Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th August 2010, 17:50   #226
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellwratH View Post
...someone on XDA will make the necessary changes to be run it on Galaxy S
True true, but i'm a little scared to try them since this is my "lifeline". Though i'm sure that once i figure out how to completely backup my phone, i'll end up playing around with this stuff!

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellwratH View Post
...Umm, how do you know the number of satellites available
GPS Test > get it from the market. This shows satellites AVAIL as well as those IN USE.

If you just wanna see satellites avail - go to the phone and dial :
*#*#1472365#*#*
Click "get position test"

Something else cool to play with :

*#0*#

And more codes : Samsung Galaxy S - Working Codes - GSM-Forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellwratH View Post
..and how do you turn off skyhook? And what's RDP?
Skyhook via the *#*#1472365#*#* and then its in application settings i think. Its OFF by default IIRC.

RDP - remote desktop protocol. However i dont want to use RDP since it changes the resolution on my PC. Thats why i liked TeamViewer. Gotta check out this VMware option on WYSE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
..The phone is showing full signal but it's unreachable. Even my SIM is 8 years old. ...
Sounds exactly like the problem i had with my 6630. In such a state, outgoing calls were not possible either.

Suggest you change the SIM first. I haven't experienced any problems on the SGS, but i get only about 1-2 phonecalls a day .

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 24th August 2010 at 17:54.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 18:12   #227
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Trying another experiment on the phone to nail the issue. Will update if it succeeds. If not then SIM change will be one option to try next. And even if that fails then gonna return the phone or get a new one or I just dunno :(
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 20:31   #228
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Guys,
Don'don't bother applying lag fix. I am seeing them more now.

best is to wait for froyo update.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 21:38   #229
BHPian
 
HellwratH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 115
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
True true, but i'm a little scared to try them since this is my "lifeline". Though i'm sure that once i figure out how to completely backup my phone, i'll end up playing around with this stuff!



GPS Test > get it from the market. This shows satellites AVAIL as well as those IN USE.

If you just wanna see satellites avail - go to the phone and dial :
*#*#1472365#*#*
Click "get position test"

Something else cool to play with :

*#0*#

And more codes : Samsung Galaxy S - Working Codes - GSM-Forum



Skyhook via the *#*#1472365#*#* and then its in application settings i think. Its OFF by default IIRC.

RDP - remote desktop protocol. However i dont want to use RDP since it changes the resolution on my PC. Thats why i liked TeamViewer. Gotta check out this VMware option on WYSE.
Thanks again Rehaan . Taking a full backup is very easy on SGS and also applying any new ROM is equally easy as well .

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Trying another experiment on the phone to nail the issue. Will update if it succeeds. If not then SIM change will be one option to try next. And even if that fails then gonna return the phone or get a new one or I just dunno :(
Try someone else's sim on your phone and give it a shot. Then you'll know if it's a sim problem or not. My sim is about 5 years old now (the original orange colored hutch sim) and still runs ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
Guys,
Don'don't bother applying lag fix. I am seeing them more now.

best is to wait for froyo update.
Umm, I do not have any problems as such. My phone's still much faster than what it used to be. BTW, I have been using advance task killer to free up memory at regular intervals, give that a shot as well. Especially if you are used to opening a lot of apps.
HellwratH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 22:13   #230
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Update: Before starting from office to home tried changing the SIM and seems like to be SIM problem now. Used one of my friend's SIM for sometime(15+ mins) and the phone was still reachable. Gotta change the SIM card tomorrow.
And also it seems like this problem is no longer showing it's ugly face at my home now. Checked twice already after coming back home and phone is reachable.

Last edited by kaushik_s : 24th August 2010 at 22:21.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 02:14   #231
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Tried using Launcher Pro. Liked few things like pinch zoom of the home screens, shortcut dock at the bottom etc. The animation looks better then the touchwiz while moving around home screens.
But more then likes I have dislikes, first I can't use the Samsung Widgets. e.g. I liked "Buddies now" but can't use that with LP, and for the similar LP widget I'll have to get LP Plus. Didn't liked the application drawer which now looks like HTC's scroller. I liked the Samsung's iPhone type app drawer more.
Not able to find any widget for the weather clock like in the TouchWiz. There seems to be something called beautiful widgets but they seems to be paid apps and not showing in the market :(
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 07:59   #232
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

it's this iphonish nature of TW that made me go to LP. LP is more responsive too.

Btw I miss a joystick kind of device while text editing. Little painful to accuratly position the cursor.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 11:33   #233
BHPian
 
avasekeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangs
Posts: 57
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Whats a good droid phone to buy within 15k?. How is the new Samsung galaxy 5801?. Any other models?.
avasekeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 13:14   #234
MX6
Senior - BHPian
 
MX6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: City of seven islands.
Posts: 2,882
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

@avasekeh@ I bought the x10 mini pro for 15400. I'm happy with it. Waiting for the OTA upgrade to 2.1 next quarter.
MX6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 13:54   #235
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avasekeh View Post
Whats a good droid phone to buy within 15k?. How is the new Samsung galaxy 5801?. Any other models?.
Check out htc wildfire. HTC Wildfire - Full phone specifications

review of samsung models here -> Samsung Galaxy 3 and Galaxy Apollo review: Galactic twins - GSMArena.com

all above models comes with 2.1.

samsung seems to be having better hw specs.
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 14:10   #236
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,552
Thanked: 2,754 Times
Default

Which Asterisk client are you guys using with Android?
I need an Asterisk client to integrate my Nexus One with company PBX.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 15:37   #237
BHPian
 
HellwratH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 115
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

The only downside of wildfire is the lower resolution. Otherwise, it's a pretty good phone.
HellwratH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 18:46   #238
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,552
Thanked: 2,754 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Which Asterisk client are you guys using with Android?
I need an Asterisk client to integrate my Nexus One with company PBX.
Got Sipdroid, its working good.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 20:26   #239
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Gotta change the SIM card tomorrow.
Nice. Do let us know if that finally solves the problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
... But more then likes I have dislikes, first I can't use the Samsung Widgets...
Well you can't have a Ferrari with the FE of a i10. Atleast not yet!

However, just don't set a launcher as your default app. Then, everytime you press the button, choose which launcher you wish to use. Best of both worlds

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkrishn View Post
it's this iphonish nature of TW that made me go to LP.
Me too! And then i started to really like it.

Also, one more app worth mentioning :


Torrent Fu
- Lets you use the inbuilt functionality of uTorrent (and one other) to remotely search for / que up / manage your torrents running on a PC somewhere
- Nice simple interface and works well once set up



Lastly, 7" Galaxy TABLET being launched on Sept 2nd!



Its got 2.2! That means we can't be too far behind!

cya
R

PS - I bought my first $paid$ app from the market. Had to put in a US simcard i had (even though it was old and deactivated) and then worked like a charm.

Last edited by Rehaan : 25th August 2010 at 20:27.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 23:20   #240
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Changed the app drawer to 3D and now it's looking much better. Well I'm trying to get an widget for having something similar to the buddies now widget. Any pointers? If I get that then I can start using Launcher Pro full time.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:30.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks