Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th April 2015, 03:34   #21076
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,695
Thanked: 6,870 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post


Ok, this falls into my professional domain (IP telephony). Even though you both were in the same local network, the media gateway/proxy is remote. Unless Whatapp enables a feature called IP shuffing, your call will go all the way to the whatapp server and come back. It is not some crazy routing, but very normal routing for a VOIP call. Unless the media gateway has direct visibility to the endpoints (your devices), it can't use IP shuffing. Since your devices were behind your home router, the calls will be routing via whatsapp media gateway.
Yes, understood/assumed that the calls go via the Whatsapp server, wherever that happens to be, even if the callers are sitting next to each other. What I really meant, badly expressed, by "crazy routing" was one or more of the devices doing something like using 2G mobile network instead of wifi. Really, though, that would not have happened because, although I do occasionally forget to turn it off, I only enable mobile data on my phone when I need to use it for a few minutes; I have no data plan for the phone.

It was actually bad enough to be broken: just a stuttering noise.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 08:23   #21077
BHPian
 
cpbopanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 552
Thanked: 774 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
You must be a preferred magna carta platinum customer or something. Most areas I'm in Bangalore can barely hold 3G signal consistently, forget 4G.
I tried it on the office network with another colleague on wifi and it worked OK.
No Magna Carta here

My erstwhile Galaxy S2 always tried to downgrade and connect to the strongest signal - meaning, if 2G and 3G were both available and the 3G signal was relatively weak, the phone would fall back into 2G mode!

On my Galaxy S5 LTE, it's quite the opposite! It holds on to the highest (not strongest) signal to the extent possible, i.e. If there is a weak LTE signal and relatively strong 3G/2G signals, it would continue on LTE network until it almost became impossible to function, then switch over to the 3G network.

If even this (3G) signal becomes weak, it falls-back to EDGE as a last resort!

I cannot fathom the reason why this particular sequence of network selection occurs (good antenna / Snapdragon processor), but it sure works in my favor, with those blazing upload/download speeds!

And I'm sure, THIS is precisely the way anybody would want it to work!

Last edited by cpbopanna : 4th April 2015 at 08:26.
cpbopanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 09:09   #21078
BHPian
 
hellmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GTA
Posts: 810
Thanked: 637 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Looking for a 3G enabled tablet for under 10K for mum. What would you recommend? Ideally, the device would have an 8" screen, but 7" should be just OK.

I'm comparing the Huawei T1 and the HP Slate 7 Voicetab, but if there are hidden gems in the market, I would want to take a look at those too.

EDIT: It would be nice to have a tablet with a large battery.

Last edited by hellmet : 4th April 2015 at 09:36.
hellmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 10:05   #21079
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,086
Thanked: 3,645 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

It seems that Voda speeds have improved dramatically. Yesterday, my Den connection packed up so I went over to Mobile Data (I have 3G). I am in a fringe area but was amazed to see 5Mbps download and 2Mbps upload on Speedtest.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 11:07   #21080
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Purnea(Bihar)
Posts: 5,076
Thanked: 4,505 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post
I got the 5.1 update on my Nexus 5 two days ago and the phone's become a wee-bit faster since the update. Lag that was present with the 5.0 update is now gone.
And my experience is just the opposite. Copied from Nexus Help forum.

Quote:
I had a dream run with my Nexus 5 for the past 15-16 months and I absolutely had no issues, but with the 5.1 upgrade, my phone resembles a Samsung budget phone now. Phone is laggy, it freezes, applications don't open or close. Password protected apps open & a password is asked for sometimes (at least 10 seconds later). WiFi to Data connection isn't seamless. It takes a bit of time. In short, it has become the opposite of what it is. And for the first time, yesterday, my phone restarted on its own.

Any tips, suggestions or I got to wait out for the 5.1.1 or whatever?
Sheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 12:13   #21081
BHPian
 
amrisharm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: siliguri/Darj
Posts: 505
Thanked: 298 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellmet View Post
Looking for a 3G enabled tablet for under 10K for mum. What would you recommend? Ideally, the device would have an 8" screen, but 7" should be just OK.

I'm comparing the Huawei T1 and the HP Slate 7 Voicetab, but if there are hidden gems in the market, I would want to take a look at those too.

EDIT: It would be nice to have a tablet with a large battery.
Hi there I was in a similar situation as you, we bought the Dell 7 Venue tablet. It has a great battery, will last 2 days with moderate use. It has voice calling but you will either have to use headphones or speaker to make and receive voice calls. The screen is not the best, as the colours appear a little dull. But I think due to this, it does not drain the battery too much. I use it for business use so dont really care for screen colours too much.

Overall I am very happy with the tab except for 1 big issue. It comes with 1GB ram with almost 500-600mb used up with preloaded apps and OS. That is the only complaint I have of this tab. Once you load the usual social sites like viber whatsapp fb etc your RAM is almost full and there isn't much room for too many other extra apps.

Apart from the RAM and the dull screen we are very satisfied with the tab.
If your mom will only require for socializing then a good option.
amrisharm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 12:14   #21082
Distinguished - BHPian
 
vb-san's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S'pore/Thrissur
Posts: 4,601
Thanked: 3,530 Times
Default

Any suggestions on a good free app to monitor data usage?
vb-san is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 12:29   #21083
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,615
Thanked: 1,214 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Any suggestions on a good free app to monitor data usage?
I use Internet speed meter and am happy with it. No frills app.
sagarpadaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 13:31   #21084
BHPian
 
pixantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 527
Thanked: 601 Times
Default

Hi people. I just upgraded to 5.0.2 on my HTC One M7 this morning. Now I've noticed two apps in my menu namely 'Clean Master' and 'News and Weather'. Im not actally bothered about the news app but I'm vary of the Cleanmaster thingie because I never install such apps on my phone. My confusion is that did these apps get installed as part of Lollipop or did they get installed in rogue manner along with some recent app install that I did? Anyone noticed this? I don't usually access my Menu as I only use the shortcuts I make myself so this went unnoticed. Help.
pixantz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 13:47   #21085
BHPian
 
hellmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GTA
Posts: 810
Thanked: 637 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post
Hi there I was in a similar situation as you, we bought the Dell 7 Venue tablet. It has a great battery, will last 2 days with moderate use. It has voice calling but you will either have to use headphones or speaker to make and receive voice calls. The screen is not the best, as the colours appear a little dull. But I think due to this, it does not drain the battery too much. I use it for business use so dont really care for screen colours too much.

Overall I am very happy with the tab except for 1 big issue. It comes with 1GB ram with almost 500-600mb used up with preloaded apps and OS. That is the only complaint I have of this tab. Once you load the usual social sites like viber whatsapp fb etc your RAM is almost full and there isn't much room for too many other extra apps.

Apart from the RAM and the dull screen we are very satisfied with the tab.
If your mom will only require for socializing then a good option.
Thanks. The main purpose is for internet browsing and social usage so we wouldn't be using the tab for calling at all. The 3G would be for internet connectivity only.

How would you compare the Dell Venue 7 with, say, the Nexus 7? Equal or better, overall? I already own a Nexus 7 myself (non 3G, though)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Any suggestions on a good free app to monitor data usage?
Try "Balance Inbox". I find it to be a great app. Only works on prepaid, though.
hellmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 12:26   #21086
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 372
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Hello everyone. Has anybody used SD maid PRO on their rooted android? This is the best app and directory cleaner for android and does a fab job of removing unwanted data such as advertisement data of various apps (eg BBM, Tango etc).

Ive used clean master and it loaded more data onto my android than cleaning it. And yes UC browser is not safe to use as I read from a few forums.
Ford5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 13:30   #21087
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,695
Thanked: 6,870 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Has anybody used SD maid PRO on their rooted android?
After taxis and autos, I'm thinking that now domestic staff can be called with an app.

Quote:
This is the best app and directory cleaner for android and does a fab job of removing unwanted data such as advertisement data of various apps (eg BBM, Tango etc).
Oh. Silly me!

Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 14:06   #21088
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 372
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

You should try it though.. in fact all android users must.. it cleans them taxi and auto calling apps leftovers very effectively and makes android feel slick like iOS sometimes
Ford5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 14:42   #21089
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,086
Thanked: 3,645 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Just upgraded my htc Sprint One (m7) to 6.23.651.6. The download was 312.0MB. Went Uber smooth and the installation took about half an hour (they stated about 45 minutes). Android is still 5.0.2 and Sense 6.0. No software or settings lost.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixantz View Post
Hi people. I just upgraded to 5.0.2 on my HTC One M7 this morning. Now I've noticed two apps in my menu namely 'Clean Master' and 'News and Weather'.
I have been using Clean master for quite some time. It is fine, but I do not let it go extreme.

Also, I ran the App Update, and found a lot of htc stuff waiting for me. So I downloaded it applied it. Phone continues to be smooth.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2015, 22:22   #21090
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 124
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinmaybaikar View Post
Clear the cache and all the data related to the Google play services then add a credit or debit card of the country you are in and proceed till the registration. It will switch.
Finally gave this a shot to check if Android recognises am in India. But after charging me INR 50 for registering my Indian credit card, Play store still shows all amounts in USD
DaiusPitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« The iPhone Thread | - »

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks