Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th April 2017, 16:22   #25606
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,789
Thanked: 3,415 Times
Default

Remap Bixby Button on the S8/+ even after the Samsung patch. Non intrusive -

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...buttonremapper
dkaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 16:42   #25607
BHPian
 
BeantownThinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 216 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjbmw2001 View Post
I find this strange...
If you can connect to hear music then you should be able to use the telephony connection.
Please check the settings within the bluetooth on the phone.
Strange but true. I feel HTC have gone regressive in their development.

In the settings I see option to connect as headset but just cannot select the option.

See Screenshot below
Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods-phone-setting-screenshot.png


Quote:
Originally Posted by JonSnow View Post
Probably you would have already checked this but in the Bluetooth connection settings, is the telephony option selected ?
It does not allow to select. HTC "Help"Line also kind of confirmed this. I spent 3 full hours exploring all possibilites on the phone, including trying an app called CashDashdroid. But even that was of no help.

Last edited by BeantownThinker : 24th April 2017 at 17:04.
BeantownThinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 16:59   #25608
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 151
Thanked: 144 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeantownThinker View Post
It does not connect to my car ICE for bluetooth telephony. It connects to play the media through the phone but you cannot use the car's ICE for phone calls. Never had this issue in my earlier phone or any other phone for that matter.
Probably you would have already checked this but in the Bluetooth connection settings, is the telephony option selected ?

Edit: Saw your update just now. Strange that you cannot select the option. Can you retry when your phone is paired to the car ICE ?

Last edited by JonSnow : 24th April 2017 at 17:02.
JonSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2017, 21:53   #25609
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,604
Thanked: 6,690 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Weird. I have a similar problem with my X-Play (rooted stock 6.0) which used to work with my VW GT TDI stock radio.

Sometimes it will work, with various combinations of switching on and off, but if there is a magic combination, I can't find it.

Was looking yesterday, and, like above, could not select "phone audio."

Bluetooth wizards?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 09:10   #25610
BHPian
 
sanjbmw2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 32
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeantownThinker View Post
Strange but true. I feel HTC have gone regressive in their development.

In the settings I see option to connect as headset but just cannot select the option.

See Screenshot below
Attachment 1632534




It does not allow to select. HTC "Help"Line also kind of confirmed this. I spent 3 full hours exploring all possibilites on the phone, including trying an app called CashDashdroid. But even that was of no help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Weird. I have a similar problem with my X-Play (rooted stock 6.0) which used to work with my VW GT TDI stock radio.

Sometimes it will work, with various combinations of switching on and off, but if there is a magic combination, I can't find it.

Was looking yesterday, and, like above, could not select "phone audio."

Bluetooth wizards?
Try this.....

Unpair all BT profiles
goto settings----location----3 dots on the top-----turn off bluetooth scanning
pair devices and see if it works.
sanjbmw2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 09:42   #25611
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,280
Thanked: 18,779 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I was all set to buy the OP3T. Just waiting for some cash back. Now I see that LG has launched the G6 for 52K and with a 10K amazon cashback for Prime.

At 42K, it has a QHD 5.7" screen, IP68 protection, dual cameras, Quad DAC and looks super premium. I am now really tempted for the Lg G6 but 12K more than 3T.....

Damn you LG. Couldn't you be like Samsung and price the G6 out of contention.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 09:50   #25612
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
I was all set to buy the OP3T. Just waiting for some cash back. Now I see that LG has launched the G6 for 52K
Me too on the OP3T. Going to pull the plug anytime as am running short on patience. Will check the LG. I hope with other models eating in possible sales OP3T may start offers again. The LG is still at 4Gb RAM when compared to the 6 on the OP3T.

Last edited by diyguy : 25th April 2017 at 09:55.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 10:28   #25613
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,604
Thanked: 6,690 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods



This is a common confusion but it means I can't be sure what you mean...

Quote:
pull the plug
--- negative. To turn something off rather finally.
Quote:
pull the trigger
--- positive. Even though it sounds like killing something!

Sorry: my mother-tongue is just weird sometimes!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 10:49   #25614
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
--- negative. To turn something off rather finally!
I meant pull the plug on the wait for a deal
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 11:37   #25615
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baroda
Posts: 153
Thanked: 64 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post
I have the same phone and while the S8 is gorgeous, the reports of it cracking and a battery that's the same size as this one put me off. I'll wait for the OnePlus5 or even check out the LG G6. Alternatively, I'll make do with the S7 for another year
I'm exactly on the same train of thoughts as you. Oneplus 5 , Pixel's next edition or if nothing Iphone's next iteration for me as of now.
abs182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 13:32   #25616
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 247
Thanked: 110 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenvenkatesh View Post
I have OP3T that i bought in January from Amazon here in India. I am wondering if i can use it on the T-Mobile carrier in the US once i move there. I mean would 4G LTE work?
This site seems to indicate that the 4G LTE will not be compatible with T-Mobile. Have a look-see
http://willmyphonework.net/
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 17:54   #25617
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Montreal, CA
Posts: 122
Thanked: 28 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
I was all set to buy the OP3T. Just waiting for some cash back. Now I see that LG has launched the G6 for 52K and with a 10K amazon cashback for Prime.

At 42K, it has a QHD 5.7" screen, IP68 protection, dual cameras, Quad DAC and looks super premium. I am now really tempted for the Lg G6 but 12K more than 3T.....

Damn you LG. Couldn't you be like Samsung and price the G6 out of contention.
Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
Me too on the OP3T. Going to pull the plug anytime as am running short on patience. Will check the LG. I hope with other models eating in possible sales OP3T may start offers again. The LG is still at 4Gb RAM when compared to the 6 on the OP3T.
If you guys need a phone now, I think the LG G6 is the best bet, considering the promo price it is being offered for today which brings the price down to 42k.

It has arguably the best screen along with the S8/iPhone 7+. Performance will be top notch, any issues will be sorted out with an update. That DAC would be a bliss to the ears provided you have some nice cans and high resolution audio to go along with it.

The screen and build quality is superior. I say go for it over the 3T.
sweetvar26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 20:14   #25618
Oxy
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 157
Thanked: 146 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetvar26 View Post
If you guys need a phone now, I think the LG G6 is the best bet, considering the promo price it is being offered for today which brings the price down to 42k.

It has arguably the best screen along with the S8/iPhone 7+. Performance will be top notch, any issues will be sorted out with an update. That DAC would be a bliss to the ears provided you have some nice cans and high resolution audio to go along with it.

The screen and build quality is superior. I say go for it over the 3T.
Taking a good look at the LG V20 might also be a good idea.
Oxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 21:16   #25619
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,604
Thanked: 6,690 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
I meant pull the plug on the wait for a deal
Gotcha! Sorry... I hear this misused so often that I didn't recognise that you were correctly using it

[Blush]
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 22:11   #25620
BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 982
Thanked: 141 Times
Default Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I am facing Strange Issue with some of the Whatsapp Images on Redmi 1S. The Image File size is displayed as '0' bytes in Phone and Windows PC.

But when the file is opened in phone and PC it shows blank.

Could anyone please tell what is the problem?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks