Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th August 2008, 11:08   #1261
BHPian
 
motorheadinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: University of Bath
Posts: 282
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Since going wireless, I have been using my M1530 laptop most of the time placed on my lap. And does this guy heat up! Even though the core temperature are being maintained at 45'C, it get very difficult to place on the lap and continue using.

Also noticed that the palm rest also gets heated up. Has anyone else faced this?
Everyone faces the same issue.
The main culprit is that heat sink gets blocked when you place the laptop on your lap.
Also you should refrain from doing the same as this can have adverse effects on your health.
Read this: Bad Effects on Having Laptop on Your Lap
motorheadinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2008, 12:24   #1262
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post
...The main culprit is that heat sink gets blocked when you place the laptop on your lap...
I try to make sure that this does not happen by placing the laptop close to my knees and legs a bit spread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post
...Also you should refrain from doing the same as this can have adverse effects on your health.
Read this: Bad Effects on Having Laptop on Your Lap
ooohh my....
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 14:53   #1263
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,873
Thanked: 2,431 Times
Default

I have HP pavilion Laptop which came with 1 GB ram.

I was planning to upgrade the RAM, since the current ram is 512 X 2 the plan was to get single 2 gb card so that total would be 2.5 gb.

I went to my vendor & he said that he would give me 1gb X 2 cards for Rs1050 in exchange of my existing ram.

I think its a good deal. Any views?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 14:59   #1264
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
I have HP pavilion Laptop which came with 1 GB ram.

I was planning to upgrade the RAM, since the current ram is 512 X 2 the plan was to get single 2 gb card so that total would be 2.5 gb.

I went to my vendor & he said that he would give me 1gb X 2 cards for Rs1050 in exchange of my existing ram.

I think its a good deal. Any views?
What's the actual price of it, and which one are you exchanging with what. I guess HP gives samsung RAM in Pavilion.

If you take my opinion, take 2 +1 GB = 3GB as Vista Home premium (32Bit) support Max of 3 GB , unless you have 64Bit Vista which supports upto 4GB. AS upgrading to 2 GB will not make noticiable changes to performance. I did the same by upgrading to 2GB with not much +ive improvement in performance.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 15:05   #1265
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,873
Thanked: 2,431 Times
Default

Thanks Sam,

Mine is the 64 bit one. The system works fine its the boot up which takes time(I am aware of all the start up programs so thats fine) & when multiple applications are working it becomes slightly slow.

I asked him about Ram & he said it would be of same speed as the stock one(667 me thinks) should I insist on a particular brand?

I would eventually upgrade to 4 Gb but not just yet, 2Gb is just fine for me now & the offer given works out to be cheaper than buying a 2 gb module straight away
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 15:58   #1266
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Cool, then I would say look at 1 stick of 2GB, so that in future you can go for another one. For specific questions to RAM upgrade look at this site : Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com look at memory adivsory tool, though the site is from US, but it can help you to find the right memory for your Baby.
Here I would say look for RAM on which you are getting lifetime warranty etc. That way you are safe.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 16:07   #1267
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,873
Thanked: 2,431 Times
Default

Thanks for the reference site.

He is quoting me 3k for a 2 gb Memory module which is too high for just 512mb extra(i.e. between the two schemes)
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 16:16   #1268
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

That's true 2 GB sticks are always costly, due to less in demand. Try negotiating or see if you get something on ebay.in, but they will not be under warranty etc.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 16:19   #1269
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,873
Thanked: 2,431 Times
Default

Thanks Sam I will check out ebay & other options.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 19:23   #1270
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,649
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default

Anyone with a Asus Eee PC in here?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 19:36   #1271
BHPian
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 455
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Anyone with a Asus Eee PC in here?
I have a Pearl White ASUS 4G surf (+8GB SD Card & 1 GB RAM). Tried converting it to XP, it was too slow so I switched back to the Linux OS and it is back to speed.

Don't use it much other than surfing the net at home. The only gripe is the screen size that was too small on the earlier models. Would have loved a 10" screen instead.
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2008, 01:24   #1272
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

i've seen the ASUS eepc 1000 here in noida. The screen is slightly bigger and the finishing is much better but no SSD here 80GB HDD so i think it will be slow
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2008, 11:31   #1273
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,873
Thanked: 2,431 Times
Default

Quote:
Tried converting it to XP, it was too slow so I switched back to the Linux OS and it is back to speed.
Did you switch off Pagefile option for speedy performance with XP?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2008, 13:24   #1274
BHPian
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 455
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Did you switch off Pagefile option for speedy performance with XP?
Tried that yes, it was still no match to the original OS, which loads in less than 10 secs. The installation was done by my sysadmin so I am sure he would also have tried the other tweaks discussed on the Eee User Forum.
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2008, 22:46   #1275
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

i checked out the EEEPC 1000H model today @ nehru place. This model has a 10" screen and a 1.6mhz intel atom processor. Comes with XP SP3 loaded. The system was very zippy. And the Finishing of the device was very good. Its retailing for 25K with b/w in nehruplace.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6585 19th October 2017 20:34
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks