Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd May 2006, 16:54   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
finneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,603
Thanked: 138 Times
Default

I have a Sony TRV340E (Digital 8) and it does have a 'DV Out' port. My Laptop doesn't have a Firewire PCMCIA Card, can I install the same on my Laptop? And does the PCMCIA card come with Driver software?
finneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2006, 17:23   #32
BHPian
 
sbasak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CCU-LTN
Posts: 607
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

If there is a PCMCIA slot on laptop computer, usually IEEE1394 cards can be plugged in there (usually without any software - but not sure)
sbasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2006, 00:10   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbasak
As long as the camcorder has a "DV Out" port it is possible to capture video from camcorder.
The easiest way to connect Camcorder's DV Out to computer's Fireware (IEEE1394) and capture via Windows Movie Maker application (preinstalled with WinXP)
However, if you are buying new camcorder, it would be prudend to invest on those which write directly on 8 cm DVDs! No more problem with transferring via cables
Not as prudent as you think to but a camcorder that uses 8cm discs. I know a few people who have bought such camcorders and used what they thought were good discs (ritek dye and even Fuji branded discs). The discs were so poor that they failed to record properly. So if you do go for such a system stick to Taiyo Yuden dye discs (or MCC dye Verbatim discs).
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 15:39   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
ramkya1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 1,815
Thanked: 358 Times
Arrow What About Sony Dcr Dvd 610 / 710

Hai,

Doing some analysis to buy a Handycam.

Looking at all the posts here, there are two Sony Models which look good @ 16 K. DVD 610 and 710. Usus a 8 m DVD rewritable disk, only you have to finalize the Shoot and then transfer to the laptop. Holds 1 hr of video, the disk, I think is about 1.4 gigs. It hasa USB out, stabilizer (electronic) and 40 X optical zoom.

Is this a good choice for a budget under 20 K?

--Ramky
=======
ramkya1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 00:08   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

I have successfully, transferred video out of my Sony MiniDV camcorder to my laptop and after editing moved it back to camcorder tape without loosing a single frame or resolution drop. (Using Firewire)

In case you are wondering why I transferred it back to the tape, the reason is that I am able to make AVI files, but when I do mpeg encoding for DVD, I get jagged edges during motion... Even after tinkering with lot of settings I was not able to fix this.
I am using Adobe Premier. Any suggestions?

Last edited by ST7677 : 19th April 2008 at 00:11.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 12:17   #36
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
I have successfully, transferred video out of my Sony MiniDV camcorder to my laptop and after editing moved it back to camcorder tape without loosing a single frame or resolution drop. (Using Firewire)

In case you are wondering why I transferred it back to the tape, the reason is that I am able to make AVI files, but when I do mpeg encoding for DVD, I get jagged edges during motion... Even after tinkering with lot of settings I was not able to fix this.
I am using Adobe Premier. Any suggestions?

Hi,

were you able to get this resolved?
I used Windows Live Movie Maker to make a DVD (WMV file) and I see the same jagged edges, more prominent during motion - it seems like I can see the interlacing effect where I can see signals travelling across horizontal lines!!

I however dont see this effect when I play the .avi file that is been streamed directly from the camcorder. These avi files seem to be with no video properties, huge in size - xtreamer (which plays almost any file format) could not play these files but WMP on my Win7 could - may be because it handles it better.

Is this because of the video editing software? I shall look for a better editing software in that case. However, I want to create videos without this problem and store them either on DVDs or hard drive for longer retention period.
Any thoughts!!!
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Off-Road Videos / Links Thread - Post all 4x4 videos & links here! ramkya1 4x4 Excursions 193 26th February 2017 20:19
Enfield Bullet:Cam gear backlash and solutions including adjustable cam spindles deepclutch Motorbikes 73 17th December 2008 00:47
Transferring Voter ID from one state to another ? kaushik_s Shifting gears 3 12th May 2008 23:49
You wont believe which car recorded a 21% increase in sales GTO The Indian Car Scene 8 10th May 2005 15:56


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks