Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th March 2011, 20:36   #2356
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

^^ What you said about lcds is wrong. They consume the same amount of power irrespective of the content displayed. Amoleds, on the other hand, consume less for darker images.

For the same display size and resolution, amoleds consume much more current than led displays while displaying a complete white image!

Last edited by clevermax : 18th March 2011 at 20:40.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 23:39   #2357
BHPian
 
SchumiFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 849
Thanked: 696 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
^^ What you said about lcds is wrong. They consume the same amount of power irrespective of the content displayed. Amoleds, on the other hand, consume less for darker images.

For the same display size and resolution, amoleds consume much more current than led displays while displaying a complete white image!
Well, my point was from this picture that you have posted some pages back in this same thread. Now is it true or whathttp://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ml#post2209716

EDIT: Oops, just saw that the power consumed is almost the same even when colorful images are used. So it doesn't make a lot of difference. So strike than point out from my suggestions

Last edited by SchumiFan : 18th March 2011 at 23:41.
SchumiFan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2011, 18:00   #2358
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

^^ as you can see from that picture, power consumed by lcd screens are the same for all types of sample images whereas for amoled, power consumption varies drastically from darker images to whiter ones.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2011, 23:55   #2359
Senior - BHPian
 
Fordmanchau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,663
Thanked: 291 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

@clevermax:just wanted to know,if we can save the routes and other details like speed,distance,etc while using the navigation through brut maps?
I activated the data connection on my phone and the navigation worked wonderfully,even the rerouting was perfect and it guided me perfectly on the U turns. Very happy with the performance, have not found any options to save the route details,but if it is there then It would bejust perfect.
Fordmanchau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 09:22   #2360
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by HammerHead View Post
Thanks for the suggestion.
Somehow I don't find LG phones well build. I may be wrong as I haven't seen any of their Android phones.
I had the same perception but now after using it for over 10 days - I find nothing to crib about. Its built very robust.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordmanchau View Post
@clevermax:just wanted to know,if we can save the routes and other details like speed,distance,etc while using the navigation through brut maps?
I activated the data connection on my phone and the navigation worked wonderfully,even the rerouting was perfect and it guided me perfectly on the U turns. Very happy with the performance, have not found any options to save the route details,but if it is there then It would bejust perfect.
And adding to this - can we change the voice ? The voice on Brut Maps is pathetic ! Like an announcement on Mumbai's railway platforms
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 17:16   #2361
Senior - BHPian
 
Fordmanchau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,663
Thanked: 291 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Here's a picture of my Wildfire's Battery life under different usage condition.
Name:  IMG_2469.JPG
Views: 362
Size:  58.9 KB Name:  IMG_2477.JPG
Views: 362
Size:  37.4 KB

The first one is under normal usage without GPS and navigation but with routine wifi usage, while the second one is with heavy GPS and wifi usage. .
I think the battery usage can get stretched to even 4 days , if the phone is used a little more judiciously. In both the cases , the battery left is around 10%.

Last edited by Fordmanchau : 20th March 2011 at 17:18.
Fordmanchau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 19:02   #2362
BHPian
 
d_himan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 690
Thanked: 513 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

bought the LG Opt 1 today for Rs.10250/- at e-zone. Bluetooth headset for an additional 250/-
d_himan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 20:45   #2363
BHPian
 
Sprucegoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 38 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Just upgraded my MOtorola Milestone to CyanogenMod 7 [Gingerbread]
battery life has gone through the roof...

I used to get 8 - 10 hours on a charge, but now i get about 8 hours when my battery is at 50%.

This is the first time i am trying a Custom Rom and they've definately fixed one of the main concerns of an android phone.
Battery life.

It's running faster as well..
Sprucegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 21:02   #2364
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 51
Thanked: Once
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I have flashed my Orange San Francisco with the FLB Froyo r10b custom ROM. Using my GPRS/EDGE/3G, I am unable to use or connect the Google Apps such as Gmail, Youtube, Market, Navigation. However, I am able to browse website, access gmail using the default browser with the 3G connection. Using the WiFi, I am able to connect to the Market, Gmail app but unable to connect to Youtube.

Is there a way to resolve this?

Thanks,
sparkglow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 21:05   #2365
BHPian
 
Sprucegoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 38 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkglow View Post
I have flashed my Orange San Francisco with the FLB Froyo r10b custom ROM. Using my GPRS/EDGE/3G, I am unable to use or connect the Google Apps such as Gmail, Youtube, Market, Navigation. However, I am able to browse website, access gmail using the default browser with the 3G connection. Using the WiFi, I am able to connect to the Market, Gmail app but unable to connect to Youtube.

Is there a way to resolve this?

Thanks,
you should go check out xda developers.
Chances are you'll get an answer there
Sprucegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 21:39   #2366
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 506
Thanked: 52 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkglow View Post
I have flashed my Orange San Francisco with the FLB Froyo r10b custom ROM. Using my GPRS/EDGE/3G, I am unable to use or connect the Google Apps such as Gmail, Youtube, Market, Navigation. However, I am able to browse website, access gmail using the default browser with the 3G connection. Using the WiFi, I am able to connect to the Market, Gmail app but unable to connect to Youtube.

Is there a way to resolve this?

Thanks,

R u on prepaid connection ?
have you subscribed for mobile office ? or is it just GPRS ?
livyodream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 23:17   #2367
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 51
Thanked: Once
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by livyodream View Post
R u on prepaid connection ?
have you subscribed for mobile office ? or is it just GPRS ?

I am on a postpaid connection with 3G. All google apps except youtube work fine on the Wifi but not on the 3G.
sparkglow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 23:34   #2368
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordmanchau View Post
@clevermax:just wanted to know,if we can save the routes and other details like speed,distance,etc while using the navigation through brut maps?
Yes, Google myTracks is the application you need. It works perfectly. I think you can just keep it running in the background while navigation is active.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprucegoose View Post
Just upgraded my MOtorola Milestone to CyanogenMod 7 [Gingerbread]
battery life has gone through the roof...

I used to get 8 - 10 hours on a charge, but now i get about 8 hours when my battery is at 50%.

This is the first time i am trying a Custom Rom and they've definately fixed one of the main concerns of an android phone.
Battery life.

It's running faster as well..
Wow, this is good news. I will go the custom ROM way very soon. Battery life is my only concern while using the phone heavily. Thanks Sprucegoose!

Last edited by clevermax : 20th March 2011 at 23:35.
clevermax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 10:32   #2369
BHPian
 
chetans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 225
Thanked: 71 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Samsung Galaxy S I9000 is in stock on Flipkart now. Price 24,999/-.

SGSL I9003 is available on letsbuy.com for 18,431/- after applying coupon code "icicilb" and using an ICICI account for payment . Looks like a great deal!
it says "samsung Galaxy S GT Brown I9003 (4GB) with Clear LCD (Free Samsung mini speakers worth Rs 1299)"

what does brown mean here?
in case its color, does it mean we cant buy black or any other color available?
chetans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 16:36   #2370
BHPian
 
Maverick1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 821
Thanked: 245 Times
Default Re: Android applications

1 function that I used to love on my Nokia was the phone shouting the name of the person. Do we have a similar kind of app on Droid. Its seriously useful when U driving & dont want to divert ur attention.
Maverick1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks