Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th July 2009, 22:37   #1846
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

on build quality alone, I would vouch for Asus and Dell XPS. WHen service is combined for the complete product experience I would say Dell is amongst the best here.

I own a HP-Compaq but the company is now run by people who dont know what a computer stands for.

Lenovo thinkpads are still a great product but since Lenovo took it over I dont see them to be the same. I would still consider them though.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 11:28   #1847
Ram
Senior - BHPian
 
Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore, Mumbai, Nagpur
Posts: 2,164
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Tata-Indicom Plug2Surf won't work with Vista Premium

Just got delivery of my new laptop.

It's a Dell Inspiron 14 with an Intel Mobile Core2Duo P8400-type Penryn processor: P7550 2.26 GHz. This processor has a 1066 MHz frontside bus, 32x2 KB L1-cache and 3 MB L2-cache

The motherboard has an Intel GM45 Cantiga chipset
The 4GB main memory comprises two 2GB strips of Hynix (Hyundai) PC2-6400 DDR2-800.
The Hard drive is a 320GB, 5400 rpm unit.

The Windows version is:
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1, with DirectX 10.0. Dell have promised a free upgrade to the new Windows 7 which will be launched in Sep/Oct 2009.

Now the Sufferin' succotash comes from the fact that
my Tata-Indicom Plug2Surf modem (a CDMA 1X modem)
will not work with the 64-bit Vista Home Premium SP1!

My younger son, Ajinkya has a new HP laptop with Vista Home running on a 32-bit Intel Celeron processor. He had no problems installing the 32-bit driver for the Tata-Indicom Plug2Surf.

The original manufacturer of the modem -- Sungil Telecom, Korea, have apparently stopped manufacturing it.

And the 64-bit device driver downloadable from Tata-Indicom's website doesn't work! So I am stuck with a brand-new laptop that can't connect to the Internet when I am travelling!

This must be a familiar problem to Team-BHPians using the Tata-Indicom Plug2Surf Modem on a new Core2Duo laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium.

Do share your experience and how you got the USB modem to work.

Ram
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 13:02   #1848
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,871
Thanked: 2,427 Times
Default

Ram I have a HP laptop with 64 Bit Vista Home Premium with a dual Core AMD processor.
What I remember is that the guy who came faced some issues but was able to install & make the P2S SUB Modem to work. I used it successfully for 3 months or so. But I really dont know what he did & this was almost 2 years back.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 20:07   #1849
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Now the Sufferin' succotash comes from the fact that
my Tata-Indicom Plug2Surf modem (a CDMA 1X modem)
will not work with the 64-bit Vista Home Premium SP1!
it may only be the beginning. I had a friend who had many issues including the software needed for work (VPN, mainframe emulator etc). I suggest opting for a downgrade to 32 bit. Is there anything you notice extraordinary about 64 bit OS?

What's happening to backward compatibility of microsoft software?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 14:48   #1850
BHPian
 
vineetmanghani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi <---> Chennai
Posts: 79
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Hi All,

My dad's in the market for a new laptop. The primary use would be MS Office applications (a lot of large excel sheets running in parallel), internet surfing, and the odd movie or music application.

He's been using an IBM Thinkpad R51 for about 4 years now, so of course it's time for an upgrade now.

I have an uncle coming in from the US. Any suggestions in the 400-600 USD range? I want to stick to good brands (Dell, Toshiba, Lenovo, Sony...). I want to avoid HP/Compaq as far as possible.

Awaiting your responses.

Thanks in advance...
Cheers,
Vineet
vineetmanghani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 11:48   #1851
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 184
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Can you guys suggest a sub 30K laptop? I'm not looking at a Netbook as the screen is too small. Need a decently powered laptop for daily word processing/presentation use and internet.
LastActionHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 15:59   #1852
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
it may only be the beginning. I had a friend who had many issues including the software needed for work (VPN, mainframe emulator etc). I suggest opting for a downgrade to 32 bit. Is there anything you notice extraordinary about 64 bit OS?

What's happening to backward compatibility of microsoft software?
It's necessary for Vista to recognize his 4 gigs of RAM. Oh, and coming to Ram sir's query - have you tried Tata's new PHOTON ? The thing works like a charm on Vista business on my lappy. Moreover the speeds are much superior to the antiquated Plug2Surf too ! The lack of any unlimited plans is a major disappointment though.

Ah silly question but did you try running the dialer in compatibility mode for Windows XP ?
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2009, 11:05   #1853
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,614
Thanked: 7,720 Times
Default

Iam in the market for a laptop ( basically its for the wifey) and she has her heart set out on a HP Pavilion. Check out the link here :-

HP Pavilion dv2-1003ax Entertainment Notebook PC (NU296PA) - Accessories, supplies & services

While checking out the laptop at Croma, the sales guy told that AMD processor is MUCH better than an Intel Core 2 Duo processor. Can someone clarify if that is true? Is it better to buy with a Intel processor or an AMD processor?

Since i am out of loop from buying a laptop since quite a while, need some inputs on what features i should consider should be "Mandatory" when buying the same.

Appreciate some quick inputs as need to make a decision fast
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2009, 00:42   #1854
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

please stay away from AMD based lappy from HP.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 12:33   #1855
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,614
Thanked: 7,720 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
please stay away from AMD based lappy from HP.
Reasons please? Its an AMD Athalon, even this processor is bad?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 13:01   #1856
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 656 Times
Default

no its the mobo that HP uses. even during the warranty they were reluctant to change the mobo

and now its simply not available with them.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 13:31   #1857
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,614
Thanked: 7,720 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
no its the mobo that HP uses. even during the warranty they were reluctant to change the mobo

and now its simply not available with them.
Phew, motherboard issues. I better stay away from AMD. I reckon will go ahead with Intel Core 2 Duo processor. Thanks Alec
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 14:15   #1858
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,614
Thanked: 7,720 Times
Default

Btw, i had another query. I am looking at these 2 models and which is a better and faster processor in Intel?

dv4-1319tu: Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Mobile Processor T4200

dv4-1318tu: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 14:22   #1859
BHPian
 
pradipk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 214
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Btw, i had another query. I am looking at these 2 models and which is a better and faster processor in Intel?

dv4-1319tu: Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Mobile Processor T4200

dv4-1318tu: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400
dv4-1318tu: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400 is better & newer in this two. Also, it's really faster enough.
pradipk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 17:12   #1860
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 184
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Btw, i had another query. I am looking at these 2 models and which is a better and faster processor in Intel?

dv4-1319tu: Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core Mobile Processor T4200

dv4-1318tu: Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400
The only difference between the two processors is the cache size. The Dual-core and Core 2 Duo are just marketing names for the same processor. Both run at the same speed. If you are getting both at the same price then I would recommend you go for dv4-1318tu. Else a premium price for just 1 MB of extra cache is not justified.

Check this and this
LastActionHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6574 16th October 2017 10:12
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:06.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks