Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th January 2009, 22:00   #1396
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,675
Thanked: 1,426 Times
Default

I dont know if this is relevant here or not, but I am posting a link to download downgrade drivers of sony vaio laptops. One of my friends had to downgrade to XP for which he had paid, but could not locate the drivers.
Here is the link:
Windows XP Downgrade drivers : Useful Information : Sony Asia Pacific
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 00:07   #1397
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

A friend uses a 1330 while I use a 1530. Cons are that the screen is smaller (I prefer at least a 15" screen) and is more expensive than the 1530. Other than that it's a good machine.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 23:47   #1398
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Hard disk query

I have a 2004 model Compaq Presario 2584AI laptop. The config is:
Intel Pentium P4 2.4 Ghz
512 MB RAM
30 GB HDD

1. I would like to upgrade the HDD to preferably 320 GB or 500 GB, but I am unsure about the compatibility. How can I check what is the maximum amount of hard disk that my laptop can take?

2. Also, what type would be needed? SATA or IDE?

3. I recently bought 512 MBx2 modules of DDR 333 PC 2700 RAM. MY previous installed RAM was 256 MBx2 modules DDR 266 PC 2100. However, the laptop did not boot up upon installing the new RAM, so I had to return to the old RAM. What could have been the issue?

WHich RAM module should I now buy? I checked with the user manual and figured that it can take a maximum of 1 GB RAM in 2 modules.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 01:50   #1399
BHPian
 
shiva_cool87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

How is the new Dell 12 ??
shiva_cool87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 11:08   #1400
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
I have a 2004 model Compaq Presario 2584AI laptop. The config is:
Intel Pentium P4 2.4 Ghz
512 MB RAM
30 GB HDD

1. I would like to upgrade the HDD to preferably 320 GB or 500 GB, but I am unsure about the compatibility. How can I check what is the maximum amount of hard disk that my laptop can take?

2. Also, what type would be needed? SATA or IDE?

3. I recently bought 512 MBx2 modules of DDR 333 PC 2700 RAM. MY previous installed RAM was 256 MBx2 modules DDR 266 PC 2100. However, the laptop did not boot up upon installing the new RAM, so I had to return to the old RAM. What could have been the issue?

WHich RAM module should I now buy? I checked with the user manual and figured that it can take a maximum of 1 GB RAM in 2 modules.
1. It can verified with manual. I suppose it should support 160GB at the max with ease.

2. It must be IDE, as sata thingy in notebooks was pretty new at that time.

3. You should try to pick DDR266 RAM modules only if you do not want to do any type of hit and trial thingy.


Cheers
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 11:22   #1401
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
1. It can verified with manual. I suppose it should support 160GB at the max with ease.
I think the max supported will be 120 GB, due to the 48 bit LBA issue!

And of course, IDE only. SATA socket will not be there in that laptop.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 11:50   #1402
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
I think the max supported will be 120 GB, due to the 48 bit LBA issue!

And of course, IDE only. SATA socket will not be there in that laptop.
Yes... it should support 120GB at the Max !!
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2009, 18:22   #1403
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

Bought a new Compaq laptop, Dual Core with all the bells & whistles for 32k.
Got XP installed, lappy is running good.
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 01:21   #1404
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

one of my friends is looking for a new laptop (to be bought in US), however he will be taking to India after that. what is the best brand in terms of after sales support network?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 03:10   #1405
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
one of my friends is looking for a new laptop (to be bought in US), however he will be taking to India after that. what is the best brand in terms of after sales support network?
Dell rules here
but make sure he has international warranty for support in india.
also make sure that service tag transfers are done.
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 17:22   #1406
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,226
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Dell rules here
but make sure he has international warranty for support in india.
also make sure that service tag transfers are done.
Also he needs to bargain hard for international warranty as its not less than 250 or 300$ in most cases.
harry10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 18:52   #1407
BHPian
 
Mr_Bean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 844
Thanked: 130 Times
Default Laptop - no display

Guys, I powered on my laptop today morning, I noticed that the display is blank & not working. Does it have something to do with BIOS.

Btw I can see the green light blinking on the connected ethernet cable but there is no display.

Need your help on this.

cheers:
Mr_Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 19:06   #1408
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,678
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

I am getting an Acer Aspire One for my wifee tomorow. Main usage is wi-fi browsing at home (emails, messengers, voice chat etc.) and MS Office/PDF components for her work. Present offer is 15600 for Linux OS with 1 GB RAM and 160 GB HDD. Should I stick to Linux OS or prefer Win XP Home ? I have an original Win XP Pro installation CD which I had bought for my home desktop 1 year back. Can I install Win XP Pro myself (if you suggest Win XP OS better) using my original CD or ask the showroom to install XP Home duplicate (comes free) ? Experts please advise ! Thanks.
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 20:03   #1409
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Also he needs to bargain hard for international warranty as its not less than 250 or 300$ in most cases.
thanks guys. I did tell him to try and get a lappy from india, but dell India has very limited variety online. And we have no idea what retail stores will offer.

Does anybody know how much will a dell XPS 1330 will cost in India?
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 22:08   #1410
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,226
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
thanks guys. I did tell him to try and get a lappy from india, but dell India has very limited variety online. And we have no idea what retail stores will offer.

Does anybody know how much will a dell XPS 1330 will cost in India?
WC mate and XPS M1330 has been stopped by dell. Now Studio XPS 13 comes instead which is around 59000 INR. Configuration is better than 1330 as well.
harry10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "NEW" Car Price Check Thread - Track Price Changes, Discounts, Offers & Deals black12rr The Indian Car Scene 6619 11th December 2017 14:11
The Camcorder thread : Tech, deals and specs adityapd Gadgets, Computers & Software 121 25th April 2014 17:03
New Civic 1.8V AT. Questions questions... ImmortalZ Sedans 6 12th June 2008 09:49
Help in configs - Gift Laptop Jr Godzilla Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th January 2008 11:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:43.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks