Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st July 2005, 22:14   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Caribe Removal

guys i've finally got the Nokia 6630 for Rs.14,500. And the very same day while using bluetooth handsfree, the virus got into the mobile. Noq i've got the Antivirus for Caribe, but am not able to send it to the fone via bluetooth. Anyone know how i can get this DAMN thing off my moblie :(
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2005, 22:24   #2
BHPian
 
varun_patra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 469
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I think it would be wise enough if you would replace the bluetooth handsfree device from the person u got it from! he would be able to help you !
varun_patra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2005, 01:47   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
X-Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mumbai/Tokyo
Posts: 1,476
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Try formatting the phone ASAP.If the virus is strong enough,it will damage the internals which will have to be replaced.If you phone is covered under warranty,give it to the Nokia care centre.
Also,do save all you contacts and important information as everything will be razed off.

X
X-Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2005, 03:03   #4
BHPian
 
gr8guzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 648
Thanked: 38 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthik247
guys i've finally got the Nokia 6630 for Rs.14,500. And the very same day while using bluetooth handsfree, the virus got into the mobile. Noq i've got the Antivirus for Caribe, but am not able to send it to the fone via bluetooth. Anyone know how i can get this DAMN thing off my moblie :(
You can disinfect the system manually by installing a file manager application and manually deleting these files:

c:\system\apps\caribe\caribe.rsc
c:\system\apps\caribe\caribe.app
c:\system\apps\caribe\flo.mdl
c:\system\recogs\flo.mdl
c:\system\symbiansecuredata\caribesecuritymanager\ caribe.app
c:\system\symbiansecuredata\caribesecuritymanager\ caribe.rsc

Cheers!!!
gr8guzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2005, 21:49   #5
BHPian
 
nikibusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vikhroli - (Mumbai)
Posts: 714
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

manually deleting the file wont help because even i had faced the same problem a year ago when i bought my nokia 3660 and got it infected the third day itself.finally i had to get the software formatted.thats the last option.
nikibusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2005, 22:51   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

try making HARD RESET your mobile.

Quote:
If the virus is strong enough,it will damage the internals which will have to be replaced
Virus is a software, same like any software you install in your mobile
so there is no chance that hardware will get damaged, but chances are that all data will be gone
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 17:58   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Pardon my ignorance, but how do you know when your phone has a virus? (assuming you do not have a virusscanner on the phone.) ?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 18:20   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

so much for the term "smart" phone!
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 19:25   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan
Pardon my ignorance, but how do you know when your phone has a virus? (assuming you do not have a virusscanner on the phone.) ?

cya
R
generally mobile phone start to act wierd
mobile viruses are made with a soul purpose of distroying users data, so you can easily get to know

Quote:
so much for the term "smart" phone!
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2005, 21:54   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I got the antivirus from F-Secure and managed to transfer to the mobile, and after than its very easy to get it off.

And u can know if ur fone has a virus by pressing the menu button for 2-3seconds. When u do that it'll display all the progs that are open., and the virus if its there
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 18:37   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthik247
And u can know if ur fone has a virus by pressing the menu button for 2-3seconds. When u do that it'll display all the progs that are open., and the virus if its there
Hahaha...ok...smart phone, dumb virus
Sure dont make em like they used to!

Thanks adya33 as well.
cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2005, 21:22   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
khanak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai/Toronto
Posts: 2,735
Thanked: 127 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan
Pardon my ignorance, but how do you know when your phone has a virus? (assuming you do not have a virusscanner on the phone.) ?

cya
R
Actually Caribe didnt come from your handsfree but from another bluetooth user. Caribe spreads from phone to phone via bluetooth so you should be careful as to from who you accept files. You know that your phone is affected when it starts sending out the caribe file automatically
khanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2005, 00:35   #13
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 5 Times
Default F-Secure mobile anti-virus

Go to this site
http://www.f-secure.com/wireless/download/
Download the sis file for the 6 series mobile and install it via a computer into your phone and scan and remove virus ...
Or use the removal tool for caribe virus on the following url
http://mobile.f-secure.com/downloads.html
Cheers
EVO6

Last edited by EVO6 : 6th August 2005 at 00:48.
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2005, 08:09   #14
BHPian
 
BuRnT RuBbEr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: DL 1
Posts: 367
Thanked: 11 Times
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33


Virus is a software, same like any software you install in your mobile
so there is no chance that hardware will get damaged, but chances are that all data will be gone
it can damage the hardware...if the IMEI number is flashed....nothing but a base card replacement will work. if the sim card is corrupted, nothing but a replacement needs to be done.......

viruses can be strong..especially if they are degined through a low level interface. I can say this ..because I know how to make one

so i suggest, save the data, go to nokia priority cum service centre, get the phone flashed....they wont charge a penny if it is in warranty
BuRnT RuBbEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windshield Scratches removal DRC Technical Stuff 86 10th October 2016 19:30
Rattle Removal Buffetfan Technical Stuff 101 22nd April 2012 00:13
Face-Plate removal works? willy In-Car Entertainment 22 4th August 2006 11:53
spark plug removal issue - Palio 1.2 philipreji Technical Stuff 0 8th July 2006 20:00
Get Rid of ADWARE - Microsoft's Adware removal tool! Rehaan Shifting gears 9 20th January 2005 03:46


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:55.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks