Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th May 2010, 02:06   #1
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default Issues with RGB output.

Until recently, I was using a NVidia 7300GT 512MB with either my 3 year old LG monitor or my new 42 inch LG LCD screen. Yesterday, I upgraded to NVIDIA 9400GT 1GB. When I attached the RGB cable from my TV to the Output jack of the Graphic card, it did not work. All it showed was "no input detected",

The Graphic card has a HDMI port and so does the TV.
Should I shift to HDMI??
Will it give me better outputs as compared to RGB??
Also, Why did the RGB cable not work all of a sudden??
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 02:17   #2
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

HDMI will give you a far better output compared to RGB, owing to it's higher resolution.

Are you using a VGA to RGB converter ? Or an S-Video to RGB ?

The reason for RGB not working could be non-compatibity. What I wikipedia-ed went over my head, partially. Something to do with YPbPr, YCbCr blah blah.

If it helps, here's the link.

Component video - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 02:23   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

I am using a Standard RGB output to RGB input cable. I guess will shift to HDMI tomorrow. can I have both the RGB and HDMI outputs together?
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 02:25   #4
BHPian
 
Bluengel180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 119
Thanked: 58 Times
Lightbulb

Dont even consider the RGB cable if you have a 42inch LCd,HDMI is the newer standard in display cables and is leagues ahead when compared to RGB,it has an all-digital interface which insures that no detail is lost.And if your LCD has built-in speaker the HDMI cable carries the sound output as well

But HDMI cables are pretty expensive,stay away from cheap chinese ones
Bluengel180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 06:56   #5
BHPian
 
Raj1008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 119
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

You should use either or. HDMI will be far far better.
Raj1008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2010, 01:23   #6
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Bought the HDMI cable today. Plays well. but the graphic properties got all messed up when i connected it to the TV
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2010, 04:29   #7
BHPian
 
Raj1008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 119
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

I am guessing you need to reset the properties on your computer. Right click on desktop and properties should take you there.
Raj1008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2010, 18:37   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
Also, Why did the RGB cable not work all of a sudden??
I see no reason for the RGB output/input to suddenly stop working. Its probably a graphics card setting (eg. that output is disabled, or you've chosen a resolution not supported by your TV)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
Will it give me better outputs as compared to RGB??
Its the better solution, digital, and has audio built in.

You however might not see a night and day difference, or even any difference at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
...an I have both the RGB and HDMI outputs together?
Depends on if your gfx card supports it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluengel180 View Post
But HDMI cables are pretty expensive,stay away from cheap chinese ones
Here's a point i disagree with.

Sure, stay away from the el cheapo cables which might break or be so poorly constructed that they dont offer a good connection.

But beyond that, i promise you that you won't be able to tell and audio or video difference between a $5 cable and a $120 cable.

The HDMI content is all DIGITAL, hence cable quality doesn't factor in much, unlike with analog signals.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Panel RGB LED Lighting goelvaibhav Technical Stuff 17 13th August 2014 23:46
Philips dvp5106k - Altec lansing 251 - Still no 5.1 channel Output Knight Rider Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 9th April 2007 15:38
Need Higher Output Alternator And Electrical Help Tool Modifications & Accessories 5 1st June 2006 18:06
Help ... Need High Output Alternator TOO MUCH LOAD low_bass_makker In-Car Entertainment 44 14th March 2006 10:14
Engine Output and Torque power Surprise Technical Stuff 20 25th May 2005 20:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks