Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th May 2009, 22:58   #1786
BHPian
 
ariendj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 503
Thanked: 79 Times
Default

how long should a new laptop(battery) be charged?
ariendj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 12:18   #1787
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,860
Thanked: 2,397 Times
Default

Dad called this morning asking for a final resolution to the non compatibility of his new 64 bit Toshiba Laptop with his printer which is not compatible witha 64 bit OS.

As otherwise he has to unnecessarily keep 2 PCs at home

One of the friendly neighborhood pc guy told him to install XP to get rid of the problem.

- Now my Question is can a 32 bit OS be installed on a 64 bit machine?

- Is it possible to dual boot Vista with XP or is it better for him to get rid of Vista completely & install XP?

My only issue is that if one has a genuine product license(Vista) then why waste it besides new softwares may run better on Vista.

Please advise

Last edited by Technocrat : 27th May 2009 at 12:19.
Technocrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 12:39   #1788
BHPian
 
dash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 58
Thanked: 0 Times
Default 32 bit OS on 64 bit processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Dad called this morning asking for a final resolution to the non compatibility of his new 64 bit Toshiba Laptop with his printer which is not compatible witha 64 bit OS.

As otherwise he has to unnecessarily keep 2 PCs at home

One of the friendly neighborhood pc guy told him to install XP to get rid of the problem.

- Now my Question is can a 32 bit OS be installed on a 64 bit machine?

- Is it possible to dual boot Vista with XP or is it better for him to get rid of Vista completely & install XP?

My only issue is that if one has a genuine product license(Vista) then why waste it besides new softwares may run better on Vista.

Please advise
- Yes it is possible to have 32 bit OS on a 64 bit processor. But by doing this you are not taking advantage of 64 bit apps. (Mostly related to better graphic and games).
- It is possible to dual boot XP and Vista, Vista 32 bit and Vista 64 bit and other combinations.

The important point is if you have a Dell laptop with pre installed Vista 64 bit OS, then do not try any of the above. As, you will not get the drives for mother board for other OSes and also, there is not mother board drivers given even for the installed OS!!! This is important. They only ship recovery CD, (Not same as OS CD).
dash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 13:07   #1789
BHPian
 
sreedotk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 215
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Wouldn't a 64 Bit OS run 32 Bit programs also. If that is the case then the printer's 32 bit drivers should work just fine right?.

We run 64 bit Windows XP OS at our office . I have (touchwood) not come across an issue where the 64 Bit OS did not allow me to communicate with a peripheral
sreedotk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 13:18   #1790
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sreedotk View Post
Wouldn't a 64 Bit OS run 32 Bit programs also. If that is the case then the printer's 32 bit drivers should work just fine right?.

We run 64 bit Windows XP OS at our office . I have (touchwood) not come across an issue where the 64 Bit OS did not allow me to communicate with a peripheral
The beautiful part of XP 64 bit is that Microsoft tech supports calls you back.



This is the next best thing at 500$
Lenovo Goes Ion With 12.1" IdeaPad S12 Netbook - HotHardware
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 13:20   #1791
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,860
Thanked: 2,397 Times
Default

Nope this canon printer simply refuses to work with 65 bit OS. I have searched net for solutions & found none.
Technocrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 16:17   #1792
BHPian
 
anandtheleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 346
Thanked: 175 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Nope this canon printer simply refuses to work with 65 bit OS. I have searched net for solutions & found none.
Well I had this problem in my laptop too, it is a Toshiba 64 bit machine. I could not install even the latest VLC player. I had a RAM problem in my laptop and the OS was re-installed and after that when I tried installing 32 bit programs (including the latest VLC player & the old version of ACDSee 2.3) it worked. The difference this time was that 32 bit programs are getting installed in "Program Files (x86)". Try this for a solution before any OS re-install.

"So, in addition to the Program Files folder, there is a Program Files (x86) folder for 32-bit applications. Also, in addition to the System32 folder, there is a SysWOW64 folder. Contrary to what the names may suggest, 64-bit operating system components and shared libraries go into the System32 folder, while 32-bit operating system components and shared libraries go into the SysWOW64 folder."

Source: Craig McMurtry's WebLog : 64-Bit Windows Part 11: Windows On Windows 64
anandtheleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 16:36   #1793
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,860
Thanked: 2,397 Times
Default

@anandtheleo- Thanks man but we have tried that too but didnt work, the installer installs in the 32 bit directory but the Printer application simply refuses to start stating non compatibility :(
Technocrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 17:04   #1794
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

^^^^

Techno, do you connect the printer through USB ? if you do then there could be a workaround through VM.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 18:33   #1795
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

The first step I will do is that find Canon's 64 bit drivers for XP or better, Vista. If the printer is really old and not compatible, you might want to find a printer than getting rid of the OS.

Secondly, UAC and some other features of Vista won't let the drivers interact with the kernel directly at all. It is strictly restricted in Vista Design and if that is the case, you don't have any option but to get another printer if no compatible drivers.

For dual boot, if you install XP, your vista partition will still be there but it will not boot into Vista. The reason for that is XP is pretty dumb when it comes to seeing another OS on the system. So the solution is to use a utility called EasyBCD to restore Vista install. Then you can use the same to add an XP boot partition as well. Read the documentation for more info. More on dualboot.

Say “it’s my Windows” How to restore BCD bootloader and add Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008 and Windows 7 boot entry in BCD

But the root of it is the printer driver. Unless you get Windows 7 with XP mode, it's not gonna help because the driver model has changed starting Windows Vista. The only other option is to downgrade the Vista license to XP.

PS : I forgot, but have you tried using the default print drivers that come with Windows to print. It may not tell you the tanks stats and stuff, but may just do the job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Dad called this morning asking for a final resolution to the non compatibility of his new 64 bit Toshiba Laptop with his printer which is not compatible witha 64 bit OS.

As otherwise he has to unnecessarily keep 2 PCs at home

One of the friendly neighborhood pc guy told him to install XP to get rid of the problem.

- Now my Question is can a 32 bit OS be installed on a 64 bit machine?

- Is it possible to dual boot Vista with XP or is it better for him to get rid of Vista completely & install XP?

My only issue is that if one has a genuine product license(Vista) then why waste it besides new softwares may run better on Vista.

Please advise
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 18:36   #1796
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

What is a good laptop between 20-25K. My options are Dell and Acer and Lenovo only if comparable warranty terms. Netbooks, HP & Desi brands are not an option here.

Primary usage will be for studies.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 19:14   #1797
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,860
Thanked: 2,397 Times
Default

Thanksa lot Netfreak & given2fly for your detailed solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
^^^^

Techno, do you connect the printer through USB ? if you do then there could be a workaround through VM.
Damn didnt think of that but then again I am not sure that my father can get VMWare in Bhopal :|

Quote:
Originally Posted by given2fly View Post
The first step I will do is that find Canon's 64 bit drivers for XP or better, Vista. If the printer is really old and not compatible, you might want to find a printer than getting rid of the OS.
Tried that, the printer was bought new 3 months back Canon 2900B I have searched the internet & people haven't yet found a way to resolve this issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by given2fly View Post
Secondly, UAC and some other features of Vista won't let the drivers interact with the kernel directly at all. It is strictly restricted in Vista Design and if that is the case, you don't have any option but to get another printer if no compatible drivers.

For dual boot, if you install XP, your vista partition will still be there but it will not boot into Vista. The reason for that is XP is pretty dumb when it comes to seeing another OS on the system. So the solution is to use a utility called EasyBCD to restore Vista install. Then you can use the same to add an XP boot partition as well. Read the documentation for more info. More on dualboot.

Say “it’s my Windows” How to restore BCD bootloader and add Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008 and Windows 7 boot entry in BCD

But the root of it is the printer driver. Unless you get Windows 7 with XP mode, it's not gonna help because the driver model has changed starting Windows Vista. The only other option is to downgrade the Vista license to XP.
Thats my worry the hadrware guy isnt that expert & is the regular chap who at the max would be able to install XP, heck I am not even sure if he would be able to get all the drivers for the laptop on XP & hence want to have dual boot with Vista.

Quote:
Originally Posted by given2fly View Post
PS : I forgot, but have you tried using the default print drivers that come with Windows to print. It may not tell you the tanks stats and stuff, but may just do the job.
The system cant find a suitable driver for this printer from the default drivers & hence the printer is not getting configured.
Technocrat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 20:03   #1798
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Damn didnt think of that but then again I am not sure that my father can get VMWare in Bhopal :|
I think they were talking about Virtual Machines (something like the Sun XVM Virtualbox), I think and not VMware.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2009, 22:50   #1799
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Damn didnt think of that but then again I am not sure that my father can get VMWare in Bhopal :|
It would be a slightly contrived, but would not require much setup on his end.

You would need to:
  1. Download VMWare player at your end. Its free.
  2. Setup a VM with OS that has proper drivers
  3. Burn that image + VMWare player on a dvd
  4. Send it to your dad
Now at his end:
  1. Put dvd in drive
  2. Install VMWare player
  3. Copy image directory on HDD
  4. Setup a shortcut on desktop to open this image
  5. Tere is an option where VMWare will take over USB port where printer is connected
  6. Printer should now work fine inside VM
  7. Export this printer as network printer from VM
  8. From Actual OS, add this printer as Preferred printer
Now onwards, printing should be straight forward from any App in 64 Bit windows.


Of course you would have to do everything beyond step #1 for him.

Logmein.com comes handy for such things
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 10:57   #1800
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@ NetFreak, shouldn't you be saying TeamViewer in the same breath. It is also free and HTTP(S) based remote desktop. Plus is you get all the features of LogMeIn for free for personal use*.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6520 17th August 2017 09:01
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks