Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd October 2009, 23:00   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

guess its a DDr1 which is very expensive now.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2009, 09:07   #17
BHPian
 
joecherian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 547
Thanked: 78 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leadf00t View Post
joe, the best option is to upgrade the RAM as per lenovo's site ur machien support 2GB ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comrade View Post
A quick google search says that IBM Thinkcentre E50 (9215) is minitower (374x458mm). So, in all probability, you are having a micro-ATX mobo (244 x 244 mm). Just throw away (err, sell for peanuts) your old cpu+mobo+ram and get new ones. You would be fine for another 4/5 years.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
guess its a DDr1 which is very expensive now.
Thanks guys. yesterday, I went to Sogo Computers for the RAM upgrade. Mine is 400 Mhz DDR1 RAM and current price for 1 GB stick is 1950 + 4% VAT.
So finally ended up getting the I GB RAM and it now lives happily with the existing 256 MB RAM. System speed has increased considerably and now, I feel I can use it more often.
Thanks guys for all the help.
joecherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2009, 14:59   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

i told you thats more than the price of DDr2 2gb stick.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2009, 15:03   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panaji - Goa/Bangalore - Karnataka
Posts: 3,240
Thanked: 600 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecherian View Post
and mother board can support only 1 GB.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecherian View Post
So finally ended up getting the I GB RAM and it now lives happily with the existing 256 MB RAM.
How?

The system supports uptil 2 GB and has 2 slots like i said before.

DDR1 is frightfully costly in this age and time.
Spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2009, 15:35   #20
BHPian
 
joecherian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 547
Thanked: 78 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
How?

The system supports uptil 2 GB and has 2 slots like i said before.

DDR1 is frightfully costly in this age and time.
well, I think I made confusing posts. My PC could support 2 GB RAM ( 1GB * 2 sticks as it has 2 slots)

But due to the high price, I settled for 1 GB ( bought 1 GB stick and put it in the empty slot next to the existing 256 MB RAM)

WIth this itself, I could see significant improvement in performance.
joecherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD password break for IBM Laptop-- Help Needed invincible7 Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 6th June 2009 01:10
IBM Thinkpad LCD replacement KPGB Gadgets, Computers & Software 18 14th May 2009 10:51
Honda to use IBM and Dassault services for their formula-1 car navdeep The International Automotive Scene 1 5th April 2007 08:25
IBM Raid controller Card Required Ford Rocam Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 26th November 2005 14:45
Fiat + Ibm hasopi The International Automotive Scene 1 1st July 2005 16:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks