Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th November 2009, 01:12   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 61
Thanked: Once
Default Voltage converter for Belkin wireless router. Please advise!

Dear All,

I recently bought a Belkin G wireless router in the US. I need to setup wireless network at home. The router comes with a built in adapter that converts 120 V@ 60 Hz and 0.3 Amp TO 12 V @ 1 Amp

I would need to convert our standard 220 V to 120 V@ 60 Hz and 0.3 Amp acceptable to the router's adapter input. I am confused whether to go with a voltage step-down transformer OR a voltage converter. Please advise.

Thank you!
andescondor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 11:30   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

If my knowledge is correct, I would recommend you a voltage step-down transformer.
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 12:29   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 1,457
Thanked: 9 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

transformer would do the job in better way then convertor, am using one since 6 years and working perfectly.
vijaythacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 14:49   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 268
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

In my view, you can buy any 12V, 1A adapter from market and make sure the output polarity of the new adapter is same as original one. It does not matter to WiFi router from where it is getting 12V supply until it is correct in polarity. Connectors center pin has same pole (+ve or -ve) as OEM has.

So you need 230VAC to 12V, 1A adapter with matched connection pins. That's your requirement. I done this for many equipments brought from US including a Audio 10+10 Band Equilizer.
omishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 15:10   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 61
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vijaythacker View Post
transformer would do the job in better way then convertor, am using one since 6 years and working perfectly.
Thank you all. Where in Bangalore can I get a step-down transformer/converter? Any good electrical shop?
andescondor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 17:28   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
In my view, you can buy any 12V, 1A adapter from market and make sure the output polarity of the new adapter is same as original one. It does not matter to WiFi router from where it is getting 12V supply until it is correct in polarity. Connectors center pin has same pole (+ve or -ve) as OEM has.

So you need 230VAC to 12V, 1A adapter with matched connection pins. That's your requirement. I done this for many equipments brought from US including a Audio 10+10 Band Equilizer.
I absolutely agree with this.

There's really nothing special about the power adaptor. Just buy a new one, and make sure its decent quality. (i recently did for a linksys router -- "ENERtronix" brand, 1.25A output, <200Rs.)


As mentioned earlier, just make sure :
1) The plug is the same
2) The polarity is the same (ie center positive or center negative)
3) The amps put out by the new adaptor is = or more than the OEM one.

cya
R

PS - Avoid the multi-voltage and switchable ones with many plugs.

Last edited by Rehaan : 29th November 2009 at 17:29.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 17:45   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

Most of electrical shops will have step down transformers. I have even seen it in Electronics section of shops like MK Ahmed. Will cost 140-150 bucks.

Adapter also works well but tripple check polarity befor you plug it in.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 18:02   #8
BHPian
 
optimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 221
Thanked: 82 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andescondor View Post
Dear All,

I recently bought a Belkin G wireless router in the US. I need to setup wireless network at home. The router comes with a built in adapter that converts 120 V@ 60 Hz and 0.3 Amp TO 12 V @ 1 Amp

I would need to convert our standard 220 V to 120 V@ 60 Hz and 0.3 Amp acceptable to the router's adapter input. I am confused whether to go with a voltage step-down transformer OR a voltage converter. Please advise.

Thank you!
You can get smps based bricks for whatever rating you want on SP road, which imho are better that transformer based ones which heat up and are of dubious quality. An added benifit is better voltage regulation. PM me if you need where to find the shop. Cost = 150 Rs.
optimist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 23:54   #9
BHPian
 
jasonbourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Geneva
Posts: 119
Thanked: 55 Times
Default

I have a belkin router which works on a 230V to 12 V adapter purchased in India. Its bets to buy a 230 V to 12 V 1 Amp adapter, but check on the polarity.
jasonbourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 02:29   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Very funny, Converter itself houses a small step down transformer.

My advice is to get a compatible replacement 220volt, adaptor. Lite-on and Delta makes very good quality ones.

in extreme case you are not able to find a 12volt, 1-1.25amps adaptor, the ones that fits on old umax and canon scanner will do.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 06:51   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 640
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Just Buy a new 12V adapter make sure the pin fits the router. If you find the pin is very different from what you get in india, you can do two things.

* Cut the wire from your original adapter and cut the indian 12V adapter also and fix the wire. seeing + and -. This may cost you Rs 60 to 100 depending on quality.
* Or buy a 110V to 220V adapter in any electrical shop, it might cost you around Rs 150-300
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 09:02   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 640
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
Just Buy a new 12V adapter make sure the pin fits the router. If you find the pin is very different from what you get in india, you can do two things.

* Cut the wire from your original adapter and cut the indian 12V adapter also and fix the wire. seeing + and -. This may cost you Rs 60 to 100 depending on quality.
* Or buy a 110V to 220V adapter in any electrical shop, it might cost you around Rs 150-300
Sorry Typo from me, 220v to 110v Converter. For which you can pugin the original adapter provided by Belkin.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 09:53   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 22
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Please dont buy the converter from MK Ahmed. It burnt my phone adapater(Cordless phone). You can pick an adapter from SP road. I have the same G router from belkin. Take the adapter with you.
b-positive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 11:33   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 640
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b-positive View Post
Please dont buy the converter from MK Ahmed. It burnt my phone adapater(Cordless phone). You can pick an adapter from SP road. I have the same G router from belkin. Take the adapter with you.
In MK Ahmed prices of all electrical items are almost double compared to local electrical shop.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 12:16   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 22
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

What i found out is there is no coil or something. The one i got from SP road is heavy and the outside felt like a transformer. I am using it from last 1 months. It is on all the time and till date no problem.
b-positive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing a Catalytic Converter (Cat Con) - Do you guys think its worth it? ananthkamath Technical Stuff 111 13th June 2017 09:51
Wagon R: Noise from Catalytic converter? EDIT: Cat Con is GUILTY. bblost Technical Stuff 26 12th July 2012 15:08
Recovering the ISP Password in Netgear DG834G wireless router/modem Ponmayilal Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 18th May 2010 23:00
Wireless router from the US MC Mayank Gadgets, Computers & Software 36 9th July 2009 09:02
Which 3GP converter? Shan2nu Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 19th November 2008 21:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks