Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd May 2010, 20:56   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Exclamation Anyone Owning ONIDA Oxygen Thunder 29 - Need Service settings

Anyone owning a Onida Oxygen Thunder 29 inch, please acknowledge.

I need the service settings of this model, I will tell you how to goto Service Mode and then either manually record or take pictures of the screen with the setting.

To goto Service Mode, take the remote and press "Disp" key (marked alternatively as "C" on it) and "Zoom/R+" key (marked alternatively as "VSM" on it), press both keys together for 2 seconds, you will see "Service" menu with GTV1000 written on the screen.

Now press the "UP" arrow button above the "OK/menu" button to browse through the Service settings one-by-one.

Do not use any other key since you dont want to change anything. Just keep pressing "UP" key and either manually write down the values against each settings or better just take a photograph of the screen(its less tedious). You can move to AV mode before for clarity of the display.

Keep scrolling up the screen, till you get to the GTV1000 line written. You have reached the top of the menu screen and to exit just switch off TV by using the power button.

Let me thank you for the effort and it might take your few minutes of time. Just hoping someone owns it here.

PS. Use only the "UP" arrow key to scroll the menu, dont use any other key lest you accidently change any setting and if unsure just switch OFF and switch ON again.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 11:21   #2
F50
Senior - BHPian
 
F50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai/USA
Posts: 1,694
Thanked: 92 Times
Default

Yeah still have the 29 Onida but its KY Thunder series and not Oxygen. I dont remember it having an option such as GTV1000.
Plus the TV is back in Bombay wont be able to tell anything from here.
F50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 11:34   #3
BHPian
 
G-BoleroBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 94
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

I have Onida KY Oxygen Thunder 29" at home. Will check today evening and revert. PM me your number as I may need some clarifications as my original remote is damaged and using another one now.
G-BoleroBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 11:41   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

dadu yes even i do , will check and send th pics by evening.

btw you changed the setting by mistake?
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 12:13   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-BoleroBoy View Post
I have Onida KY Oxygen Thunder 29" at home. Will check today evening and revert. PM me your number as I may need some clarifications as my original remote is damaged and using another one now.
You might not be able to invoke Service Menu mode without the original remote as its on specific key combination, PM'ed my number anyways.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohithrao View Post
dadu yes even i do , will check and send th pics by evening.

btw you changed the setting by mistake?
No, was trying to rectify slight screen fluctuation's and have rectified most of it, but can feel slight tilt of the screen(or my imagination). Therefore need to compare factory settings with mine.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 12:20   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panaji - Goa/Bangalore - Karnataka
Posts: 3,242
Thanked: 692 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (7)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
No, was trying to rectify slight screen fluctuation's and have rectified most of it, but can feel slight tilt of the screen(or my imagination). Therefore need to compare factory settings with mine.
Dont need to go to the Service Menu. Go to the TV Menu and go to display options(I think) one of the icons. There you have an option to set the tilt.

I have a Oxygen 29. And hey quite a few CRT users in this age of LCDs
Spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 12:29   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Dont need to go to the Service Menu. Go to the TV Menu and go to display options(I think) one of the icons. There you have an option to set the tilt.

I have a Oxygen 29. And hey quite a few CRT users in this age of LCDs
Yes, that tilt option you see in the TV menu is enabled from the Service menu and for me by default that was disabled, till I enabled it but can't feel any difference. Perhaps you can post some screenshots from the Service menu of your Set.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 13:02   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panaji - Goa/Bangalore - Karnataka
Posts: 3,242
Thanked: 692 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (7)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Perhaps you can post some screenshots from the Service menu of your Set.
I will do that once I get back home later today.

And hey I have a tilt towards the right too. Watching news channel the last few letters towards the right lower corner are slightly cut out. I never bothered to fix it though. Will have a look today.
Spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 21:59   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Thank you guys!!

Awaiting the details from you.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 11:37   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Thanks you Boleroboy, it was nice talking to you, but unfortunately he has changed his remote and we could not invoke the service menu.

Lolithrao and Spitfire, any luck ??
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 20:41   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Dadu, firstly i checked "pic tilt" its +15 on my TV, try this setting i guess it shoudl work for you.

meanwhile am trying to get the service setting, so far i was unable to get that screen
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2010, 20:54   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohithrao View Post
Dadu, firstly i checked "pic tilt" its +15 on my TV, try this setting i guess it shoudl work for you.

meanwhile am trying to get the service setting, so far i was unable to get that screen
That hasnt worked for me.

You just need to press the "Disp" key (marked alternatively as "C" on it) and "Zoom/R+" key (marked alternatively as "VSM" on it) on the remote, press both keys together momentarily for like just once together, you will see the "Service" menu written on the screen.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2010, 13:02   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,560
Thanked: 839 Times
Default

I own the TV in question, unfortunately though, the remote we have is nearly defunct and we dont use it at all. (only the on/off switch at the plug level itself + set top box remote).
sajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2010, 15:56   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default Finally the solution

Spitfire nice talking to you yesterday, unfortunately we couldnt invoke the service menu and thanks lolithrao, Sajo for your inputs.

I found someone owning similar model and upon inpection of the menu found it was the same. but there also couldnt invoke the Service menu from his remote.

Activated Plan B : Bring my own remote and vola here is the factory Setting for Onida 29" models using the GTV1000 firmware.

So here we are:

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 11112
Size:  369.0 KB

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 10903
Size:  347.4 KB

Name:  3.jpg
Views: 10803
Size:  347.3 KB

Name:  4.jpg
Views: 10752
Size:  368.2 KB

Name:  5.jpg
Views: 10752
Size:  386.2 KB

Name:  6.jpg
Views: 10571
Size:  360.2 KB

Name:  7.jpg
Views: 9921
Size:  303.9 KB

Name:  8.jpg
Views: 9751
Size:  334.0 KB

Name:  9.jpg
Views: 9565
Size:  341.7 KB

Name:  10.jpg
Views: 9550
Size:  310.8 KB

Name:  11.jpg
Views: 9412
Size:  331.2 KB

Name:  12.jpg
Views: 9220
Size:  306.0 KB

Name:  13.jpg
Views: 9147
Size:  302.4 KB

Name:  14.jpg
Views: 8986
Size:  279.7 KB

Name:  15.jpg
Views: 8979
Size:  377.0 KB

Name:  16.jpg
Views: 8914
Size:  317.8 KB

Name:  17.jpg
Views: 8774
Size:  359.7 KB

Name:  18.jpg
Views: 8794
Size:  339.1 KB

Name:  19.jpg
Views: 8783
Size:  421.8 KB

Name:  20.jpg
Views: 9002
Size:  325.3 KB


To be contd...
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2010, 16:24   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,652
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Even though you use these ones, it cannot be a perfect match as its a magnetic field you are trying to configure and might need minor adjustments here and there yourself.

Also you might not get all the values in your sets Service Menu even though its the GTV1000 firmware used in most Onida models 2006 onwards, as they keep upgrading the features too, so just use the ones that match.

Name:  21.jpg
Views: 9024
Size:  363.4 KB

Name:  22.jpg
Views: 8462
Size:  382.3 KB

Name:  23.jpg
Views: 11353
Size:  361.4 KB

Name:  24.jpg
Views: 8689
Size:  396.2 KB

Name:  25.jpg
Views: 9249
Size:  365.3 KB

Name:  26.jpg
Views: 8468
Size:  371.3 KB

Name:  27.jpg
Views: 10413
Size:  321.0 KB

Name:  28.jpg
Views: 8279
Size:  395.7 KB

Name:  29.jpg
Views: 8568
Size:  365.1 KB

Name:  30.jpg
Views: 8169
Size:  368.1 KB

Name:  31.jpg
Views: 8237
Size:  408.4 KB

Name:  32.jpg
Views: 8359
Size:  418.5 KB

In fact I didnt think that finding the settings for Onida would be such a daunting task. Searched everywhere but only found people asking for this info and no responses. Hoping now they will get their answers here.

Since Onida uses JVC boards designs in their TV's I found a technical service manual for the closest matching JVC TV (visually). You can PM me if you need it. Its a full service manual for repairs and you can try configuring the Picture manually using it but will also need the AVIA or DVE DVD's for the Video test patterns to configure, which I fortunately had from my stint with calibrating Home Theatre systems.

Last edited by dadu : 7th May 2010 at 16:33.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help ICE GURUs :- HU forgets the settings with every restart simply_sunny001 In-Car Entertainment 13 23rd August 2007 12:13
Onida - Nothing BUT LIE madbullram Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 30th November 2006 11:24
Read about how Oxygen Sensors work Rehaan Technical Stuff 2 13th March 2006 02:51
Oxygen Sensor - Malfunction Need Help Firestarter Technical Stuff 15 23rd February 2006 07:06


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks