12:32   #919
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,946
Thanked: 1,410 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
1. SafeStream Wireless N Gigabit Broadband VPN Router TL-ER604W - http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/d...odel=TL-ER604W

2. Wireless Services Router w/ WAN Failover DSR-500N - http://www.dlink.com/us/en/business-...ervices-router
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRV2010 View Post
@binand, did you test any one of these ? How are they ?
I got the TP-Link device above and set it up at my home. The other one is EOL'ed.
  1. Both my ACT and BSNL broadband links are now connected to it, both work fine and traffic balancing (and failover) between them work fine too.
  2. I have setup an IPSec VPN from this device to my AWS VPC; it works fine with BSNL but not with ACT (NAT-T issue). I have raised a ticket with ACT but don't have much hope.
  3. Most common IPSec features are supported, including both Main and Aggressive modes, PFS, DPD etc. On the other hand, only PSK is supported - I didn't see any option for certificate-based peer authentication.
  4. Multiple SSIDs are supported. I created one for my home (retained my old SSID - configured on all sorts of devices at my home) and one exclusively for my own WFH use.
  5. Unfortunately it does not support different DHCP pools for each SSID. I didn't want sundry devices to have direct access to my AWS VPC via the VPN; so I have done a hack for now (assigned a static IP for my laptop and tunneled only that IP). Need to check some security aspects of this before adopting this as a permanent configuration.
  6. The Wifi range is excellent. Too good to be true, in fact. My previous device (Linksys) wouldn't reach my bedroom so I had a repeater in between. This one reaches much beyond. :-) I hope I don't get complaints from others in the complex that my Wifi is interfering with theirs (I have chosen the safe channel 11, though).
  7. There is the option of DDNS+RoadWarrior IPSec configuration which I don't think I'll use; but I'll give it a try too.
  8. All standard features are present (protocol-specific handling for VoIP, games, file sharing etc.). I don't think anything's glaringly missing.
I paid nearly Rs. 9000 for this device, though market price seems to be > 10K. I got a discount from my office's IT equipment vendor.
binand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 12:39   #920
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 234
Thanked: 40 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
I got the TP-Link device above and set it up at my home. The other one is EOL'ed.
  1. Both my ACT and BSNL broadband links are now connected to it, both work fine and traffic balancing (and failover) between them work fine too.
  2. I have setup an IPSec VPN from this device to my AWS VPC; it works fine with BSNL but not with ACT (NAT-T issue). I have raised a ticket with ACT but don't have much hope.
  3. Most common IPSec features are supported, including both Main and Aggressive modes, PFS, DPD etc. On the other hand, only PSK is supported - I didn't see any option for certificate-based peer authentication.
  4. Multiple SSIDs are supported. I created one for my home (retained my old SSID - configured on all sorts of devices at my home) and one exclusively for my own WFH use.
  5. Unfortunately it does not support different DHCP pools for each SSID. I didn't want sundry devices to have direct access to my AWS VPC via the VPN; so I have done a hack for now (assigned a static IP for my laptop and tunneled only that IP). Need to check some security aspects of this before adopting this as a permanent configuration.
  6. The Wifi range is excellent. Too good to be true, in fact. My previous device (Linksys) wouldn't reach my bedroom so I had a repeater in between. This one reaches much beyond. :-) I hope I don't get complaints from others in the complex that my Wifi is interfering with theirs (I have chosen the safe channel 11, though).
  7. There is the option of DDNS+RoadWarrior IPSec configuration which I don't think I'll use; but I'll give it a try too.
  8. All standard features are present (protocol-specific handling for VoIP, games, file sharing etc.). I don't think anything's glaringly missing.
I paid nearly Rs. 9000 for this device, though market price seems to be > 10K. I got a discount from my office's IT equipment vendor.
Thanks binand for your detailed review. It looks like this one will be serve my purpose which seems to be same as yours.
CRV2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2014, 14:57   #921
BHPian
 
ajitkommini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 483
Thanked: 109 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Guys I have a question. I have an ACT broadband (now ACT FibreNet) connection that is advertised as 40Mbps. In fact I do get the full 40Mbps when plugged into the router (Cisco Linksys E900) via an ethernet cable. But when I use WiFi I don't get more than 20Mbps up or down. Is there a setting or configuration change I can make to unlock the full speed on WiFi? I tried some googling, and the most popular remedy seems to be a firmware upgrade. This brings me to my second question. Is it safe for me to download and upgrade the firmware? or does this need to be done by the ACT guys?
ajitkommini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2014, 14:04   #922
BHPian
 
arin_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 597
Thanked: 20 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshaymahajan View Post
I got this a while back. The new one with the 5Db antenna does not have a print server option in the firmware. And I could not find a new firmware for this hardware that does support printing. The USB can be used for connecting a HDD without issues. This is a guess that they removed it when they changed the hardware. I may be wrong.
I have recently spoke to one of CC advisory from D-Link. He says that both (2/5) dB antenna is still on market. In all the shopping site they display the old pics with 2 dB antenna which may be wrong. You need to find the HW version, it should be U1.
arin_12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 15:11   #923
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai
Posts: 11
Thanked: 5 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I am also in a look out for a decent router, I am currently on Beetel 450 TC2 which doesn't even cover to the next room, provided by Airtel.

So I am planning to invest on a decent router and use this Beetel as a modem to connect to the router.

Now my budget is around 7k, maxed out at 8K.

Devices - 4 SmartPhone, 2 IPads, 2 Windows Laptop, A macbook Air, Wii and TataSky HD+

Future Additions - Possibly Apple TV, or Chromecast or its likes

ISP
: Airtel, 4mbps with FUP.

Requirement: House is around 1200Sq Ft. currently I get only 2 bars in the next room. The current router is present in near the hall & bedroom wall and it cannot be moved to another place.

Usage:
Seamless connection to devices, as it moves out and in to the wifi zone - Very Important
1.Next is to cover the entire house corner, utilize the 5Ghz band to connect my newer devices.
2. stream movies from my external HDD, to be connected to the Router.
3. Might use a download master.
3. Future proof to some extent till I get a 802.11ac device or get a good 802.11ac router now itself but costs are really high & out of range.


So, I would like the learned group to suggest me a good router

Candidates
Asus RT-N56U
Asus RT-AC52U

I have an asus in my parents place and have never had any issue with it, so leaning towards Asus. No Connection issues what so ever with

I have used TP-Link router previously and my Nexus 4 and Ipad doesnt behave properly with them. Thought it connects to the WiFi, it wouldnt have internet connection, until I restart the router.
vikramhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 15:54   #924
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikramhere View Post
I am also in a look out for a decent router, I am currently on Beetel 450 TC2 which doesn't even cover to the next room, provided by Airtel.
I have been using the Asus RT-N66U for the past 2 to 3 years, this will meet all your requirements, amazing hardware and coverage, I have connected 1 TB HDD to the router and it streams movies all over my house, infact the signal is so strong that I get it even 70 to 80 meters away from my house. The best investment I have done.

Mod Note: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 19th September 2014 at 16:04.
rbp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 16:16   #925
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai
Posts: 11
Thanked: 5 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbp View Post
I have been using the Asus RT-N66U for the past 2 to 3 years, this will meet all your requirements, amazing hardware and coverage.
Thanks rbp, I agree the Dark Knight is indeed a beast, but for me budget very much a limiting factor. N66U is way beyond my reach @ 12k, where as my budget is ~8K max.

Is there a similar router that would let me enjoy a decent performance at this price range. Any new suggestions are welcome too.
vikramhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 17:46   #926
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default

56u is also good but the firmware support isn't great. N66U gets frequent updates, if any of ur friends is coming from US get 66U from there, hardly 8k there. I would advise u to stretch ur budget worth the performance
rbp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 22:08   #927
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai
Posts: 11
Thanked: 5 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Thanks for the suggestion. Got a couple of questions -
1. is it worth buying a 802.11ac router now? or should I wait for the market to mature?
2. If I get a Asus router from US, will it have warranty in India like apple products do?
vikramhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2014, 22:40   #928
BHPian
 
babhishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 315
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

If you have ac gadgets yes, else no

No, zero warranty!
babhishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2014, 09:48   #929
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai
Posts: 11
Thanked: 5 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Thanks AB, I don't have an ac Device as of now, but i am planning to upgrade my N4, to a newer one which would probably be ac compatible.

1. how does Airport extreme (newer tower model) compare to the likes of AC routers?

2. Given that my requirement would be to stream (HD) movies to my devices while browsing/watching youtube extra, would there be significant difference be AC or N routers?

3. How good is the beam formation of AC over N in passing through, 3-4 brick walls in a typical indian house? Since I dont need a router that has huge coverage. For me coverage or say 1500 - 2000 Sq Ft is enough but quality of connection is extremely important.

@rbp, are you on stock firmware or on the likes or merling/dd-wrt etc? Is there any warranty issues when the router is switched to a open/modified firmware from the stock firmware?
vikramhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2014, 10:34   #930
rbp
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 433
Thanked: 257 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikramhere View Post
@rbp, are you on stock firmware or on the likes or merling/dd-wrt etc? Is there any warranty issues when the router is switched to a open/modified firmware from the stock firmware?
I am on stock firmware, never found a reason to try the others. I haven't had any issues with the router so dunno if changing the firmware will void warranty or not, based on your requirements I doubt if you will ever change the firmware to others. By the way the router comes with 3 years warrant as far as I recall.
rbp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:39.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks