Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th December 2012, 09:22   #1711
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,570 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Hello experts, please look at my issue and pour in your thoughts.

I already purchased a HTS system from sony along with my Bravia LED EX520. The HTS is not that much of an enthusiasts pick. The only reason I even looked at it was that it would integrate with the TV seamlessly. They both can work together as we all know and there is no need to individually control it or set it up. Personally, I would have gone for a custom setup from Onkyo or Yamaha, but as my parents will be making use of it and in case I am not in town or around, I did not want them to face problems with multiple connections, remotes etc. It will make them avoid the setup.

Its been a year since I brought it. The synchronisation is excellent and SQ is just okay. But one major problem is that, ARC through HDMI is not working. I tried everything, called the sony guy home. He did not even know such a feature exists. Basically, the TV manual states that HDMI 1 is meant for audio return. So the HT is hooked to that. When I go to the TV options, and select speakers as audio system, the TV is able to switch on the HT, and it transfers volume control to the HT. So if we change volume in TV, it will redirect to HT, cool. But there is no audio sent in the return channel. Home theater is able to send audio and video to TV, but the opposite is not happening. The HT switches to TV mode and gets synchronized too, but no audio. I have to then go to Audio In in the HT and deliver audio through a two channel cable.

This is a problem everytime I transfer audio to HT. I have to manually go to audio in. Though the TV can send 5.1 through Pro-Logic and that is also a beauty, still, I want to know why my ARC is not working. After eating the head of the service guy, his senior called me and said the problem could be due to HDMI cable. I am using the cable supplied by Sony itself. How can I make sure its a problem with the cable? If cable was not compatible, how can it perform other functions effortlessly? Please advise on what I should do?
audioholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2012, 12:05   #1712
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,374
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
his senior called me and said the problem could be due to HDMI cable. I am using the cable supplied by Sony itself. How can I make sure its a problem with the cable? If cable was not compatible, how can it perform other functions effortlessly? Please advise on what I should do?
He might be correct. ARC requires HDMI 1.4 compatible cables. You can buy a cheap Chinese cable for testing for 2- 300 Rs from any electronics parts shop.

Just to be sure, does your HT support ARC?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2012, 12:24   #1713
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,570 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

As per the manual of both the TV and the HT, they have described about ARC and the procedure to be followed. I did the same thing but things dont work. But if I buy a cheap Chinese cable, how do I know its compatible with 1.4? As per sony guy ARC requires 1.3. Now how to find out which version of cable I am having?

Another problem is my TV is setup in such a way that there are no cables seen around. The cables are concealed. In order to change the cable, I need to get the TV off its mount and then change. So, I am ruling out other problems. But why would the TV be able to control the HT if the HDMI cable is not compatible with ARC? The sony cable looks to be of high quality. So let me check which version it is.
audioholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2012, 13:49   #1714
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,374
Thanked: 315 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Yes it makes sense to rule out other issues first since concealed wiring would make it difficult to mess around with cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
As per the manual of both the TV and the HT, they have described about ARC and the procedure to be followed. I did the same thing but things dont work. But if I buy a cheap Chinese cable, how do I know its compatible with 1.4?
1.4 requires ethernet cables inside HDMI, so these cables are sold with 1.4 label (cost 50 Rs extra in case of Chinese and 200 in case of branded).

E.g.: http://www.flipkart.com/prolink-ultr...CDD4K6VKZFCKJS

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
As per sony guy ARC requires 1.3. Now how to find out which version of cable I am having?
If you have bill for that cable, it would have sony part #.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
But why would the TV be able to control the HT if the HDMI cable is not compatible with ARC?
Controlling the HT requires CEC that was part of HDMI 1.3, so any cable would work for that purpose. ARC is required just for sending actual audio data.

In some TVs and HTs, there is a workaround to use HDMI 1.3 cables for ARC. This is done by sending ARC start commands over CEC and use two wires that were previously unused for audio data.

CEC : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#CEC (same link has ARC details)
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2012, 17:04   #1715
BHPian
 
robimahanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BLR/GAU
Posts: 611
Thanked: 1,575 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Guys what "Crossover freq" do you prefer? I prefer around 80Hz but Audyssey sets it at 40Hz while the sound tech I spoke to says it should be above 100Hz.
robimahanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2012, 17:38   #1716
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,570 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

If it is for the sub, then I think 40hz is on the lower side. However, it depends upon your preference. Hits, slams and crashes fall comprise of higher frequencies. So, I would go for a 80hz or 90hz setting. However, experts can correct.
audioholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2012, 19:50   #1717
BHPian
 
robimahanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BLR/GAU
Posts: 611
Thanked: 1,575 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Hello experts, please look at my issue and pour in your thoughts.

Iopposite is not happening. The HT switches to TV mode and gets synchronized too, but no audio. I have to then go to Audio In in the HT and deliver audio through a two channel cable.

This is a problem everytime I transfer audio to HT. I have to manually go to audio in. Though the TV can send 5.1 through Pro-Logic and that is also a beauty, still, I want to know why my ARC is not working. After eating the head of the service guy, his senior called me and said the problem could be due to HDMI cable. I am using the cable supplied by Sony itself. How can I make sure its a problem with the cable? If cable was not compatible, how can it perform other functions effortlessly? Please advise on what I should do?
I had a similar problem with ARC when I used a sony HT but somehow when I put a optical cable to the the optical input in the HT from the TV, things sorted out. Just try out with a optical cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
If it is for the sub, then I think 40hz is on the lower side. However, it depends upon your preference. Hits, slams and crashes fall comprise of higher frequencies. So, I would go for a 80hz or 90hz setting. However, experts can correct.
Yes its for the sub, somehow after the upgrade from Polk I am unable to find the sweet spot. Keeping at 80hz for now. Maybe repositioning would help things

Last edited by robimahanta : 29th December 2012 at 19:52.
robimahanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2012, 22:31   #1718
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,570 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by robimahanta View Post
I had a similar problem with ARC when I used a sony HT but somehow when I put a optical cable to the the optical input in the HT from the TV, things sorted out. Just try out with a optical cable.
Thats another issue. My HT doesnt have optical input. So, the only way I will be able to send multichannel audio to it is through HDMI. Else, I have to rely upon pro logic. Though it works fine, the HT has to be in audio in mode and not tv. Will change the cable as I think I have HDMI 1.3 cable.
audioholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 18:56   #1719
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 3,140
Thanked: 4,570 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

An update: The problem was solved! Thanks Robimahanta and netfreakbombay. The culprit was the cable indeed. When I had been to buy some books I came across a cable branded 'Nitho'. Packaging and box looked good, and unlike the ones I had found with lots of printing mistakes etc. The cost was just 300 so thought of giving a try. It works flawlessly now. The cable too is thick and well moulded. Thanks for the information.
audioholic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 22:07   #1720
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

This is a question for mounting a projector. I understand that ventilation and vibration is a big cause of concern for the lamp life. I was looking up projector mounts (wall, not inclined to do it in ceiling), and then realized I could install a wire shelf instead of those wall projector/TV mounts. These will be better ventilated and sturdy (the projector mount has only two vertical anchor points). Anybody has any thoughts?

something like this (only 1.5 feet long)

vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 15:42   #1721
BHPian
 
vcash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 453
Thanked: 14 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Finally setup the HT and thought I would share some pictures. Some casing work for the speaker cables is yet to be completed as is a DVD shelf and a comfortable couch but I am done for the most part.

Modest setup includes:
  • Panasonic 50ST50 Plasma
  • Denon AVR-1513
  • Energy Take Classic 5.0 speakers
  • Polk PSW-110 Subwoofer
  • Zotac ZBOX (Cedar Trail) running XBMC
  • Tata Sky+ HD

Here are a couple of pictures:
The Home Theater thread-photo-2-2.jpg

The Home Theater thread-photo-1-1.jpg

Cheers!
V
vcash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 13:09   #1722
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
This is a question for mounting a projector. I understand that ventilation and vibration is a big cause of concern for the lamp life. I was looking up projector mounts (wall, not inclined to do it in ceiling), and then realized I could install a wire shelf instead of those wall projector/TV mounts. These will be better ventilated and sturdy (the projector mount has only two vertical anchor points). Anybody has any thoughts?

something like this (only 1.5 feet long)
I have my projector sitting on my ceiling mount (mount is upside down) on my window ledge aligned with a bottle opener on one side
I did not screw this in permanently yet but have secured it with plastic ties.


Name:  image1522377741.jpg
Views: 916
Size:  413.3 KB



Name:  image3462798820.jpg
Views: 855
Size:  431.4 KB

This projects above my HT theatre setup on the wall opposite my bed. The projector just peeps over the headboard of my bed.
The projector is 5 years old and so far no bulb issues, touch wood!
diyguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 17:39   #1723
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,742
Thanked: 65 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
and then realized I could install a wire shelf instead of those wall projector/TV mounts. These will be better ventilated and sturdy (the projector mount has only two vertical anchor points). Anybody has any thoughts?
3 things:

1. There is a chance the projector can get misaligned during dusting etc. You will have to readjust at those times.

2. Good wall mounts allow the projector to be moved along several axes. This allows you to perfectly align the projector with the screen and then tighten and leave it. It is far more difficult to get the wire thing installed absolutely perfectly aligned with the screen.

3. The wall mount looks far more elegant and will allow easy access to controls, connections etc from the bottom.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2013, 22:19   #1724
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

I just realized the projectors are designed to be placed at the bottom of the screen height. which means if they are the the top (ceiling height), they have to be upside down. I managed by skewing the image to look flat on the screen but the actual projection is still a trapezium on the wall (visible when the monitor goes blank and all you see is the projector light). Right now it works perfectly as far as watching movies are concerned but I will invert it soon.

dusting is not an issue in this country, and alignment is one time issue, I will also use a bottle opener or such to do it

Last edited by vivekiny2k : 6th January 2013 at 22:21.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2013, 11:02   #1725
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gurgaon,N.Delhi
Posts: 458
Thanked: 117 Times
Default re: The Home Theater thread

I need some device which can be used for outputting sound using wireless microphones. The device might be a standalone music/hi-fi system, or one that could be connected to the existing home theater system (onkyo) that I have.

I had a sony hi-fi which was used for the purpose, but it has gone kaput.

Which one should I buy?

Please advise.
deepfusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build a Simple Home Theater PC sandeepmdas Gadgets, Computers & Software 66 16th May 2013 23:30
USB Hard Disk to Home Theater autoenthusiast Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th August 2008 21:36
Home theater under $220 cooldude1988765 Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 9th November 2006 14:31
For SALE- Home Theater components nitinbhag Shifting gears 1 2nd August 2006 18:24
Home Theater - Amp/woofer for Car vivek.singh.73 In-Car Entertainment 6 25th September 2005 12:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks