Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd February 2009, 22:34   #1561
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 731
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
No you need to have a always on internet with wifi router. BTW which ISP are you using.
I see. Thought it were straight forward as both have WLan.
I use B.S.N.L Broadband.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2009, 22:43   #1562
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

Its easy. BSNL is always on broadband. You just need to buy a wifi router.

1. configure your adsl modem as always on (no dialer setup)
2. configure wifi router with WPA or WEP password. put that passord in e71.

PS: you are using BSNL modem (Huawei or ZTE) or you bought your own.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2009, 23:57   #1563
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 731
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
PS: you are using BSNL modem (Huawei or ZTE) or you bought your own.
->Configure wifi router with WPA or WEP password.
Would that mean that one can't connect to the Wlan w/o the password?
I have a D-Link DSL-103i ADSL 2+ router. Got it free with a TATA fone connection.
Last question. Once I get a Wi-Fi modem would I need to add a Wi-Fi device to my desktop or could use the regular LAN wire.
Thanks a tonne for the info!
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 00:18   #1564
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
Would that mean that one can't connect to the Wlan w/o the password?
I have a D-Link DSL-103i ADSL 2+ router. Got it free with a TATA fone connection.
Last question. Once I get a Wi-Fi modem would I need to add a Wi-Fi device to my desktop or could use the regular LAN wire.
Thanks a tonne for the info!
It depends upon the Wifi setup. But its a good idea to keep it secure, remember the last years unauthorised usage of wifi in mumbai of a foreigner by terrorists.

It depends. Most model comes with wifi, a single wan port and four lan port. So you can connect your desktop using one of those lan ports.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 01:00   #1565
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 731
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
It depends upon the Wifi setup.
It depends. Most model comes with wifi, a single wan port
That'd be neat. I wouldn't want people fishing into my bandwidth.
A single LAN port would be enough, i can have the CPU (which is the major system) and have the 2 more systems run together! (and the phone when need be)
Thanks
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 11:46   #1566
BHPian
 
deetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 225
Thanked: 100 Times
Default bought asus eee 4g@7K

Yesterday, I went to croma to buy a netbook.

Requirements were clear.
Wanted an ultraportable computing machine to browse internet(wi-fi),do small office keeping tasks,read pdf ,blogging etc.,.

Had a good look at Samsung NC10 and was very tempted at the offer.
But then I saw this ultra-ultra portable and then the price @7k -wow! I just went for it as it fits my requirements exactly- yes exactly-nothing less nothing more than what I wanted.

I felt its a superb VFM for what am searching.
The power adapter in the package was not working though. So, got the adapter exchanged for another working one.
Back home I was very satified with it. Popped in a 4GB SDHC and eee pc recognizes it as a secondary memory disk.So, through SDHC i can increase the total memory upto 20GB.
People already owning the 7"eee PC , how was the battery life in long run?
Any other frequent problems to look for?
deetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 12:19   #1567
BHPian
 
deetee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 225
Thanked: 100 Times
Default

slightly off topic, there is a complementary offer going on IPOD nano 4g 8GB model.You get a sennheiser lp90 headset (mrp is 4k ) as a gift with it.
ipod price is 9.2k to 9.7 k depending upon the store.

Last edited by deetee : 23rd February 2009 at 12:21.
deetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 16:55   #1568
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deetee View Post
But then I saw this ultra-ultra portable and then the price @7k -wow! I just went for it as it fits my requirements exactly- yes exactly-nothing less nothing more than what I wanted.
I felt its a superb VFM for what am searching.
Popped in a 4GB SDHC and eee pc recognizes it as a secondary memory disk.So, through SDHC i can increase the total memory upto 20GB.
People already owning the 7"eee PC
could you specify the model number!!
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:28   #1569
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

this is now obsolete model asus 4g. It uses solid state 12gb drive and uses old celeron processor. It has 7 inch screen. It was first realease of asus, I guess end of 2007
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:38   #1570
Senior - BHPian
 
14000rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, MI
Posts: 1,854
Thanked: 565 Times
Default

I bought a toshiba L305 5908 from US. I'm not very excited with the performance. I just downgraded from vista to xp. this has slowed my laptop considerably. Anybody got any review for this laptop?
14000rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:51   #1571
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,079
Thanked: 251 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
I just downgraded from vista to xp. this has slowed my laptop considerably.
Isn't that the opposite of what is supposed to happen?
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 22:35   #1572
Senior - BHPian
 
14000rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, MI
Posts: 1,854
Thanked: 565 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Isn't that the opposite of what is supposed to happen?
I'm all confused too. anybody got anything to say about this?
14000rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 23:30   #1573
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Isn't that the opposite of what is supposed to happen?
frankly i also thought downgrading will increase performance and thats what my friends say too!!
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 23:38   #1574
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
I'm all confused too. anybody got anything to say about this?
Do another clean install. Format the C: drive. XP should run faster than Vista.
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 23:43   #1575
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Have you installed drivers for all hardware?
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6593 21st October 2017 15:21
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks