Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2010, 17:50   #16
BHPian
 
Antonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: KL (6+1)
Posts: 105
Thanked: Once
Default

Check Micromax Q5C, G-fone 588 -These are hansets having price below 5K. You can try for some good deals of imported handsets like Blackberry, HTC, palm, at www.cellwala.com
Antonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2010, 17:58   #17
BHPian
 
praful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 977
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

I've been using a HTC Touch Pro on Reliance CDMA for the past 8 months. Works like a charm, data speeds are better than most other service providers, barring the 3G heroes.

Only issue with using such an handset is that it is next to impossible to fix the handset if something screws up. For example: I spent a fairly large amount to procure this phone, worked fine till about 8 months. Then one fine day a issue cropped up and it was diagnosed to be a H/W issue. HTC India does not support these phones. I just need a part (B2B connector) for my phone to fix it. But its been about 2 months breaking my head in trying to source this. :(
praful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2010, 19:35   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 161
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
Korea is now move to 3.5G which is HSUPA and HSDPA combined. So if you have handset which support 3.5G then it can work on both network. I have SamsunG Jet which works in India's GSM network as well as in Korea. I have Korean SIM card from KTF and both places it works fine.

Also my Indian international roaming works in Korea with SKT and KTF (there are only two networks in Korea) works flawlessly.
India already has 3G and 3.5G courtesy MTNL and BSNL. Speeds easily reach 3 Mbps to almost 4 Mbps in good coverage areas.
xotiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2010, 15:20   #19
BHPian
 
IndianNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 150
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonian View Post
Check Micromax Q5C, G-fone 588 -These are hansets having price below 5K. You can try for some good deals of imported handsets like Blackberry, HTC, palm, at www.cellwala.com
I had contacted cellwala.com, they got BlackBerry in stock with very attractive price, new imported handsets. The only problem is data services are not available on CDMA network. So the BlackBerry can be only used for calls and SMS.

Micromax Q5C and G-fone 588 looks pretty attractive but after going through specifications I noticed that you cannot configure email accounts in these.
IndianNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2010, 15:22   #20
BHPian
 
praful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 977
Thanked: 410 Times
Default

Data services are very much available on the CDMA network, infact on reliance I have much faster data speeds compared to most other non 3G data service providers.

The availability of data services varies from phone to phone.
praful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2010, 15:42   #21
BHPian
 
IndianNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 150
Thanked: 34 Times
Default

BlackBerry handsets which are available at cellwala.com does not support data services, thats why there is a huge price difference.
IndianNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2010, 10:57   #22
BHPian
 
dr.faramroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valsad/Mumbai
Posts: 155
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Currently I am using Palm Treo 755P on Reliance since last 3 years, I want to change it to Samsung Omnia CDMA or Samsung Corby CDMA. I love Reliance CDMA, its quality and reliability. The network service has never let me down.
dr.faramroze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2011, 10:52   #23
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,584 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

I am reviving this thread for some updates:

The major operators on CDMA are Reliance, Tata and MTS. Reliance is now allowing registration of foreign MEIDs and so integrating them into the system. On the other hand Tata is not allowing any foreign MEID registrations (they apparently died allow for a short time).

OMH handsets are appearing in the mid Range (Samsung Galaxy Pop - CDMA). Of course the high end has still to be bought through the importers, who are now selling MEID registered units for Reliance.

There have been some vague rumours about iPhone CDMA being even on the OMH platform, but I doubt them. iPhone CDMA yes, but with OMH very improbable.

In the number portability the maximum loss has been to BSNL (GSM). Reliance has lost a lot of GSM and also a significant numbers of CDMA users. The biggest gainer - Vodafone. Airtel have gained a lot but also lost a lot. For its size Aircel has done well.

Let me add that HSPA and the lot on GSM is also through WCDMA!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2014, 11:48   #24
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,501
Thanked: 80,105 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

Finally, there are plentiful official options for high-end CDMA smartphones (link)!

I got the HTC One dual-sim (CDMA & GSM) from Reliance. Thought of leaving a quick review in case it helps other CDMA users.

What I like:

Always in range. CDMA is unbeatable for network coverage. I live right by the beach; CDMA works like a breeze here (GSM = poor network). Basements, elevators...you name it, a CDMA phone is always reachable.

• Because of the dual-sim, I'm always connected, no matter where I am. In rural areas where CDMA doesn't have network coverage, Vodafone GSM (my other SIM) does. I've set up call-forwarding from one SIM to another (if unreachable).

• Official high-end smartphone with bill & warranty. This was always a sore point for CDMA users who had to depend on hacked USA phones earlier. These hacked phones come with a fair share of bugs & complications.

• Got all the updates. Not a single bug noticed so far. Android has truly evolved. I much prefer it to the iPhone's interface.

• Far cheaper. My bill for calls, data & SMS was anyway in the range of 1,300 - 1,500. For 1,200 more each month (over 24 months), I get an HTC One. Net cost of the phone is 28K. I went for the outright option and thus, the handset cost for me was ~22K only.

• Excellent hardware. No sluggish'ness noticed at all, even if I run a lot of apps.

• Decent battery life. Lasts me the entire day with heavy call usage.

What I don't like:

• I know people love big screens, yet I find the phone way too big. Getting used to it, but always miss the more compact size of my earlier phones.

• The HTC One dual-sim is on the heavier side. If you're looking at a light phone, this one isn't for you.

• With heavy usage, the metal back cover heats up (due to the battery). It's noticeably warm after watching videos (as an example).

• With heavy display & EVDO usage, the battery runs dry by the evening.

The LG G2 has superior battery life and is much lighter too. If it came with a dual-sim, that would probably be my pick over the HTC One.

Last edited by GTO : 23rd June 2014 at 11:50.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2014, 09:09   #25
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,584 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

I finally switched out of RCom for two reasons. Too many call drops (I now learn that Reliance GSM in MP is equally prone - remember they bought out RPG one of the oldest) and more impportant no data connectivity for over two months. So I am now on Vodafone, and not really enjoying it, since I have been trying to get ISD on my phones for a month and no one seems to know. The IVRS on 111 is a joke, no way to talk to a person, to sort out unusual issues. Connectivity is excellent with almost no drops.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2014, 11:39   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
So I am now on Vodafone, and not really enjoying it, since I have been trying to get ISD on my phones for a month and no one seems to know.
SMS "ACT ISD" to 111 and ISD should be activated. If security deposit is less than 2000, you might be asked to increase the security deposit.

This is a list of self service codes on vodafone:

ACT BIR to 111 to activate Basic International Roaming (requires Rs.1500 deposit)
ACT CC to 111 to activate Call Conference
ACT CF to 111 to activate Call Forwarding
ACT CH to 111 to activate Call Hold
ACT CLIP to 111 to activate Caller Line Identification
ACT HISD to 111 to make ISD calls from your home network without paying any deposits
ACT IB to 111 to get an itemised bill
ACT IR to 111 to activate International Roaming
ACT ISD to 111 to activate ISD
ACT NR to 111 to activate National Roaming
ACT STD to 111 to activate STD
ACT VL to 111 to activate Vodafone Live! (requires phone with GPRS)
ACT VMS to 111 to activate Voicemail
ACT VR to 111 to activate Vodafone Roaming


BESTDEAL to 144 for info on Bonus Cards
BEST FIT to 111 find the talkplan that best suits your needs
BILL to 111 to get bill details like amount, unbilled amount, payment due date and more
CHQ <cheque number> <amount> to advance clear dropped cheque
EBILL <email id> to 111 to get bill by SMS
EMAIL <email id> to 111 to register your email address with Vodafone
LBILL to 111 to get SMS about how to get your bill in one of nine regional languages
START DND to 1909 to block promotional calls and SMSes from Vodafone (takes up to 45 days)
STORE <area name> <city name> to 111 to find your nearest Vodafone Store, Mini Store or Self Service Kiosk
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2014, 11:54   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,038
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

I think after 10 years of staying on same network, Reliance is actively trying to suggest me to port out to other operators.

The main factor is the phone availability. So many GSM phones are available at great prices, and for CDMA, either we are stuck with crap phones or overpriced phones. There is absolutely no mid range option available. Samsung is out of the CDMA market. Also, their process of shifting mobile number form one set to other is nothing short of government office, where we must visit their webworld. I visited Pune Koregaon park webworld thrice, once at 1pm, second at 2pm, surprisingly their Lunch time lasts 2 hours! In the evening, all were in the mood of leaving at 7pm, so obviously they were least interested in customer.

I may mostly jump to Idea network.
ani_meher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2014, 17:14   #28
BHPian
 
roamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 64
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

@ani_meher Do check out the link shop.rcom.co.in
Reliance is offering quite number of CDMA smartphones with warranty with Unlimited plan options.
roamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2014, 17:44   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Finally, there are plentiful official options for high-end CDMA smartphones (link)!
Dear Rush

Every 3G+ (3.5/LTE blah blah blah) "GSM" handset is also a CDMA handset. The perception that the CDMA network is better is therefore probably one of personal experience at your location.

If you're on 3G, HSPA or LTE, you're on a WCDMA network - it could be an FDD-CDMA (most places in the rest of the world) or a TD-CDMA network (which is what the couple of Indian operators and all the Chinese ones are on, but are moving to FDD as and when they buy better spectrum).

Essentially, the CDMA/GSM debate is no longer relevant. Stick to the network that gives you the best experience - its the network, not the technology.

Last edited by Steeroid : 24th June 2014 at 17:46.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 15:37   #30
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,584 Times
Default Re: CDMA : Phones, compatibility and so on

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
SMS "ACT ISD" to 111 and ISD should be activated. If security deposit is less than 2000, you might be asked to increase the security deposit.
Now the sms is Act HISD (HISD is Home ISD, ie outgoing only). I finally contacted the franchisee since 111 was a pucca IVRS with no route to a human. I called 198 and was advised to move a letter, with Rs.2000 deposit,a nd provide a photoid/address proof and a photograph. I went to the franchisee, and the lady checked and asked my to deposit 500 (as my credit limit was 2xxx and below 2500). She also check and said that I can get HISD on my other phone likewise, but I will have to deposit at the Voda store, and not a franchisee. So went to a brand new Voda store (in an old Reliance Store premises) talked to the rep, he said I will have to deposit Rs.1000 per phone. So I gave him 2000 for both, his boss said no additional deposit is required, their net was down, so I left Rs.2000 with the red just in case. Then next day HISD was activated, and this morning he returned to 2k at a agreed place near my home (saved me an 18km round trip). So in the end it turned out decent, and helpful. I does however seem they make rules as they go along!!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata Indicom ?..GSM or CDMA ?..please guide for International Travel to India.. srasania Gadgets, Computers & Software 18 5th November 2008 09:44
Transfer of Phone book from CDMA hand set to normal handset. snaronikar Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 18th June 2008 09:23
Compatibility of Viper 3-Channel Security System with Keyless Entry anachronix Modifications & Accessories 6 31st January 2008 11:01
How to connect a CDMA FWP and the intra-apartment intercom gbpscars Shifting gears 2 3rd September 2007 14:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks