Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th August 2008, 15:43   #1276
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Guys,i am looking for a new laptop under 30k.My requirements are...

1.Screen size 14"-15.4"

2.good battery life

3.DVD drive(not combo)

4.Any OS (can i use previous laptop's OEM Window Vista here.I have its recovery dvd and i read somewhere that full OS can be installed from recovery dvd?
In-fact can i just use this laptop's HDD in new one?)
5.wifi card

Main use is for net and dvd (not movies but some video lectures) watching.

Quote:
i checked out the EEEPC 1000H model today @ nehru place. This model has a 10" screen and a 1.6mhz intel atom processor. Comes with XP SP3 loaded. The system was very zippy. And the Finishing of the device was very good. Its retailing for 25K with b/w in nehruplace.
aza,did u operate it?How was it like?

Last edited by rsjaurr : 30th August 2008 at 15:50.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2008, 00:31   #1277
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

yes i operated it, it was nice and smooth but 10" screen is very small for extended use. but the device is very well finished glossy exteriors and firm keys. 23,800 was todays cost.

Btw i bought a ACER 5920 for my college work today.

1.8 C2D
2gb ram
15", dvd rw etc.

i've just loaded vista ultimate on it and its working like charm.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2008, 22:44   #1278
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Thanx aza.

But i bought Dell Vostro 1400 for 34.5k.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 00:31   #1279
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

rsj whats the config like ? 34K is a good price. but does it including the carry case also?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 01:56   #1280
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
rsj whats the config like ? 34K is a good price. but does it including the carry case also?

C2D1.80GHz
2GB memory
160GB HDD
14.1" WXGA screen
DVD-RW
Intel wifi
4-in-1 card reader
Express crad slot
4 USB+1 1394 ports
intel integrated graphics
along with nice carry case
But No OS.

for 34.5k

and as usual having problem surfing net through wifi router.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 7th September 2008 at 01:58.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 02:15   #1281
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

15.4" is heavy to carry around is what i'm feeling now

rsj : what OS u using now ? and whats the problem ?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 10:15   #1282
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 699
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
and as usual having problem surfing net through wifi router.
What is the problem?
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 10:25   #1283
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,573
Thanked: 363 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quicksilver View Post
Tried that yes, it was still no match to the original OS, which loads in less than 10 secs. The installation was done by my sysadmin so I am sure he would also have tried the other tweaks discussed on the Eee User Forum.
Installation by these sysadmin folks may be slower than installations that we do. Major difference may be that, they mostly do an unattended setup, or probably put image of the OS which was already made for the same cofiguration. Somehow, they end up at crawling speeds, especially after booting for few minutes.

Another problem is that, most of 'em will have only one partition! and thats not a good idea at all to have a single partition for the entire 80 GB or 160 GB.

If I have two partitions, what I would do, while installing the OS is to put the pagefile in drive D (assuming OS is in drive C). This has to be done as the first operation after a complete format of drive D, and the page file size has to be fixed. (Don't give a range like 2500 MB - 4700 MB) 1.5 times of RAM size would be ideal.

My friend's brand new IBM thinkpad T61 crawls with an XP installation. Installation was done over network by admin folks. It has single partition for the entire 160 GB or so.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 09:44   #1284
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
15.4" is heavy to carry around is what i'm feeling now

rsj : what OS u using now ? and whats the problem ?

A guy working at the place from where i bought laptop installed window Vista basic instead xp.

Previous laptop had OEM Vista HP installed but Vista basic is just useless.
I will switch back to XP once i get some time.
Regarding OS problem you should be able to guess right now.

This is good laptop but i now i am thinking that i should have gone for desktop with low-medium graphic card coz i play games atleast 3-4hrs a week.

@Gill-Almost same what i had a month back trying to surf via wifi router and not wired but i should be able to do it right within next few days.
@aza-how much did you pay for acer5920 and which graphic card it has?

Last edited by rsjaurr : 8th September 2008 at 09:46.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 09:56   #1285
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,649
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default

Bought Compaq V3425 for 28k. Got a lap bag and a mobile free with it.

I should be checking out Acer One in a day or so.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 13:19   #1286
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Recently saw a LG RS200, sporting Intel T7300, 1GB DDR2 (low point), 160GB, HD2400 , 12" screen at Chroma for 40k! I dont know why they were selling it for 40k??
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 02:33   #1287
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
.
@aza-how much did you pay for acer5920 and which graphic card it has?
rsj i paid 36K in total, i think it has a intel x3100 in the name of a graphics card, pretty basic i think for gaming purposes. but screen looks very nice now that all the drivers loaded.


btw last i check 8600GT 512mb was going 3500 so yes you should have gone for a desktop i think.


my next purchase is gonna be caselogic sleeve and 160/250gb portable hdd
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 23:40   #1288
Newbie
 
nikhilr87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panjim-Goa
Posts: 14
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

guys are there any sites for dell coupons which can be used in India?!
could only find U.S based ones till now..
nikhilr87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 22:48   #1289
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 699
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Any views on Lenovo thinkpad sl 500?What could be the expected price range in india.
The site give option of blu ray dics but i can't see any options on customisation.
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 00:31   #1290
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 699
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Vostro 1510 or Latitude E5500?

I Have shortlisted following two laptops:-
Vostro 1510
LatitudeE5500
The two main reasons i have shortlisted dell is:-Customisation and Acc cover.
Now E5500, with C2d 7250,4 gb ram,80 GB HDD,8x Dvd rw,3 yrs complete cover,Bluetooth,wifilink5300,Win Xp downgrade,GPU-X4500 is Costing me Rs 70k after discounts of rs 2782(4%vat wavier)

Vosrto 1510 with C2d T8100,4 gb ram ,120 gb HDD,8400GS GPU,8x dvd rw,3 yrs complete cover,bluetooth,Vista home has been quoted at around 58k.
I want to buy a product which will ensure peace of mind and realiability.
I am keen for latitude,but i am not convinced fully as to why i should go for it,what is the difference between two?
Is the price difference between the two models cause of brand premium only or ...?
Suggestions will be apreciated!
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6574 16th October 2017 10:12
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks