Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th June 2012, 11:34   #1621
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Rajeevraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,226
Thanked: 7,770 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by cranky View Post
^^There is a small possibility that your speakers are of 3ohm impedance, as is common with small all-in-one HT systems.

Such speakers are not advised to be coupled with receivers, which have a minimum impedance specification of 4 (very high-end AVR) to 6 ohms.

If they are higher than the AVR's minimum impedance, your assumptions about connecting them are correct.
Thanks for the input. I decided not to buy just a receiver and I bought the the Onkyo 3500 HT system. Seemed a good system for my budget. Expected to get it delivered today. They are offering a Philips Blu Ray player along with this. Price is Rs 30,000. Seemed a decent buy as the Philips player stand alone price is around 7K. I am also getting a decent exchange price for my Philips HT System.
Rajeevraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 14:55   #1622
Senior - BHPian
 
selfdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,639
Thanked: 1,997 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

I have a 42" Panasonic plasma telly with HDMI inputs, Tata sky HD and a normal DVD player. For HDMI, I plug my laptop to the telly.

For someone who knows little about home theatre systems or their budgets, any recommendations for a decent system? I am not too much into movies/ music/ gaming either but would like to have this for the occasional movie I watch.

I dont want to end up with a Bose system or an entry level one which I would want to change in a few months time. I expect to keep this system for a few years.

Also, any wireless speaker system recommendations would help further as I keep changing my mind about the furniture setup at home. budget depends on what the HT offers but would take 25K as an initial post

TIA

Last edited by selfdrive : 5th June 2012 at 15:00.
selfdrive is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 17:19   #1623
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,742
Thanked: 65 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
I dont want to end up with a Bose system or an entry level one which I would want to change in a few months time. I expect to keep this system for a few years.

Also, any wireless speaker system recommendations would help further as I keep changing my mind about the furniture setup at home. budget depends on what the HT offers but would take 25K as an initial post

TIA
You can't get any Bose home theatre for 25k. Your choices are only entry level. At or around your budget the Onkyo 3500 package, that the gentleman in the post before yours has bought, seems like a good option.

Violet makes a decent wireless speaker package, but thats about 60k, no HDMI and does not decode anything other than Dolby Digital. But then you should also have conveniently positioned free power outlets at all the 6 locations where the speakers are going.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 17:26   #1624
Senior - BHPian
 
selfdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,639
Thanked: 1,997 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
You can't get any Bose home theatre for 25k. Your choices are only entry level. At or around your budget the Onkyo 3500 package, that the gentleman in the post before yours has bought, seems like a good option.
Oh, Violet s the name I had forgotten. Power points and their positioning is not really an issue for me. I may have to reconsider if I need an AVR set

I know I cannot get a Bose package at that price point; it is only to express that I dont want either extreme; something middle of the range would do. Not that I want a Bose in any case regardless of price, but thats more subjective and more importantly besides the point.

Will review the Onkyo 3500 package and return to this thread, maybe I should clarify that 25K is only an initial price point. I am sure I will be convinced to buy something thrice any budget I quote.

Last edited by selfdrive : 5th June 2012 at 17:28.
selfdrive is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 21:20   #1625
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Rajeevraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,226
Thanked: 7,770 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post

Will review the Onkyo 3500 package and return to this thread, maybe I should clarify that 25K is only an initial price point. I am sure I will be convinced to buy something thrice any budget I quote.
I should be getting my 3500 system in a couple of days. Will share my thoughts on it once I have it set up.

My use case is somewhat similar to yours. Not too much DVD/Bluray movie viewing. I have an Airtel HD and my main use would be to get a good sound experience from the ever growing HD channel line up. From the reviews I read it seems to support everything in existence today and is also 3D ready. So should be good for a few years (I hope so ).
Rajeevraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2012, 22:55   #1626
BHPian
 
97_Octane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 165
Thanked: 74 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Since i'm sure the Samsung DVD player doesn't have an amplifier, I'm assuming that the speakers you are using are amplified. And the inputs to the speakers are by means of 6 independent decoded inputs. How will the 309 solve your problem? It does not have 5.1 pre-outs..
Mistake on my part. The Artis is connected to a Dapic 5.1 DVD Player. (Don't know why I bought this. Was a long time back though.) I will be disconnnecting the Dapic. I don't have an amplifier. Shouldn't an amplifier be capable of having multiple inputs and one audio out and one video out?
In my case, inputs- Tata Sky+ HD through HDMI, Blu-ray through HDMI and outputs- analog out to the artis and an HDMI out to the LCD?

What about the Harman Kardon AVR 134?

http://www.indiajbl.com/HomeAudioDesc.aspx?ID=81

I'm still a noob at this. So pardon me if my questions are silly.

Thanks in advance!
97_Octane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 01:31   #1627
Senior - BHPian
 
nitinralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,253
Thanked: 622 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam003 View Post
Looking for good home theater in 1L budget max. i have 52 in LED with me. So plz suggest for good surround sound system. If can see something around in Delhi NCR then nothing like that.
Sam, with this kinda budget you can get real good set of speakers. Since you are in Delhi, go to "Bass n Treble" in Dawarka. The contact there is Denny (9999016124). He deals with lot of good stuff and best part is, you can audition all speakers with different amps etc in his home theater room. I am too looking to buy a new home theater and planning to go to him real soon.
nitinralli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 14:11   #1628
Senior - BHPian
 
mpksuhas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: KA03/KL11
Posts: 2,662
Thanked: 3,202 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Guys need help finding out how much will be AMP rating of a home theater system (thinking of Onkoyo S3500). Needed it for finalizing on a voltage stablizer. I have a LED TV with power rating of 150 W, so that means its around 0.68 Amps. The stablizer I have shortlisted supports 3 Amps. So needed to check if home theater system uses more than that.
mpksuhas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 14:31   #1629
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,374
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
Guys need help finding out how much will be AMP rating of a home theater system (thinking of Onkoyo S3500). Needed it for finalizing on a voltage stablizer.
Stabilizer would be rated in terms of VA (Volt*Ampere) and AMP would be rated in Wattage.

For LED TV + S3500, stabilizer should be capable of 1500 VA.

Peak power consumption of S3500 would be around 400W. Adding TV and possibly Blu Ray player etc would take this wattage to around 800 W.

1500 VA stabilizer would be able to supply this comfortably, 1500 VA would be approx 1150 W (with load factor of 0.75).
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 15:27   #1630
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,868 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
... Needed it for finalizing on a voltage stablizer. ...
I haven't used a stabilizer in Bangalore in the last 25 years for *any* equipment. Why would you want one?

What one needs is a sacrificial 'spike / overvoltage buster' - for those once-in-a-bluemoon occasions that send ~415V or more into your line. Would save the power supplies. Otherwise, low voltage ('single phase') won't hurt the power supplies.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 17:17   #1631
Senior - BHPian
 
mpksuhas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: KA03/KL11
Posts: 2,662
Thanked: 3,202 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Stabilizer would be rated in terms of VA (Volt*Ampere) and AMP would be rated in Wattage.
For LED TV + S3500, stabilizer should be capable of 1500 VA.
Peak power consumption of S3500 would be around 400W. Adding TV and possibly Blu Ray player etc would take this wattage to around 800 W.
1500 VA stabilizer would be able to supply this comfortably, 1500 VA would be approx 1150 W (with load factor of 0.75).
Thanks for explaining. However I had downloaded V-Guard stabilizer specs and it was only mentioning Capacity in Amps. They had mentioned the capacity as 3 Amps. They didnt mention any VA rating. Hence as per your post S3500 power consumption of say around 400 W + TV power of 150 W = 650 W means it is around 3 Amps in ideal condition (220 V). Hence was thinking if its needed to go for a stabilizer of higher rating. Or opt for a spike as suggested by DerAlte in post below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
What one needs is a sacrificial 'spike / overvoltage buster' - for those once-in-a-bluemoon occasions that send ~415V or more into your line. Would save the power supplies.
DerAlte: Yes, my idea was also the same. However I was not able to find any reliable spike buster in market on a quick search. On enquiring I was either pointed towards the basic spike buster (extention box with fuse). However I wanted to avoid something with fuse since finding a replacement for it with a good quality fuse in case of blow off will be tough.
mpksuhas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 17:38   #1632
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,649
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post

DerAlte: Yes, my idea was also the same. However I was not able to find any reliable spike buster in market on a quick search. On enquiring I was either pointed towards the basic spike buster (extention box with fuse). However I wanted to avoid something with fuse since finding a replacement for it with a good quality fuse in case of blow off will be tough.
I dont think Kerala has a good power line. At some areas there still is voltage issue for example. Bangalore also gets better transmission lines/tech .

Try Belkin, iirc, some versions of Belkin comes with insurance.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 17:40   #1633
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,374
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
650 W means it is around 3 Amps in ideal condition (220 V). Hence was thinking if its needed to go for a stabilizer of higher rating. Or opt for a spike as suggested by DerAlte in post below.
Yes you should use a spike guard. Belkin's spike guard should cost around 2,000 Rs. It includes warranty for TV/Music system for damage due to spikes that spike busters could not prevent.

In case, you do buy a stabilizer you need at least 1 KVA to provide 850 Watts (due to AC). You should get a 1.5 KVA to account for drop in power factor.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2012, 19:15   #1634
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,868 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
... DerAlte: Yes, my idea was also the same. However I was not able to find any reliable spike buster in market on a quick search. On enquiring I was either pointed towards the basic spike buster (extention box with fuse). However I wanted to avoid something with fuse since finding a replacement for it with a good quality fuse in case of blow off will be tough.
Think about this: how many times have you ever replaced a fuse *anywhere* so far? The fuse is overcurrent protection (you need that, since overcurrent is from *your* equipment side). The MOV in the spike buster protects against overvoltage from outside. You need both.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2012, 13:48   #1635
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Rajeevraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,226
Thanked: 7,770 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

As mentioned in my previous posts, I got the Onkyo HT 3500. I got it installed and all looks good except for one major problem. The receiver is not sending output to the sub woofer. The sub itself is working fine (tested with another system). Have tried all different options in the settings, even tried a factory reset. No luck. The Onkyo technician who came to install also tried everything and could not get it to work. He eventually said it could be an issue with the receiver itself and a senior technician would come and later they called and asked me if I could bring it to their service center. As of now I have refused and told that I need it replaced which they have agreed to do, but they do not have stock as of now. So while I am waiting for that, I thought I'll put in a note here to see if this actually could be some advanced setting issues and whether experts here have any ideas/solutions.

Note: Speakers are all connected correctly. All standard settings are set correctly
Rajeevraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build a Simple Home Theater PC sandeepmdas Gadgets, Computers & Software 66 16th May 2013 23:30
USB Hard Disk to Home Theater autoenthusiast Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th August 2008 21:36
Home theater under $220 cooldude1988765 Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 9th November 2006 14:31
For SALE- Home Theater components nitinbhag Shifting gears 1 2nd August 2006 18:24
Home Theater - Amp/woofer for Car vivek.singh.73 In-Car Entertainment 6 25th September 2005 12:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks