Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th June 2010, 15:31   #31
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,165 Times
Default

Thanks to Tata-Docomo, GPRS rates have come down drastically.

A 100 Rs plan for 2GB is available for Mobile Office (Airtel).
But this will not allow mobile to used as modem.
If you need that option the minimum rate is 200.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 15:32   #32
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Do you need to connect to any exchange server ? If yes then you need ports open for that and that you can get in more expensive plan.

Normally Mobile operators provide plans just for browsing and port 80 , 8080,8081 , 9200 and 9201 are open rest are closed. In case you need exchange support then you needs other ports open.

If you just need web based mail like gmail , Nokia mail etc a regular plan is good enough.
My office mail is google app. one, so I guess regular plan would do.
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 15:36   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,165 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kunaldhami View Post
My office mail is google app. one, so I guess regular plan would do.
Office mail a google app? Do you use Google for office mail?
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 15:43   #34
BHPian
 
kunaldhami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surat
Posts: 144
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Office mail a google app? Do you use Google for office mail?
Google apps -www.google.com/apps
kunaldhami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 15:46   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Thanks to Tata-Docomo, GPRS rates have come down drastically.

A 100 Rs plan for 2GB is available for Mobile Office (Airtel).
But this will not allow mobile to used as modem.
If you need that option the minimum rate is 200.
Interesting but how can possibly Airtel Control if Mobile is used as modem or not ? IMHO routing the data to AP or to external entity using USB / BT is local to the device.

Can some one connect the Airtel GPRS phone using USB cable to PC and
try following command on Hyperterminal.
at+CGATT=1
at+cgdcont=1,"IP","airtelgprs.com","",0,0
atd*99***1#
This will not work on Android phones though as Android till Froyo 2.2 does not support AT command set.

Or do they mean that in this plan not all ports are open so you can not do FTP for instance ?
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 17:42   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,165 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Interesting but how can possibly Airtel Control if Mobile is used as modem or not ? IMHO routing the data to AP or to external entity using USB / BT is local to the device.
I think as you say they will control routing data to external devices. Dont know how else this can be controlled.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2010, 18:06   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
I think as you say they will control routing data to external devices. Dont know how else this can be controlled.
Technically It can not be done , AT Command is just another interface for the modem , Here instead of App sitting on the embedded device , App sitting on PC makes use of Data. Perhaps the person is misinformed.

Only they can control the firewall and block ports which are non-HTTP and WAP. Normally Airtel blocks non common ports so that people can not use data connectivity to eat in their revenues such as SIP calling instead of ISD call.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2010, 23:27   #38
BHPian
 
dr.faramroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valsad/Mumbai
Posts: 155
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Rs 98 for 2GB montly on Airtel Gujarat seems cheap but not bandwith friendly. I use it as a pc modem but the speed is just ok. We cannot download heavy files, gmail and yahoo mail takes much longer time. They cant provide good EDGE speed, Airtel will launch cheapest and slowest 3G in the world.
dr.faramroze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2010, 01:18   #39
vak
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 47
Thanked: 43 Times
Default Nokia push mail is good but Windows Mobile Exchange Server is much better

I have been using Nokia push mail on My E90. It worked really well.
Recently sold my E90 and bought a new Samsung Omnia Pro B7610 running Windows Mobile 6.1. I configured Exchange server for gmail account and I am really impressed with it. It is much better than Nokia Push mail. I also configured my phone to sync my contacts and calender with Gmail account through exchange server. It is really a wonderful tool for your PIM. Good thing of exchange server is that the moment you add a new contact to your phone book or a new appointment, Gmail account is also updated automatically. But in Nokia E90 I believe we have to Sync contacts and calender manually.

I think the exclusivity of Black Berry as a push mail phone is over. BB service is expensive as you need to subscribe to BIS or BES, even for brousing the internet. Nokia push mail or Windows Mobile push mail is cheaper and equally good.

If you can get a good service at a cheaper price that itself count as a better service.

Many of the blackberry users are just posers who do not have neither BIS nor BES enabled on their handset, that means they are using BB for making phone calls only.

So I believe time of BB is over as a master of push mail. I think BB itself has realised this, and this is reflected in the latest ads of BB whether they are targeting non-business consumers for their phone.

Regards,
Vinshad (VAK)
vak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2010, 07:19   #40
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paradise (wish it was)
Posts: 310
Thanked: 90 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Thanks to Tata-Docomo, GPRS rates have come down drastically.

A 100 Rs plan for 2GB is available for Mobile Office (Airtel).
But this will not allow mobile to used as modem.
If you need that option the minimum rate is 200.
No fun this. If I am not wrong, these kind of 48rs & 98rs plans by these operators is only for pre-paid users. Atleast for my vodafone connection here. For postpaid users, they still want to milk you by Rs 299 for a 300mb plan. Wish they let postpaid users to top-up with add-on features like how they allow a prepaid user:(
null is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2010, 07:47   #41
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,165 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by null View Post
No fun this. If I am not wrong, these kind of 48rs & 98rs plans by these operators is only for pre-paid users. Atleast for my vodafone connection here. For postpaid users, they still want to milk you by Rs 299 for a 300mb plan. Wish they let postpaid users to top-up with add-on features like how they allow a prepaid user:(
I am talking postpaid!! Yes they started with pre-paid, but they have post paid also for the same rate.

At 99 (2GB limit) you cannot use your phone as a modem (that is connect to computer and use phone as modem).
But that can be done starting 199.

But who needs phone as a modem!

Proof of the plan: I am running the same on my post paid airtel connection.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 09:28   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,026
Thanked: 372 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post

At 99 (2GB limit) you cannot use your phone as a modem (that is connect to computer and use phone as modem).
But that can be done starting 199.

But who needs phone as a modem!
Ampere it can be used as a Modem as long as your phone supports the mode. dr.Framrose on this thread confirmed it ,Try out the AT commands I have given
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 12:52   #43
Distinguished - BHPian
 
FlyingSpur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,937
Thanked: 1,331 Times
Default

My Nokia E61i was configured for Nokia Messaging, but refuses to sync with the "normal" GPRS. Do I have to subscribe to the Rs.299/month "office-connect" or whatever that is?
FlyingSpur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 21:38   #44
BHPian
 
dr.faramroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valsad/Mumbai
Posts: 155
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

WAP sevices offer limited services like opera mini browsing, inbuilt browser but no push email works on WAP. Opera mobile, ucweb browser, Nimbuzz and Gmail.jar work on full fledged gprs. It requires full gprs pack, be it per kb charge or flat monthly bundle. I used nokia email on my E90 but the silly thing hangs my phone, else it is better than emoze and system seven. Nokia email enables attachments and multiple accounts and accounts where pop3/imap is not enabled. I use Airtel mobile office and exhaust 1.8gb data every month, also have reliance netconnect connection and wifi broadband at work. Airtel gprs seemed to be better than bsnl evdo dongle, at last we threw it out pay Rs 801 for reliance netconnect and enjoy internet on the go. AT strings will not make difference, atleast here in Gujarat.
dr.faramroze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2010, 22:16   #45
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,349
Thanked: 8,165 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Ampere it can be used as a Modem as long as your phone supports the mode. dr.Framrose on this thread confirmed it ,Try out the AT commands I have given
Amit, It may be possible. But frankly I did not try it. I just stated, what Airtel guys told me before. (as I posted before)

@flyingspur,

Do you have 99 or a 199 plan in Mumbai? I am not aware of the offers there.

Last edited by ampere : 6th July 2010 at 22:17.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emoze push email on Nokia E90 vak Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 15th October 2009 10:39
Email rules for Nokia 6600 adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 8 5th October 2005 23:56
HELP - configuring email on Nokia 7610. normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 4th August 2005 18:04
nokia 7610 v/s nokia 6600 normally_crazy Shifting gears 2 21st August 2004 18:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:30.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks