Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th April 2014, 14:14   #18046
Senior - BHPian
 
Soumyajit9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 10010
Posts: 1,509
Thanked: 1,649 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by smrtdvl View Post
In fact it goes off just by randomly clicking on some icon or home button twice or thrice. If I do a factory reset will I loose any data since there is no separate memory card.
Yes, if you do a factory reset, the entire phone will be wiped out.
Contacts, SMS, Applications, Pictures, Music, Videos, Documents, WhatsApp - Everything will be wiped out.
It will be a new phone, Out of Box.

But, you should be able to take a full backup of the phone settings and data (apps, contacts, pics, music, etc).
I am not aware of, but is there a Motorola Software that does this ?
For exmaple, Nokia Suite, Samsung Kies, etc.

Note: If you are giving it to the Motorola Service Center, please explicitly tell them and get in writing, "Do not do factory reset or software reset or software update".
You need to first take a back up before handing over the device to SC.
Soumyajit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2014, 15:09   #18047
BHPian
 
smrtdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 228
Thanked: 65 Times
Default

I think even Motorola is clueless about this issue as it has been reported in their forum already and they have replied that they are working on the solution. Moreover it is said that it is the problem with kitkat and other devices having kitkat have the same problem. https://forums.motorola.com/posts/2a904fa8d0?page=3

PS: I've installed Nova launcher as of now.

Last edited by smrtdvl : 25th April 2014 at 15:12.
smrtdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2014, 15:19   #18048
Senior - BHPian
 
Soumyajit9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 10010
Posts: 1,509
Thanked: 1,649 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by smrtdvl View Post
I think even Motorola is clueless about this issue as it has been reported in their forum already and they have replied that they are working on the solution. Moreover it is said that it is the problem with kitkat and other devices having kitkat have the same problem. https://forums.motorola.com/posts/2a904fa8d0?page=3

PS: I've installed Nova launcher as of now.
Ohh No !!! That is some serious software glitch, affected worldwide.

Does the Nova Launcher work on Samsung phones as well ?
I am looking out for a nice launcher for my new Grand Neo.
Have used Go Launcher / Locker, so want to try something new ?
Soumyajit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2014, 15:26   #18049
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Ohh No !!! That is some serious software glitch, affected worldwide.

Does the Nova Launcher work on Samsung phones as well ?
I am looking out for a nice launcher for my new Grand Neo.
Have used Go Launcher / Locker, so want to try something new ?
You can try launcher that is present on Nexus. Google has released it in Play store. Search for "Google Now Launcher".
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2014, 00:37   #18050
BHPian
 
smrtdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 228
Thanked: 65 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can try launcher that is present on Nexus. Google has released it in Play store. Search for "Google Now Launcher".
Couldn't find an app with that name.
smrtdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2014, 09:21   #18051
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by smrtdvl View Post
Couldn't find an app with that name.
Direct link:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.launcher

In case this is blocked, steps mentioned in http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2506488 can be used.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2014, 17:36   #18052
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,587 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

@Soumyajit9; I use GCloud backup to keep the data. You can reload from there. I hear Google drive can do the same.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 13:26   #18053
Senior - BHPian
 
Soumyajit9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 10010
Posts: 1,509
Thanked: 1,649 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Direct link:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droid.launcher

In case this is blocked, steps mentioned in http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2506488 can be used.
Thanks for the link NetfreakBombay. My luck doesn't get worse than this. See the screenshot below. :'(

Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-capture.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
@Soumyajit9; I use GCloud backup to keep the data. You can reload from there. I hear Google drive can do the same.
Thanks sgiitk sir. After my Grand was pickpocketed, I have learnt lessons in the hard way. Now I have synced up my Grand Neo with Google Drive and other Google services. Everything now has a back up on Google.
Soumyajit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 13:51   #18054
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Thanks for the link NetfreakBombay. My luck doesn't get worse than this. See the screenshot below. :'(

Attachment 1235382



Thanks sgiitk sir. After my Grand was pickpocketed, I have learnt lessons in the hard way. Now I have synced up my Grand Neo with Google Drive and other Google services. Everything now has a back up on Google.
Google Now Launcher only works on devices with Kitkat.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 14:01   #18055
Senior - BHPian
 
Soumyajit9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 10010
Posts: 1,509
Thanked: 1,649 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Google Now Launcher only works on devices with Kitkat.
Ohh I see !! I have JellyBean on my Grand Neo.

But isn't it actually a confusion ? KitKat would have Google Launcher ? So why does one need to install this launcher separately ?

EDIT: Actually this makes sense now. For example if someone wants to get rid of the Samsung TouchWiz launcher on the S5 or any of its devices with KitKat, they can install this and get rid of the stock launcher. Hmmm, makes sense now.

Last edited by Soumyajit9 : 28th April 2014 at 14:03. Reason: EDIT
Soumyajit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 14:08   #18056
BHPian
 
smrtdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 228
Thanked: 65 Times
Default

I have a moto g running kitkat and the launcher says my phone is incompatible too.
smrtdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 14:27   #18057
BHPian
 
HappyRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lucknow
Posts: 447
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Ohh I see !! I have JellyBean on my Grand Neo.

But isn't it actually a confusion ? KitKat would have Google Launcher ? So why does one need to install this launcher separately ?

EDIT: Actually this makes sense now. For example if someone wants to get rid of the Samsung TouchWiz launcher on the S5 or any of its devices with KitKat, they can install this and get rid of the stock launcher. Hmmm, makes sense now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smrtdvl View Post
I have a moto g running kitkat and the launcher says my phone is incompatible too.
Actually Google Now Launcher is only available for Nexus and Google play edition devices. Their are ways to install Google Now Launcher on other devices as well. Search net. Plenty of methods available.
HappyRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 16:49   #18058
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

I am using Nova launcher on my Nexus4. Is Google now launcher better?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2014, 21:37   #18059
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Thanks for the link NetfreakBombay. My luck doesn't get worse than this. See the screenshot below. :'(
It should work on your phone, try using this method for installation:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2506488
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2014, 05:24   #18060
BHPian
 
Speed.Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kochi/Manama
Posts: 234
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I have used both, and I personally prefer Nova launcher. Google Now launcher doesn't really offer anything extra, except for the 'OK Google' voice activated thing.

Nova launcher offers more customization options, and I think its a bit faster too.
Speed.Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks