Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st November 2013, 13:49   #16771
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,691
Thanked: 6,863 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
Is there anyway I can record the route I take in sygic app?
Look at 'Travel Book.' touch the journey you want to see, touch the graph, and select 'show on map.'
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2013, 14:10   #16772
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DL9C
Posts: 2,417
Thanked: 2,063 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

XDA reports GNex won't be getting the KitKat! Surprising as on one hand, Google is hinting at some sort of consolidation, and on the other they are rolling it out to only select devices.

But, I guess, someone at XDA will eventually get it on the GNex.
Dry Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2013, 14:22   #16773
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys there is a problem in my Xperia Z1. It was purchased in Dubai. In one week I have faced this issue twice. The issue is that suddenly all the signals disappear ( I am using BSNL sim ). And when I try to register it on network an error message comes that cannot register on network. Make sure your SIM card is inserted or selected network is available. So is this issue with the SIM card or the phone?
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2013, 20:09   #16774
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dry Ice View Post
XDA reports GNex won't be getting the KitKat! Surprising as on one hand, Google is hinting at some sort of consolidation, and on the other they are rolling it out to only select devices.

But, I guess, someone at XDA will eventually get it on the GNex.
The problem with GNex is the OMAP processor. TI is not in ARM processors anymore, so Google couldn't get updated drivers for it required for KitKat.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 00:45   #16775
BHPian
 
nishantbhatia84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 283
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys there is a problem in my Xperia Z1. It was purchased in Dubai. In one week I have faced this issue twice. The issue is that suddenly all the signals disappear ( I am using BSNL sim ). And when I try to register it on network an error message comes that cannot register on network. Make sure your SIM card is inserted or selected network is available. So is this issue with the SIM card or the phone?
That's a weird issue you've got here!
Let's try to isolate the problem first with these steps:
1. Identify if the issue you're facing is location-specific. (The network might have a problem at certain locations)
2. If it is location-specific, contact BSNL.
3. If not location specific, try replacing your usim from BSNL (maybe the existing usim is faulty)
4. If issue persists even with the new usim, try a usim from another network. (preferably Vodafone, as they have a better network imo)
5. If issue doesn't appear with another network usim, contact BSNL - or port-out!
6. If issue still persists, take a backup of all your phone contacts and data and run a full reset on your phone. (not just reset factory settings, run a full-wipe)
7. Most likely the issue will get resolved, if it doesn't, contact Sony authorized service centre and pray!!

Hope this helps!

EDIT:
Just in: Minor software update for the Galaxy S4 i9500! The update said it's for stability issues and was just 17mb.
Initial observations:
1. The screen flicker issue seems to be been fixed! (finally)
2. UI animations and rendering seems to be snappier!
Will post other changes / improvements as i notice them (if any)

Last edited by nishantbhatia84 : 2nd November 2013 at 01:14.
nishantbhatia84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 05:44   #16776
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantbhatia84 View Post
That's a weird issue you've got here!
Let's try to isolate the problem first with these steps:
1. Identify if the issue you're facing is location-specific. (The network might have a problem at certain locations)
2. If it is location-specific, contact BSNL.
3. If not location specific, try replacing your usim from BSNL (maybe the existing usim is faulty)
4. If issue persists even with the new usim, try a usim from another network. (preferably Vodafone, as they have a better network imo)
5. If issue doesn't appear with another network usim, contact BSNL - or port-out!
6. If issue still persists, take a backup of all your phone contacts and data and run a full reset on your phone. (not just reset factory settings, run a full-wipe)
7. Most likely the issue will get resolved, if it doesn't, contact Sony authorized service centre and pray!!

Hope this helps!

EDIT:
Just in: Minor software update for the Galaxy S4 i9500! The update said it's for stability issues and was just 17mb.
Initial observations:
1. The screen flicker issue seems to be been fixed! (finally)
2. UI animations and rendering seems to be snappier!
Will post other changes / improvements as i notice them (if any)
Thanks a lot for the detaiked answer. I dont think it is location specific because I live right in the heart of the city. The issue is like this. The phone is working fine. I am able to receive sms and calls. After few hours maybe when I picked up the phone to make a call I noticed that the signals have disappeared. A message comes that not registered on network. I try to register it by going into settings and under mobile networks. I click cellone from the list. After sometime a message comes that could not connect to network etc. This was the issue that I faced yesterday. The solution was that I restarted my phone. Since then the phone is working fine.

Once more I faced the same issue. That time when I tried registering the sim manually it worked.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 05:47   #16777
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,981
Thanked: 3,407 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Once more I faced the same issue. That time when I tried registering the sim manually it worked.
I kinda feel this is more of a network issue than the phone itself. As suggested, a better approach is to swap SIM cards from a different carrier on your phone, from maybe a family member and see if this comes up again. If not, you know the culprit.

I have seen this happen on my phone when travelling in a lift in a high-rise, where the phone shows no network, or SIM not registered on exiting the lift. A couple of minutes later, it logs back onto the network, and all is well.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 07:43   #16778
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paradise (wish it was)
Posts: 311
Thanked: 91 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

somewhat similar issue on my BIL's Lenovo k900 with the BSNL network. The phone works fine with other networks. With BSNL SIM, it does not detect the network I am told. It was OK on day 1 as I know they had managed to call me with it. After that, they say it is not working.

I suggested them to check the network mode (force it to GSM). Not sure what they did, but claimed they tried it and still it is not working. Google says, that this mobile does not work with a 3G BSNL SIM :(

So, I need to get hold of that phone & the misbehaving SIM together to check next!

PS: They got a normal SIM & got it cut for uSIM format. The cutting is proper as it was done with a SIM cutter. Even the vodafone SIM was cut using the same cutter and it is working fine as expected.
null is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 10:13   #16779
BHPian
 
nishantbhatia84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 283
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post

Thanks a lot for the detaiked answer. I dont think it is location specific because I live right in the heart of the city. The issue is like this. The phone is working fine. I am able to receive sms and calls. After few hours maybe when I picked up the phone to make a call I noticed that the signals have disappeared. A message comes that not registered on network. I try to register it by going into settings and under mobile networks. I click cellone from the list. After sometime a message comes that could not connect to network etc. This was the issue that I faced yesterday. The solution was that I restarted my phone. Since then the phone is working fine.

Once more I faced the same issue. That time when I tried registering the sim manually it worked.
Network issues can happen anywhere, doesn't matter where you live - because network strength gets affected by multiple factors like concrete walls, electrical interference, surrounding buildings/trees, direction of your home windows, etc.
IMO, it's an issue with the BSNL network and one of the below might be happening:
1. If you have 3G activated, and if the 3G network strength is weak/fluctuating, the phone will keep switching between 2G & 3G and ultimately get confused and stuck with no network - this may sound weird but it DOES happen!
2. If you're just using 2G network, it's possible that you're getting similar strength signal from two distant network towers (i.e. Towers too far from each other to be able to talk to / communicate with each other) - what happens here is that the phone gets confused between which tower to register with, as both have similar network strength, and hence keeps moving from one tower to another - making the tower system consider your phone as a rogue device and hence not registering it after some time.
3. Issue with BSNL network servers - this will also result in your phone getting de-registered from the network.

I suggest you try a different network usim to identify the issue and take it from there.
nishantbhatia84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 13:37   #16780
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys since yesterday I am facing another issue. This time it is the camera that is giving issue. When I try to open the camera app an error message comes that camera is not available. It has happened 3-4 times since yesterday. I have clicked a picture of it also.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 13:40   #16781
BHPian
 
nishantbhatia84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 283
Thanked: 245 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys since yesterday I am facing another issue. This time it is the camera that is giving issue. When I try to open the camera app an error message comes that camera is not available. It has happened 3-4 times since yesterday. I have clicked a picture of it also.
What phone are you using?
I suggest you take a backup and do a full reset on your phone. If that doesn't resolve the issue then you're looking at a possible camera module damage (most probably liquid ingression)
nishantbhatia84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 14:01   #16782
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I am using Xperia Z1.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 14:54   #16783
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,587
Thanked: 640 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
I am using Xperia Z1.
Check if you have a software update waiting and you didn't update ?
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2013, 15:00   #16784
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 93 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Check if you have a software update waiting and you didn't update ?
I checked and found OTA update. It was 5.8 MB. Lets see if the update helps.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2013, 11:00   #16785
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DL9C
Posts: 2,417
Thanked: 2,063 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
The problem with GNex is the OMAP processor. TI is not in ARM processors anymore, so Google couldn't get updated drivers for it required for KitKat.
Right. And that is causing some graphical issues, like when changing screen orientation. Other than that, it seems flawless for an alpha build - I am on Slimkat - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2508401

The promise about KitKat being lighter on the RAM, seems true on facevalue. For now, with all apps in place I seem to have ~350mb RAM free, earlier it used to be only about 120 or so. But I would give it a few days and then check again - to get an idea of average.

Dialer is totally new, apparently we can search and dial a number directly from it - yet to try it.

OK Google - works for almost all the tasks - but phone crashed when I asked it to make a call - alpha build issue I guess.

The transclusent notification bar is a welcome change - though many of the ROMs were already offering it ICS onwards.

Hangouts as default SMS app - didn't use it, reverted to Messaging, will try when I have some more time!

All in all, a timely sweet diwali gift from XDA and Google!
Dry Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« The iPhone Thread | - »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks