Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th December 2009, 09:37   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
laluks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,748
Thanked: 6,752 Times
Unhappy Dell Inspiron 5150 - Does not boot - Need help

Guys my old (2004) Dell Inspiron 5150 died on me just like that a few days back. It was working fine, shut down was proper too.

When I tried to boot the next day, It starts up, nothing in the LCD, fan sounds and initial CD drive access all happens, and only the power on led, and charger led remains on. Pressing numlock, caps lock does not switch on those leds, so i guess it has not even completed the POST.

A few days before I had a warning from windows regarding some power surge in my USB port. But things were fine.

Any pointers??

Checking web I came to know about defective memory and Dimm, which i checked, battery and charger I have checked.

Called up Dell, as usual - the product is outside its service life - so go find your ways!!

Any ideas, suggestions would help. last deal would be to find another similar laptop components from ebay and frankenstein this one. Though this was bulky, I loved it for its speed and my UXGA lcd. Guys help me in getting him work.
laluks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 16:09   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Are you a DIY.

if yes get hold of a philips screwdriver open the ram slot clean it and re-seat it properly.

Do it and comment here about the results
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 16:47   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
laluks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,748
Thanked: 6,752 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Are you a DIY.

if yes get hold of a philips screwdriver open the ram slot clean it and re-seat it properly.

Do it and comment here about the results
That was the first thing I did. Tried with different RAMs also.
laluks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 19:21   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
AbhiJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1,282
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

Try connecting it to an external monitor... Your LCD might have packed up..
AbhiJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 19:25   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
laluks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,748
Thanked: 6,752 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
Try connecting it to an external monitor... Your LCD might have packed up..
Done. No hopes.
I guess it is pointing to the motherboard.
laluks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 20:39   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laluks View Post
Done. No hopes.
I guess it is pointing to the motherboard.
Something must be in the air. My Compaq gave away last week. It was working fine and suddenly it shut down and since then its not starting. Tried everything DVD, RAM, HDD. The laptop turns on for 5 secs and shuts down and this keeps on going in loop until you remove the battery.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 23:50   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

you have some one in delhi. I have a very reliable guy there. many other bhpians also visisted there and were satisfied.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 23:57   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
DRIV3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,639
Thanked: 1,015 Times
Default

Do use the laptop always plugged in?

Is the plug point which you use to charge your laptop properly earthed?

If not, you are vulnerable to power surges and earth currents which damage high precision components in the laptop.

Possible damages would be to either the HDD, Processor ,or MB.

Never use your laptop with an un-earthed connection.

I have a DELL XPS which has a metal casing and so i can feel whenever a power surge/ jump current is present;and then i simply disconnect the charger from my laptop to prevent damage.
DRIV3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 01:13   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Try a BIOS recovery - see if this helps:

dell notebook bios recovery?? - My Digital Life Forums
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 09:46   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
laluks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,748
Thanked: 6,752 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
you have some one in delhi. I have a very reliable guy there. many other bhpians also visisted there and were satisfied.
Great. Could you PM me the details. I'll try this route too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRIV3R View Post
Do use the laptop always plugged in?

Is the plug point which you use to charge your laptop properly earthed?

If not, you are vulnerable to power surges and earth currents which damage high precision components in the laptop.

Possible damages would be to either the HDD, Processor ,or MB.

Never use your laptop with an un-earthed connection.

I have a DELL XPS which has a metal casing and so i can feel whenever a power surge/ jump current is present;and then i simply disconnect the charger from my laptop to prevent damage.
Good point. I doubt so now. Will be careful from now on. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Try a BIOS recovery - see if this helps:

dell notebook bios recovery?? - My Digital Life Forums
If it boots only i can do all this, moreover it is having the latest bios published.
laluks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 11:56   #11
BHPian
 
vj_carLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 38
Thanked: Once
Default

Hey, Just a quick try. On boot there must be a shortcut key to point to another boot screen that would allow you to load a "hardware profile".

Typically you will need to load what is called as a "Last known good configuration". Give this a shot. If there were any malware / virus that got in during previous session, this option should give back the working config.

Beware, this also means that some installables that you may have installed till the last "system restore" would be lost.

HTH

Cheers
vj_carLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 13:23   #12
BHPian
 
Shakensoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AS01
Posts: 492
Thanked: 220 Times
Default

Try a simple trick. Remove the battery and power adapter, hold the power button down for 10 secs, then connect only the power adapter and try booting, if it doesn't work insert the battery and then boot.

If it fails, remove the hard drive, cdrom drive, ram and then try booting.
Shakensoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 13:31   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
laluks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,748
Thanked: 6,752 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vj_carLover View Post
Hey, Just a quick try. On boot there must be a shortcut key to point to another boot screen that would allow you to load a "hardware profile".

Typically you will need to load what is called as a "Last known good configuration". Give this a shot. If there were any malware / virus that got in during previous session, this option should give back the working config.

Beware, this also means that some installables that you may have installed till the last "system restore" would be lost.

HTH

Cheers
There is nothing on the screen. It's not even going to POST.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakensoul View Post
Try a simple trick. Remove the battery and power adapter, hold the power button down for 10 secs, then connect only the power adapter and try booting, if it doesn't work insert the battery and then boot.

If it fails, remove the hard drive, cdrom drive, ram and then try booting.
I'll try this one.
What's the specifics about 10s power down?
laluks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 16:15   #14
BHPian
 
Shakensoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AS01
Posts: 492
Thanked: 220 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laluks View Post
I'll try this one.
What's the specifics about 10s power down?
Its just a old school practice , nothing special. The step is performed to release flea power, any static electricity inside the motherboard circuit.
Shakensoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 16:54   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default

I think your motherborad has gone kaput... Something seems to be fried inside, you even had a power surge warning couple of days back.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron Zino .. Use for a CARPC?? AbhiJ In-Car Entertainment 8 20th March 2010 16:49
Dell Inspiron 5160 HDD inder_s1 Gadgets, Computers & Software 8 7th October 2008 23:07
DELL INSPIRON 1501 Getting Hanged Often. What to do??? karanraheja Gadgets, Computers & Software 19 25th August 2008 05:27
DVD RW burner for Dell Inspiron 1405/640 M ? abhijitaparadh Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 19th June 2008 01:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks