Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th July 2008, 16:55   #1096
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Guys, does the Vostro range of laptops from Dell come with inbuilt speakers? Any idea?

Last edited by Proxima : 5th July 2008 at 17:02.
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 17:23   #1097
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi Proxima,

> does the Vostro range of laptops from Dell come with inbuilt speakers?

The following is part of the tech specs of Vostro 1510 notebook in the Dell india website:

Audio and Speakers
Two channel high definition audio codec; Two stereo 2 watt internal speakers with HD Audio 2.0 software standard

Hope this helps.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 18:23   #1098
BHPian
 
Proxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 801
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi Proxima,

> does the Vostro range of laptops from Dell come with inbuilt speakers?

The following is part of the tech specs of Vostro 1510 notebook in the Dell india website:

Audio and Speakers
Two channel high definition audio codec; Two stereo 2 watt internal speakers with HD Audio 2.0 software standard

Hope this helps.
Thanks trrk, saw it just now. The Vostro series with similar config seems much cheaper than the Inspiron series, any idea why?
Proxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 18:46   #1099
BHPian
 
motorheadinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: University of Bath
Posts: 282
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
Thanks trrk, saw it just now. The Vostro series with similar config seems much cheaper than the Inspiron series, any idea why?
Because unlike Inspiron Series it comes bundled with free DOS while Inspiron comes with Windows Vista.

Make sure to get the one with faster processor and higher RAM

Cheers
motorheadinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 19:17   #1100
BHPian
 
funkydevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 358
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Hey guys,

Just wanted to get your opinions on this one.

Its high time i changed my notebook. So i wanted to know if it would be cheaper to purchase a notebook from abroad like UK, USA or Dubai (will be heading there next month) or from India itself.

I use mostly office applications like word and powerpoint to make presentations, and watch movies or play games sometimes. The notebook i have focused on is the Dell XPS M1530.

The specs i would like to have are -

2.0 ghz with 800mhz FSB
4 gb ram
256 mb graphics card
160 gb HD
Is it possible for me to not get an operating system installed as i already have vista ultimate with me lying unused??

Would appreciate your opinions on the notebook and the place of purchase as well.
funkydevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 21:41   #1101
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydevil View Post
...Its high time i changed my notebook. So i wanted to know if it would be cheaper to purchase a notebook from abroad like UK, USA or Dubai (will be heading there next month) or from India itself...
Getting from one of those places will be surely a cheaper deal. You get a good quality make (slightly better than what you might here) and the cost paid will be considerably less than what you would do here in India.

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydevil View Post
...I use mostly office applications like word and powerpoint to make presentations, and watch movies or play games sometimes. The notebook i have focused on is the Dell XPS M1530.

The specs i would like to have are -

2.0 ghz with 800mhz FSB
4 gb ram
256 mb graphics card
160 gb HD...
The configuration is an overkill for the purpose that you have mentioned. But power is never enough. Go for it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydevil View Post
...Is it possible for me to not get an operating system installed as i already have vista ultimate with me lying unused??...
If you had read the discussion in the previous page, you would have got the answer. (I had asked the same question, since I also have a unused licensed copy. And I have just order the same system, almost same configuration, diff is the HD). And the answer is, NO. You cannot get without the OS for the model mentioned by you. But for certain makes they give it with just DOS, hence saving you the OS cost.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 22:42   #1102
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

im looking for a laptop, range -20-45K,
CELERON - DUAL CORE - C2D,
brand- DELL, COMPAQ
USAGE- home, internet(forum,blogging,etc.), light gaming,
movies.
which will suit the need best?
is celeron still relevant & can it be upgraded later if need be?
after sale service is a concern.
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 23:12   #1103
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,705
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
im looking for a laptop, range -20-45K,
CELERON - DUAL CORE - C2D,
brand- DELL, COMPAQ
USAGE- home, internet(forum,blogging,etc.), light gaming,
movies.
which will suit the need best?
is celeron still relevant & can it be upgraded later if need be?
after sale service is a concern.
Dont go for a Celeron - a Dual Core or a C2D is good - both belong to the same platform, but Dual Core has lesser built-in cache than the C2D to make it cheaper.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 23:20   #1104
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
im looking for a laptop, range -20-45K,
CELERON - DUAL CORE - C2D,
brand- DELL, COMPAQ
USAGE- home, internet(forum,blogging,etc.), light gaming,
movies.
which will suit the need best?
is celeron still relevant & can it be upgraded later if need be?
after sale service is a concern.
As suggested by Vinay @
from http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...thread-24.html (Windows Vista Discussion Thread) ( http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/892308-post347.html ) you can go in for ACER 4720, seems to the right fit here!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 23:27   #1105
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Dont go for a Celeron - a Dual Core or a C2D is good - both belong to the same platform, but Dual Core has lesser built-in cache than the C2D to make it cheaper.
Thanks,
Please explain more, why not celeron?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
As suggested by Vinay @
from http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...thread-24.html (Windows Vista Discussion Thread) ( http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/892308-post347.html ) you can go in for ACER 4720, seems to the right fit here!
Thanks,
Is acer good on after sales in smaller cities?
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2008, 23:32   #1106
Senior - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

Hey, is it possible to get a dell laptop delivered to cochin?? Coz i want one and couldn't find cochin on their destinations, or for that matter, Kerala itself was absent!!
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2008, 00:55   #1107
BHPian
 
motorheadinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: University of Bath
Posts: 282
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp1 View Post
Thanks,
Please explain more, why not celeron?


Thanks,
Is acer good on after sales in smaller cities?
I second that.
u have a decent budget.
why go for something(celeron) that heats, eats lots of battery and does not perform as good as the rest.(read c2d and turion x2)
this is just my opinion and that too from my experience.
a laptop is an investment put the money in the right place

go for vostro range if you already have an xp with u.

even inspiron is in your range.

feel free to pm me for any more questions
motorheadinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2008, 14:40   #1108
BHPian
 
funkydevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 358
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
The configuration is an overkill for the purpose that you have mentioned. But power is never enough. Go for it!
Hey buddy,

Just one more question, which would be a better performing processor, an AMD or an Intel in terms of performance, heat generation and VFM.

Thanks
funkydevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2008, 16:39   #1109
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Both are good at what they do. But, personally, I would go for Intel core 2 duo over AMD. AMD is still trying to catch up on this front.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2008, 17:50   #1110
BHPian
 
gopz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 452
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Both are good at what they do. But, personally, I would go for Intel core 2 duo over AMD. AMD is still trying to catch up on this front.
The most recent AMD processors do not heat up, unlike popular belief. And we dont even utilize more than 5% of the CPU's capability for regular tasks like browsing, email, etc, so unless you do some video editing or extensive graphics work, a powerful CPU will be just a waste of money. For gamers, the GPU is more important than a CPU.

If your laptop is for basic stuff like word processing, music, movies and internet, then I suggest you get an AMD and save some money over Intel C2D.

Agreed, the Penryn is slightly cooler than AMD (unlike the older AMD processors which used to heat up a LOT), but rather, invest the difference amount on a bigger hardrive. But again, it all boils down to personal preferences!

I have a Dell XPS m1330 with a Penryn, but I find that this laptop heats up too.
gopz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6619 11th December 2017 14:11
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks