Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th October 2009, 18:59   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,742
Thanked: 65 Times
Default USB giving trouble

On one of my PCs, every time I try to copy some data to my pen drive, it takes a long time to initialize and then it either:

1. gives an error saying "Error copying file or folder. Cannot find the specified file. Make sure you specify the correct path and file name."

2. or it takes about 2 minutes to copy about 10MB of data.

What could be the problem? I have about 6 USB ports on the machine, and this happens with all of them. I am using a Microsoft Wireless Desktop over one of the ports and that works just fine. It's the pen drive that is giving trouble. The pen drive works perfectly fine on all my other machines. The pen drive is a 16GB Data Traveler, btw.

Things I have already tried:

1. Formatting the pen drive
2. Trying to update driver on those USB ports (the wizard can't find anything better than what is already installed.)
3. Disabling and enabling the USB from the device manager. (Here I disabled one by one until the second last port which was being used for the Wireless Desktop also was disabled and I was left with no way to operate the machine. Luckily there was one working USB port, thanks to which I could re-enable everything else.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 20:48   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

^^^ whats the mobo. Is it usb 2.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 20:59   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Do you have any anti-virus active on this machine that governs USB also? The infra guys in my office use a Symantec version for conveniently preventing copying via USB (security policy in our organization).

The first error seems to be a source file error.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 21:08   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,742
Thanked: 65 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
^^^ whats the mobo. Is it usb 2.
I don't know which MoBo it is. I do know it's an AMD Athlon Dual Core processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Do you have any anti-virus active on this machine that governs USB also? The infra guys in my office use a Symantec version for conveniently preventing copying via USB (security policy in our organization).

The first error seems to be a source file error.
I am using Kaspersky Internet Security 2009. As I said, I am sometimes able to copy small amounts of data (although it takes a lot of time), or if I try to copy a large amount of data, it sometimes partly gets copied. The rest of it is corrupted.

I know it shows a source file error. But it does this for just about any file I am trying to copy!
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 21:17   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Do you have a spare HDD? if you fo, disconnect all other HDD and connect the spare, install Windows afresh. See if the USB works fine in the fresh install (even before you install *ANY* drivers). And then work your way up to what you install that causes the problem.

If the fresh install has the problem too, try a different version (Vista/ 7) of Windows...
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 21:29   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

^^^ you don't need to do that. DOwnload any live windows cd like Hiren boot, etc and try the thing that Pho3n!x has mentioned.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2009, 08:48   #7
BHPian
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 53
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Try logging into that workstation as a different user (with Admin rights) and check if the USB works normally. Sometimes, it may be a windows profile issue.
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2009, 09:55   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Try another pendrive.

Also, download and install another AV like NOD32 (reboot after installing) and check if there is a resident worm that Kaspersky might have missed. I had a similar issue where Symantec never figured out there was a worm, but NOD32 promptly discovered the infection. (NOD32 coexists with other AV packages)

There is also a Windows malware detection update you could check out.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB/iPod support for a OEM HU w/o USB Support MadRash In-Car Entertainment 26 2nd August 2014 00:40
What discounts are Hyundai giving? ajmat The Indian Car Scene 20 6th March 2010 22:07
Ferrari/Shell giving out free stickers! lamborghini Shifting gears 76 3rd March 2010 10:37
External USB Jack for my Non USB HU thedreamcatcher In-Car Entertainment 10 25th March 2009 13:10
Giving NFS 5 a new life......... Shan2nu Shifting gears 5 10th November 2004 05:49


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:22.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks