Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th August 2007, 10:51   #751
Senior - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,954
Thanked: 1,591 Times
Default

I think Acer's after sales support is suspect.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2007, 10:59   #752
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

Well, the company laptop is Compaq and its utter rubbish. Also for any work needed, they need the laptop for a minimum of 5 days. So I don't bother with it. So sales support is not really a priority i guess.

My personal Samsung has been working flawlessly for almost 4 years, while my compaq is literally falling apart within 1 year.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 09:55   #753
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 107
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Ash, is 1GB RAM enough for Vista? I read somewhere that 2 GB is required for Vista to run "comfortably".
amitoj,

I haven't encountered any performance issues with 1 GB RAM so far..though I must also say that haven't used the laptop I have recently bought for home use, for multimedia/gaming purpose so far..Even I would like to know a definitive word on whether a minimum of 2GB RAM is required to run Vista comfortably..IT Gurus??
AshOnTheRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 13:33   #754
BHPian
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Hi,I'm getting this one Sony vaio for 66k is it worth buying ? What's the procedure of buying a dell ? do we've make payments via credit card & how much time it will take to deliver ?

Last edited by unknown : 15th August 2007 at 13:44.
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 14:13   #755
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

2GB is a bare minimum for windows Vista to run. The Aero UI is the memory killer. But dont buy it from the company. The extra ram is usually cheap in the aftermarket. If possible I buy the notebook pc with cheapest memory and then upgrade it aftermarket.

I got my compaq R4000 with 1 gig Ram. The cost to me then was around $165 (It's a customized to Order unit). After realizing my fault,I got my friend a 1 gig notebook memory for $99 for his acer(previously sempron with 256mb ram).


@Unknown: If its for desktop replacement purposes, go ahead. Otherwise for mobilitiy I would suggest you a 14" or smaller. 2.7Kg with the power charger would make it 3kg or more.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 15th August 2007 at 14:14.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 16:47   #756
Senior - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,954
Thanked: 1,591 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unknown View Post
Hi,I'm getting this one Sony vaio for 66k is it worth buying ? What's the procedure of buying a dell ? do we've make payments via credit card & how much time it will take to deliver ?
If you dont mind paying a li'l extra for the brand, then its a good enough spec, otherwise i think you will get better specs in other brands like acer, hp, lenovo etc at a lower price.
For Dell, you have to customise your order on the web and then leave your phone number or email id and someone from Dell India's sales team will get in touch with you. They say it takes 4 to 7 weeks for delivery but depending on your config, the sales guy will be able to give you a more "accurate estimate".
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 17:00   #757
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Amitoj, I'd suggest U to stay away from Vista.
Get XP and be happy with the better performance with the 1GB.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 17:17   #758
Senior - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,954
Thanked: 1,591 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Amitoj, I'd suggest U to stay away from Vista.
Get XP and be happy with the better performance with the 1GB.
Too late for that now, Nitrous. So far Vista has been ok for me. Only pain point so far is yahoo voice chat does not work. But thats because the software engineers at Yahoo have been sleeping for the past two years,thats when they got the beta version of vista.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 17:37   #759
BHPian
 
2theMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 337
Thanked: Once
Default

Just got my Vostro 1400 delivered in the UK , mean all black machine , and vista is doing fine .

@amit : I would try Skype .
2theMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 21:17   #760
BHPian
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
If you dont mind paying a li'l extra for the brand, then its a good enough spec, otherwise i think you will get better specs in other brands like acer, hp, lenovo etc at a lower price.
For Dell, you have to customise your order on the web and then leave your phone number or email id and someone from Dell India's sales team will get in touch with you. They say it takes 4 to 7 weeks for delivery but depending on your config, the sales guy will be able to give you a more "accurate estimate".
Thanks for the info, i'll see some acer,hp laptop tomorrow then make the final decision .
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 23:07   #761
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hi All,
I am planning to buy a Apple MacBook 2.16GHz 1GB RAM 80GB HDD. Its available for $1299 at Apple stores in US.

Buying Apple was a big decision for me as I did everything on Windows till now. But now I am fed up with windows so want to try Mac.

If there are any MacBook owners on the forum can I get some real feedback from them? Is it worth taking the risk of going to a completely new brand and OS?

Thanks in advance.
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 23:39   #762
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Hi vabs78,

Macbooks are an excellent product. mac OS is new to you but wont take much to get accustomed to it.

there may be compatibilty and software prolems on a large scale, but that's about it. plus there is an offer where you get an ipod for free(do check out on details)

If you are going to use it in US, give it a shot, their service and support are very much active.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 00:08   #763
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

@ vabs78, If getting a brand new Macbook, you should be able to install Xp or Vista on it, theoritically cos Macs use Core 2 Duo CPUs now
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 01:53   #764
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Thanks for the replies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
If you are going to use it in US, give it a shot, their service and support are very much active.
I am going to bring it back to India. Will use is US only for couple of months.

I searched on the net and found a lot of problems on MacBook. I don't know if its because of high expctations or are real issues. I will really appriciate if I can get first had feedback from someone.

Quote:
If getting a brand new Macbook, you should be able to install Xp or Vista on it, theoritically cos Macs use Core 2 Duo CPUs now
I am planning to do just that but not Vista. I will install XP SP2.
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 12:21   #765
BHPian
 
unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 429
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

vabs78
You can install Xp on mac via Bootcamp & it works flawlessly ,why not get the macbook pro ?
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6628 15th December 2017 09:12
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:16.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks