Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th December 2013, 09:52   #17356
Senior - BHPian
 
BoneCollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: -----****-----
Posts: 1,026
Thanked: 1,462 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
Have anyone upgraded the android version for Samsung Note 2 from 4.1.2 ? I see that US versions get firmware upgrade, however when I updated the software OTA it is still in 4.1.2
I did the upgrade from 4.1.2 to 4.3 around 1st week of December. Did not use Kies this time. There was another update of around 18MB that was done last week.
BoneCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2013, 10:40   #17357
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post

I did the upgrade from 4.1.2 to 4.3 around 1st week of December. Did not use Kies this time. There was another update of around 18MB that was done last week.
Thanks, just now saw that it is downloading 700 MB file, will this OS update erase user data or will update only system files?
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2013, 11:42   #17358
Senior - BHPian
 
BoneCollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: -----****-----
Posts: 1,026
Thanked: 1,462 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post

Thanks, just now saw that it is downloading 700 MB file, will this OS update erase user data or will update only system files?
It does not erase any data, not even call logs. It only updates the system files. I had been using a Galaxy S2 and upgraded it from 2.3.3 to 4.0.1 and then to 4.1.2 and never did any data get corrupted. My Note 2 also was upgraded from 4.1.2 to 4.3 without any issues.
BoneCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2013, 14:31   #17359
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post

It does not erase any data, not even call logs. It only updates the system files. I had been using a Galaxy S2 and upgraded it from 2.3.3 to 4.0.1 and then to 4.1.2 and never did any data get corrupted. My Note 2 also was upgraded from 4.1.2 to 4.3 without any issues.
Thanks for the info, got updated to 4.3 version. Earlier I used to get 3 to 4 days battery, but now it comes only 1 day and Android system uses most CPU, let's see how is the battery life
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2013, 15:52   #17360
Senior - BHPian
 
bluevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,963
Thanked: 2,211 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Got the Android 4.3 OTA update on my brother's Note 2 yesterday. The first update was around 700MB and after update I further received a 50 MB 'system' update.

Phone is much smoother now.

Now when KitKat is coming for Note 2?
bluevolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2013, 23:13   #17361
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 468
Thanked: 158 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Got my Nexus5 last week. Placed the order on Dec24 on Play store, the site mentioned a wait of 3-4 weeks and the card would be charged after the product leaves the warehouse. I was ready for the long wait just like the Ecosport, but was surprised by a mail on Dec26 saying that product was shipped. Delivered to me on Dec27 by Fedex.

The phone itself doesn't need any reviews. Its sleek, light and fast (without any apps). Main Camera is decent but the front camera is poor. Battery is one concern, with poor signal reception battery drains out fast, the main culprit was the default setting of "LTE", changing it 2G or 3G offers better coverage and a decent charge. Received an OTA update to 4.4.2.
sansvk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2013, 16:48   #17362
Senior - BHPian
 
BoneCollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: -----****-----
Posts: 1,026
Thanked: 1,462 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post

Thanks for the info, got updated to 4.3 version. Earlier I used to get 3 to 4 days battery, but now it comes only 1 day and Android system uses most CPU, let's see how is the battery life
Check today again. I received a 63MB update today OTA. Regarding the battery, yes it does drain faster compared to 4.1.2 . The Wifi also acts weird. The latest update says it improves stability. Lets see.
BoneCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2014, 22:22   #17363
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 26
Thanked: 32 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
..The Wifi also acts weird. The latest update says it improves stability. Lets see.
Congratulations on getting a Nexus 5. Such a beautiful machine.

On Wi-Fi: Has this been done to reduce battery consumption by Wi-Fi?
Settings->Wi-Fi->Advanced->Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep (choose Never). This prevents the mobile from scanning for an available Wi-Fi all the time.

My apologies if you have already done this on the Nexus 5. I get outstanding battery life. Thanks.
smahesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2014, 23:17   #17364
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,433
Thanked: 686 Times
Default

Any Moto G users in the house? Wanted to know what kinda 3G speeds they getting? I am not entirely sure if these are the best speeds I should be getting out of Vodafone 3G. Earlier I used to get a H symbol on my Samsung and now in Moto G I get only 3G. Is that a deal breaker?


Name:  ForumRunner_20140101_231530.png
Views: 940
Size:  172.0 KB

I will run another speed test tomorrow from a different geographical location. This could be a temporary issue due to my location.

Can other Vodafone 3G subscribers please share what kind of speeds they getting?

Regards,
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 00:53   #17365
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,226
Thanked: 578 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Any Moto G users in the house? Wanted to know what kinda 3G speeds they getting? I am not entirely sure if these are the best speeds I should be getting out of Vodafone 3G. Earlier I used to get a H symbol on my Samsung and now in Moto G I get only 3G. Is that a deal breaker?


Attachment 1185532

I will run another speed test tomorrow from a different geographical location. This could be a temporary issue due to my location.

Can other Vodafone 3G subscribers please share what kind of speeds they getting?

Regards,
You should be getting H which is faster than 3g.
I am getting H and on vodafone network.
So check with customer care why you are getting 3g.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 00:59   #17366
Senior - BHPian
 
bluevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,963
Thanked: 2,211 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

AFAIK, 3G and H symbols have same meaning at least in case of Airtel? I get both symbols randomly.
bluevolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 06:15   #17367
Senior - BHPian
 
h@r$h@l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GJ1
Posts: 1,433
Thanked: 686 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post

You should be getting H which is faster than 3g.
I am getting H and on vodafone network.
So check with customer care why you are getting 3g.
Hi

Are you also using Motorola Moto G?
h@r$h@l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 08:50   #17368
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
Moto GEarlier I used to get a H symbol on my Samsung and now in Moto G I get only 3G. Is that a deal breaker?

Is this "US GSM Version" or "International GSM Version" of Moto G? Both are available in US.

H provides higher speeds, but requires HSPA+ frequencies that might be different in India.

Quote:
International GSM Version:

GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

UMTS/HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz)

US GSM Model:

GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

UMTS/HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps (850, 1700 (AWS), 1900 MHz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
I will run another speed test tomorrow from a different geographical location. This could be a temporary issue due to my location.

This is also possible.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 08:53   #17369
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chennai
Posts: 234
Thanked: 286 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

My Nexus 4 is doomed after 4.4.2 update. Following are the issues that I'm facing.
Phone restarts on it's own.
Clicking on the camera app shuts down the phone and it doesn't start.
Fully charged battery doesn't stay for more than 3 hours.
While the battery percentage shows around 35%, it refuses to connect to the mobile network. And when connected to a power source, phone switches off and shows charging from 1%.
Mobile connection drops every few seconds. 3G interent doesn't work for more a few mins.

Uff. That was a mouthful.
Mudhalaipatti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2014, 09:31   #17370
Senior - BHPian
 
F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PUNE
Posts: 1,557
Thanked: 646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudhalaipatti View Post
My Nexus 4 is doomed after 4.4.2 update. Following are the issues that I'm facing.
Phone restarts on it's own.
Clicking on the camera app shuts down the phone and it doesn't start.
Fully charged battery doesn't stay for more than 3 hours.
While the battery percentage shows around 35%, it refuses to connect to the mobile network. And when connected to a power source, phone switches off and shows charging from 1%.
Mobile connection drops every few seconds. 3G interent doesn't work for more a few mins.

Uff. That was a mouthful.
Flash 4.4.2 using nexus root tool kit. The firmware can be downloaded from google's firmware page. Do a factory reset including the memory.
F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks