Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th November 2013, 00:57   #16921
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,555
Thanked: 646 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRIV3R View Post
Scenario 1: You have been using WA for a while with the registered sim. Later you just remove the sim card and use wifi for data, WA would work fine.

Scenario 2: Likewise, but you insert another sim card, WA would ask you to re verify your number.

This is what I have experienced.



CPU Z says 320 dpi. Not sure which spec to believe.

Attachment 1165588
Dpi and PPI are different

Please read below, http://www.imagescience.com.au/kb/qu...en+PPI+and+DPI

NOTE 2 has 267 PPI
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 04:19   #16922
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 39
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

The Moto G is finally out and priced aggressively. Base model at $179 ($199 for 16GB, at half Nexus 5 price), this could steal nexus 5 thunder, at least in India. Apparently slated for India / US release very early 2014.

Hands on reviews on TC & Engadget compare it favourably with Moto X. No 4G/LTE is the only observed deal stopper. http://www.engadget.com/2013/11/13/m...ffordable-and/
Juggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 09:31   #16923
Senior - BHPian
 
DRIV3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,650
Thanked: 1,097 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post

Dpi and PPI are different

Please read below, http://www.imagescience.com.au/kb/qu...en+PPI+and+DPI

NOTE 2 has 267 PPI
I know that dpi and ppi are different, excuse my blurry eyes after 12 hours of work yesterday.
DRIV3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 14:44   #16924
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,625
Thanked: 1,251 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Heard that the Note 3 sold in India does not come with the Snap Dragon 800 processor. Is it true?
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 15:03   #16925
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,028
Thanked: 377 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Heard that the Note 3 sold in India does not come with the Snap Dragon 800 processor. Is it true?
Non LTE version is with Exynos 5 Octa , synthetic benchmarks are quite close to Snap Dragon 800.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 15:06   #16926
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,625
Thanked: 1,251 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Non LTE version is with Exynos 5 Octa , synthetic benchmarks are quite close to Snap Dragon 800.

Oh ok. No does it mean 4G compatible note 3 gets snap dragon and 3G compatible note 3 gets the Exynos 5 Octa?

If this is true then its bad. Since they charge a huge premium for this phone!
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 15:12   #16927
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,028
Thanked: 377 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Oh ok. No does it mean 4G compatible note 3 gets snap dragon and 3G compatible note 3 gets the Exynos 5 Octa?

If this is true then its bad. Since they charge a huge premium for this phone!
Why bad ? What makes you think Exynos 5 is inferior or cheaper ?


As a matter of fact Qualcomm is leading vendor for modem and what i heard total pricing for AP + LTE chip-set works out better. Also USA is operator dominated market and operators insists on QC there.

Samsung does have an LTE chipset of it's own but QC has multi-mode LTE + 3G modem at much cheaper price so it is purely business.

The LTE band which India has chose is not supported by any of these phones so it is useless for us in any case.
amitk26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 19:20   #16928
BHPian
 
driving_smartly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 476
Thanked: 211 Times
Default

I need to keep track of no of calls made in my billing cycle

Any good application which can monitor my calls and sms?
driving_smartly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 20:47   #16929
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,381
Thanked: 329 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Why bad ? What makes you think Exynos 5 is inferior or cheaper ?
Exynos is not well supported by custom ROMs.
NetfreakBombay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2013, 23:48   #16930
BHPian
 
nishantbhatia84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 288
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post

Exynos is not well supported by custom ROMs.
I don't think so, even if that's true, it still doesn't make Exynos a bad processor! It's super fast and will easily last and support the next 12-15 software. The only reason why there are very few custom roms available for the Exynos is because all major countries have LTE and hence have got the Snapdragon processor for the Galaxy S4.
nishantbhatia84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2013, 10:34   #16931
BHPian
 
cooljai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: KL-30/KA-53
Posts: 91
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Samsung Galaxy S3 Screen Replacement

Just dropped my Galaxy S3, and now the screen glass is cracked.
There seems to be no damage to the digitizer nor the LCD Screen.
Called up the authorized service centers, and they all replace the entire unit, and the quote is around Rs.6700.
Checked and found that you can just replace the screen glass, and its sold for around Rs.650 online. There are some detailed YouTube videos also on how this is done.
The only equipment thats required is a heat gun, costing around Rs.1300.
Is there any reliable mobile phone service centers in Bangalore which do just the screen glass replacement, as opposed to the entire front unit?
If there are no service centers, was thinking of trying this on my own, has anyone here tried this before?
cooljai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2013, 12:32   #16932
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,935
Thanked: 2,384 Times
Default Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 Screen Replacement

Haven't done by myself, but seen in person how it is being done on my friend's Nokia mobile (couldn't recall the model). Not a tough task but requires more attention.

If you have the experience in similar task before, you can try DIY, else I would suggest to take any mobile service centre.
Mr.Boss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2013, 14:34   #16933
BHPian
 
GearOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 31
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by driving_smartly View Post
I need to keep track of no of calls made in my billing cycle

Any good application which can monitor my calls and sms?
Have been using DroidStats for the same purpose.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...onestats&hl=en
GearOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2013, 14:59   #16934
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,433
Thanked: 686 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Any Google Now remidners users here?

I am trying to get around using it, but it doesnt seem to work properly for me. I am trying to add a reminder with Time & address both fields mentioned. But only one of 2 details is saved. The other one goes to default on its own.

Eg. I am adding a reminder for 18:30 for XYZ place. It will only save 18:30 and erase the address i have entered.
And, if i enter the address field and click ok, it removes the time (18:30) and sets it to Today > Night on its own.

Can someone please share with me, what is it that i am not doing correctly? Is it supposed to be Time & Place OR Time OR Place?

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-20131115145435.jpg

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-20131115145454.jpg

Regards,
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2013, 15:05   #16935
BHPian
 
driving_smartly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 476
Thanked: 211 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by GearOn View Post
Have been using DroidStats for the same purpose.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...onestats&hl=en
Thanks a lot @GearOn

I have just installed it, will have to wait and watch how it performs.

Hope it is bug free
driving_smartly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks