Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2009, 11:54   #1636
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
you can do two things.tab

1. go to start>accessories>system tool > disk cleanup..
Oh I clean up and defrag about once a week. Does not change much.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2009, 15:59   #1637
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

^^^^^^^^
download this tool from here.

http://www.extensoft.com/?p=download...eediskanalyzer
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2009, 22:31   #1638
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Guys how would a Intel ATOM 1.6 compare to a CELERON M 2.0 Ghz ? The usage here is word processing, presentations, movie watching, mp3 and some light weight games. The above mentioned processors can they run VISTA ?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2009, 23:59   #1639
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

atom i guess is actually build from celeron core. Its not a good idea to install it on a celeron based machine.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 05:37   #1640
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

@ navin,

follow this to reduce your restore space if you wish. this space doesn't show up anywhere in regular disk analysis.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post1095954 (Windows Vista Discussion Thread)
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 16:09   #1641
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
thanks. i will.

so I just loose 20Gb of my hard disk without any reason? MS is nuts!
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 17:30   #1642
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,226
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
thanks. i will.



so I just loose 20Gb of my hard disk without any reason? MS is nuts!
Yes they are. Now i just get amused seeing their stupid antics.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 19:07   #1643
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post

so I just loose 20Gb of my hard disk without any reason? MS is nuts!
you can choose to disable system restore altogether and reclaim all of it.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 23:43   #1644
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
you can choose to disable system restore altogether and reclaim all of it.
ok so is that where my 20GB went? if that is the case MS should say that somewhere. Also in this case guys like me would have just bought a bigger hard disk and let MS have their 20GB.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 07:45   #1645
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
ok so is that where my 20GB went? if that is the case MS should say that somewhere. Also in this case guys like me would have just bought a bigger hard disk and let MS have their 20GB.
Navin, for drive C:\ you may reduce the amount of disc space allocated for System Restore, but do not eliminate it.
For Data partitions, you may cancel the restore feature if you are maintaining backups manually elsewhere.
It does come in handy at times to get going if your OS has suffered corruption and is refusing to boot.
It is good to maintain at least two good restore points for the system drive.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 12:33   #1646
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Navin, for drive C:\ you may reduce the amount of disc space allocated for System Restore, but do not eliminate it.
For Data partitions, you may cancel the restore feature if you are maintaining backups manually elsewhere.
It does come in handy at times to get going if your OS has suffered corruption and is refusing to boot.
It is good to maintain at least two good restore points for the system drive.
no I'd rather let MS do what they want. Mad men those guys in Seattle were. If they had advertised it atleast we'd know. hard disks and RAM is pretty cheap nowadays.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2009, 00:52   #1647
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
ok so is that where my 20GB went? if that is the case MS should say that somewhere. Also in this case guys like me would have just bought a bigger hard disk and let MS have their 20GB.
Dude! thats what you end up cleaning when you use 'More options' in disk cleanup utility.

you do that regularly right?
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2009, 16:00   #1648
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Dude! thats what you end up cleaning when you use 'More options' in disk cleanup utility.

you do that regularly right?
Yes I do. Thanks. Sometimes I wonder how/why MS got so big making such poor software. Then again so did GM.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2009, 19:14   #1649
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Lack of competition. Linux was never that ready until recently. Mac was in the niche market and other Os's are used only in their companies. So basically windows has had a free run.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 10:35   #1650
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
Lack of competition.
and some (in retrospect) lax policy from IBM (both in the case of MS and Intel).
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6633 18th December 2017 11:03
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks