Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th July 2005, 11:06   #1
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default PC gamers and Video cards

Which Video card u use and which one u planning for the future?
- anybody into Overclocking and water cooling ?
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2005, 15:50   #2
BHPian
 
Vikas Mawandia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 41
Thanked: Once
Default

nvidia G-force FX i guess that is what i am using
Vikas Mawandia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 04:12   #3
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Anyone using a BFG Ultra OC ?played NFSU2 or Colin Mcrae Rally on that card ?
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 06:22   #4
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

I guess there r no gamers in this forum ..
I thought there would be some 6800 Ultra's out there ..
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 10:59   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

i have the g-force card.and it rocks.


rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 12:21   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 1,040
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

i have a bare minimum geforce2 mx400 64 mb..most of the new games work on it..cant get a new geforce pci express card as my mother board doesnt have a pci express slot...is there a way to change the motherboard and the gpu card leaving the windows installation intact without having to reinstall everything?.
heavy_foot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 12:54   #7
BHPian
 
aggressive_anush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda
I guess there r no gamers in this forum ..
Gamer.. Yes.
PC Gamer .. NO
aggressive_anush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 21:59   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

I have a ati radeon xpress 200m with 256(128 integrated and 128 dedicated). Its is a decent card and I have the excellent Amd athlon 4000 in this laptop.it rocks.

my other laptop has a nvidia geforce 6800 Ultra with in the sager 9880. boy its kill the games.

the nvidia fx is not a gamer card but meant for proffesional use.

I play a lot of nfs Underground and hL2. on the 9880 .I will soon be sellin this when sager launched the next laptop with the athlon fx-57 with nvidia 7800gtx.

I once installed the omega drivers and overclocked the ati xpress to 375mhz core.performance diff was marginal
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 22:27   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_foot
i have a bare minimum geforce2 mx400 64 mb..most of the new games work on it..cant get a new geforce pci express card as my mother board doesnt have a pci express slot...is there a way to change the motherboard and the gpu card leaving the windows installation intact without having to reinstall everything?.
yes u can do that.change the board and the card and while booting win xp(which one do u have)will automatically reconfigure itself according to the new hardware.though u may have to install certain drivers for sound,mother board etc and ofcource the graphics drivers.windows may also ask for the setup disk or setup source while reconfiguring.but after the first boot ur machine should work like before(i:e retain all ur setting and files).
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 23:18   #10
Newbie
 
The X Factor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Had got the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro(256 bit) when it was the fastest card around, after reading about Doom 3 (which turned out to be such crap also by the time it was released PCIX cards were available) .The card though is still powerful to play all the current games with most eye candy turned on.I'm waitin until Longhorn is released for my next upgrade.

Cheers
The X Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 23:51   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 1,040
Thanked: 126 Times
Default :ot

Quote:
Originally Posted by merve_extreme
yes u can do that.change the board and the card and while booting win xp(which one do u have)will automatically reconfigure itself according to the new hardware.though u may have to install certain drivers for sound,mother board etc and ofcource the graphics drivers.windows may also ask for the setup disk or setup source while reconfiguring.but after the first boot ur machine should work like before(i:e retain all ur setting and files).
i have win98se and win xp professional both and will win98se reconfigure itself if i change the motherboard and the graphics card??
heavy_foot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 23:53   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy_foot
i have win98se and win xp professional both and will win98se reconfigure itself if i change the motherboard and the graphics card??
Win 98 SE should do it,but it will definately ask for a setup disk.

Xp will do it without to much issues.

even if 98 dosent do it.dont worry.reinstall 98 in the same directory and ur setting will not be lost.

Last edited by merve_extreme : 9th September 2005 at 23:55.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2005, 07:04   #13
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default Aquamark or 3D futuremark

any one did any benchmarking using 3d futuremark or Aqua mark.. it really gives you a proper picture of what your rig is capable of ..
its like a dyno for your PC ..
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 01:15   #14
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by merve_extreme
Win 98 SE should do it,but it will definately ask for a setup disk.

Xp will do it without to much issues.

even if 98 dosent do it.dont worry.reinstall 98 in the same directory and ur setting will not be lost.
I think its the other way round... XP will be gone...
98 should continue to work - 80% chances!

so take it easy.....
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:11   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

A company called sager is soon gonna get a notebook out with the specs

amd athlon fx 57/ amd x2 series(dual core)
nvidia gtx 7800
upto 4 gb ram
17 inch display
4.1 sound
built in camera

the starting price is rumoured to be 2750US$
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chandigarh RLA to soon start home delivery of driving licences and registration cards Aditya The Indian Car Scene 5 26th September 2014 01:11
Gamers: what is your most powerful car in gran turismo heelntoe Shifting gears 20 30th November 2009 16:59
SCAM Alert on Indian Credit Cards GTO Shifting gears 10 3rd November 2006 21:40
Vicky Butler Henderson vs Michael Schumacher - on the cards. Shan2nu Shifting gears 3 19th November 2005 20:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:39.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks