Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th September 2009, 14:09   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default Windows Vista - White Screen on startup, internet issues

Hi All,

There seems to be a peculiar issue with my IBM T60 with Vista home.
The system does not stay connected to the internet for over 10 minutes at a stretch, be it wireless or wired.
When re started it reaches the log on screen and then after putting the pwd shows a white screen (the White screen of death).

Every normal restart now ends up in a White screen.
I then have to restart in safe mode with DOS, uncheck all startup and services in msconfig and then restart it to get it back on.

Go to msconfig again and recheck all services but the ones related to power management and battery log and any other unknown ones. Same for startup programs, and then restart.

This time again it comes up and I can browse for 10 minutes before it gets disconnected from the internet again and i need to follow the entire process as above, again.

Any inputs, ideas? Any recommended computer repair shop near CV Raman nagar I can take this to?

Please help.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 14:32   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Did you have antivirus with the latest defs?

I'd suggest restore the factory image and update it, install all the software that you were using. It happened to me once, and after weeks of unfruitful attempts to get the OS back into normal state, I restored the factory image.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 15:12   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Thanks Clevermax. Yes I have the latest anti virus definitions on my avast free. I have been trying to avoid the factory reset but I guess there might not be much I can do.
I hope that wont need the Vista cd as I asked someone to get this system from the US and they didnt get the Vista backup cd along with the package.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 15:40   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,004
Thanked: 104 Times
Default

@sammyboy if i were you i would use either xp or windows 7. AFAIK IBM supports Xp too, all you need to do is download software update and microsoft .netframework and it will update all drivers for you.
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 16:11   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Thanks Cooldude, I would love to downgrade to XP if possible but I have heard that systems coming preloaded with Vista cause issues while downgrading. Is it true?
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 18:31   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

i had this problem
i think it was related to windows defender and a particular windows update
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 20:06   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
Thanks Cooldude, I would love to downgrade to XP if possible but I have heard that systems coming preloaded with Vista cause issues while downgrading. Is it true?
Upgrading to Windows 7 is few times better than downgrading to the boring XP.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 20:51   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
Thanks Cooldude, I would love to downgrade to XP if possible but I have heard that systems coming preloaded with Vista cause issues while downgrading. Is it true?
This is not a problem as long as you get latest drivers. I have helped a lot of people on this. The common problem they make is
1) Backup of Data
2) Drivers.

For example, sony had a website for users to get drivers for laptops for XP. My friend was not able to find the site, so eventually ended up with XP that was not working realiably. This is a most widely faced issue. First make sure that you have all drivers of your system for XP. Then change the OS. Nothing will be a problem then.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2009, 22:41   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Well, I finally went ahead and did a complete restore, not system restore but a restore to factory settings. Had backed up the comp before that so didnt lose any data. As of now the system is working like it did 2 years back when it was new. Lets see if it works, it seems to be ok as of now.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 18:32   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,172 Times
Default

A question to OS guru's: The workstations in my office are HP branded and come with Vista Business as OEM. My office hace asked them to replace them with Windows XP.
Can I use the key written on the Microsoft Original sticker on the machine and then install the Vista Business on my home pc??

Last edited by extreme_torque : 28th September 2009 at 18:36.
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2009, 19:19   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

no, the key is specific to the machine on which the sticker is pasted. it's created using the serial number of CPU and other components of the PC. Vista will refuse to set up on even the same PC with same key if some of those parts are changed, let alone on another PC.

XP corporate used to have a universal key which was not specific to a machine, hanece could be installed on any PC. Not sure if vista has any fundae like that.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
iPod Classic white screen (of death) problem! Fountainheader Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 3rd May 2010 17:15
Baleno smokes white during startup dvinod Technical Stuff 23 4th November 2007 02:42
2 Problems - is it Windows Vista ? normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 17th June 2007 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks