Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th May 2016, 14:31   #1351
BHPian
 
tibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 24 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majumdarda View Post
Thank you very much Tibby. You have really saved me. I am definitely going to place an order for a pair, should there be a requirement again.

Best regards,
You are most welcome! I hope the WiFi is up & running by now.
tibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2016, 14:47   #1352
BHPian
 
Majumdarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 640
Thanked: 349 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibby View Post
You are most welcome! I hope the WiFi is up & running by now.
Its just working fine and I am replying via the WiFi

P.S. I took from balajitraders as the one from Mumbai was not convincing enough. With Fedex overnite shipping and a total cost of 275/-, I would say that its a welcome deal.

Last edited by Majumdarda : 28th May 2016 at 14:49.
Majumdarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2016, 15:24   #1353
BHPian
 
tibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 24 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majumdarda View Post
Its just working fine and I am replying via the WiFi

P.S. I took from balajitraders as the one from Mumbai was not convincing enough. With Fedex overnite shipping and a total cost of 275/-, I would say that its a welcome deal.
Good to know you are back on WiFi.

It seems that the Router you are using is an N300. What is the size of the premises you are using it in or have used it in. How is the network range (dual antennas I guess)?
tibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2016, 15:35   #1354
BHPian
 
Majumdarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 640
Thanked: 349 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I am using Model Number : TL-WR841N in a 2BHK apartment.

At the moment I at times find it a bit difficult in finding proper range in all the rooms but that probably because I have not found the correct position to place the same. Its just went live a few days back

But at my last residence of 1 BHK, the range was pretty good at all the rooms and even at the basement (4 levels) I could find signal to send emails.

I am sure, the placing of the device needs to be altered so that I can get seamless connectivity from all the locations within the apartment.
Majumdarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2016, 16:03   #1355
BHPian
 
tibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 24 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majumdarda View Post
I am using Model Number : TL-WR841N in a 2BHK apartment.

At the moment I at times find it a bit difficult in finding proper range in all the rooms but that probably because I have not found the correct position to place the same. Its just went live a few days back

But at my last residence of 1 BHK, the range was pretty good at all the rooms and even at the basement (4 levels) I could find signal to send emails.

I am sure, the placing of the device needs to be altered so that I can get seamless connectivity from all the locations within the apartment.
Yes, router positioning plays a very important role. I tried moving my router to a corner room, and the network reduced by half in some places.
Moved it back to the original position in the centre of the house, and signals are back to being the best.
tibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2016, 19:08   #1356
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Delhi
Posts: 95
Thanked: 33 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by binand View Post
you might want to consider a PCI-X Wireless card instead...Of course, USB beats them on convenience and ease of install.
.
Thanks! I just wanted a temporary solution and will switch back to "wired" soon, so I got the usb one. And I will be able to use it on a laptop as well.

I got a Tenda W311ma. Its much much faster than the Usb tethering by phone I was relying on since the last few days.

Now its time to read the discussions on wi-fi security on this thread. Seems confusing, but I should make the effort.

Last edited by sinhead : 31st May 2016 at 19:10.
sinhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 11:46   #1357
BHPian
 
Majumdarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 640
Thanked: 349 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

A very surprising and welcome gesture by the TPLink Team. I had sent some emails requesting for information about shops available at Pune from where I could get a replacement. Much to my surprise I found out that they have dispatched a power cable for my residence, not charging anything at all. Its definitely a much appreciated welcome gesture.

I am mentioning the address from where the power cable was dispatched. Just in case someone feels the need in future to contact them for any spares.

TP-LINK India Private Limited
Unit No 1,2 & 3,
Luthria House,
Sativali Main Road,
Vasai Road (East), Thane, Maharashtra - 401208,
Phone : +91 250 6634902
Email : info@tp-link.com

The same was couriered to me from the below address:-

Rajhansh Couriers,
Shop No. 112 C,
Purusottam Building,
Keshavji Naik Road, Chinch Bunder,
Masjid (W), Mumbai - 400009,
Phone : 022 40232000
Majumdarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2016, 18:57   #1358
BHPian
 
tibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 44
Thanked: 24 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majumdarda View Post
A very surprising and welcome gesture by the TPLink Team. I had sent some emails requesting for information about shops available at Pune from where I could get a replacement. Much to my surprise I found out that they have dispatched a power cable for my residence, not charging anything at all. Its definitely a much appreciated welcome gesture.

I am mentioning the address from where the power cable was dispatched. Just in case someone feels the need in future to contact them for any spares.

TP-LINK India Private Limited
Unit No 1,2 & 3,
Luthria House,
Sativali Main Road,
Vasai Road (East), Thane, Maharashtra - 401208,
Phone : +91 250 6634902
Email : info@tp-link.com

The same was couriered to me from the below address:-

Rajhansh Couriers,
Shop No. 112 C,
Purusottam Building,
Keshavji Naik Road, Chinch Bunder,
Masjid (W), Mumbai - 400009,
Phone : 022 40232000
Nice! So now you have 2 adapters? Or is it 3, if you managed to find the misplaced one?
tibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2016, 09:31   #1359
BHPian
 
Majumdarda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 640
Thanked: 349 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibby View Post
Nice! So now you have 2 adapters? Or is it 3, if you managed to find the misplaced one?
3 it is definitely. Only that it needs to be found out.
Majumdarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2016, 20:42   #1360
Senior - BHPian
 
itwasntme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 2,104
Thanked: 1,147 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Guys, need a powerful router in my G+3 villa. I currently have an unlimited 10 Mbps DSL (OFC-based) connection connected to a old Netgear G router plus a 60Gb Airtel 4G connection (wifi Huawei modem/router E5972 supplied by Airtel).

Unsure whether to go the load balancing way (both pipes into the same router) or stick to current separate setup.

Device list is humongous with 5 mobiles, 3 tablets, 2 Chromecast v1, 2 Chromecast Audios, 6 D-Link wifi IP cams, 2 laptops and 2 Bose SoundTouch stereos :-)

Currently networking is a standalone hodgepodge - wondering if I can integrate everything? Caveat: I am NOT an IT networking guy and have learnt when not on the job :-)

Any ideas?
itwasntme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2016, 21:26   #1361
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,817
Thanked: 3,024 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I'm no expert, but it makes sense to load balance because your router's standalone capacity matters only w.r.t. your local network (peer-to-peer local connections between your devices).

For stuff that needs to connect to the internet, too many devices competing for limited bandwidth on any line will ruin the experience for all.
Chetan_Rao is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2016, 11:27   #1362
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baroda
Posts: 159
Thanked: 64 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

I need some advice. Since last 4 years or so I'm using Asus RTN66U. After the first 2 year working flawlessly the router started diconneting the internet randomly. Ever after multiple reboots the router would not work and than suddenly start working. At that time after a lot of phone tech support ASUS finally replaced the router through Rashi Pheripherials.

Now again after almost 1.5 years of usage the Router is behaving the same way. It disconnects and than after 1 or 2 reboots it again starts working again. I keep my Firmware's updated. This time when I contacted ASUS tech support the guy after looking at my history said that may be my router gets over heated and hence disconnects. Honestly I feel his explanation is useless.

My query is what should I do. I want to replace it with a new one of a different brand with the same range and throughput capacity. Range is important to me and hence ended up with ASUS RTN66U Kinght Rider.

What options are there for me to replace this in other brands.

Thanks in advance.
abs182 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2016, 12:46   #1363
BHPian
 
2500cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 660
Thanked: 228 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by abs182 View Post
I need some advice. Since last 4 years or so I'm using Asus RTN66U.

Thanks in advance.
Am using N66U since 2012 and never had any issues with the router, it is always on the stock firmware though I have heard Merlin and Tomato firmwares would unleash the full potential of this router.

Recently while updating to 3.0.0.4.380.3264, the router got bricked, nothing would fix the issues, tried various troubleshooting steps as described here. (It is my thread)

Finally 3.0.0.4.380.3831 fixed all the issues and is now back to business.

I have heard from many folks on various forums that, there's always a fix every issue for this router. So google hard and am sure you'll find the way out.

Also try Merlin or Tomato firmwares and see if it helps.

Last edited by 2500cc : 25th July 2016 at 12:48.
2500cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2016, 14:26   #1364
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baroda
Posts: 159
Thanked: 64 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2500cc View Post
I have heard from many folks on various forums that, there's always a fix every issue for this router. So google hard and am sure you'll find the way out.

Also try Merlin or Tomato firmwares and see if it helps.
Well I tried a lot to find the solution to it. Infact the first time ASUS Service providers Rashi Peripherals themselves couldn't figure it out and hence agreed for a brand new replacement. I am not much technically sound in networking and hence have a working knowledge of it. I am actually tired of the internet disconnecting on Wifi and looking for its solution. When it works. It works flawlessly. But being mostly not at home and house members complaining about it time and again I was looking for a suitable replacement for it. This is the first time my router has given me problems. Till now all me previous routers are still in use by someone or the other.

Any suggestion on a suitable replacement for it in any other brand?
abs182 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2016, 14:52   #1365
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 249
Thanked: 111 Times
Default re: On Wi-Fi & Routers

Quote:
Originally Posted by abs182 View Post
This is the first time my router has given me problems. Till now all me previous routers are still in use by someone or the other.Any suggestion on a suitable replacement for it in any other brand?
There could be a couple of reasons. The power adapter could be faulty and the device is not receiving sufficient voltage.
The firmware which you recently upgraded could be buggy. You could go back a version or two and try.
This is a likely scenario and you could set the wifi channel manually to 6 or 11. This frequency is supposed to be free. There could be a clash with nearby wireless devices such as cordless phones or a neighbours wifi.
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about MiFi routers - data connectivity on the move! COUGAR Gadgets, Computers & Software 22 25th June 2013 21:38
GNS3 and Dynamips like tool for Alcatel Service Routers pb10gagan Shifting gears 1 5th November 2009 16:18
Cisco routers for self-study pranavt Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 11th April 2009 17:59
Info needed on selling used Cisco routers/switches. supremeBaleno Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 19th September 2008 18:58


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:11.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks