Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2011, 22:19   #4411
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,230
Thanked: 1,207 Times
Default

Guys, I figured out and here's my score on the stock Eclair
Attached Images
 
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 00:39   #4412
BHPian
 
speedfreak01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 94
Thanked: Once
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys,does it make sense to go for the HTC Desire since the price has been dropped.I'm thinking between iPhone 3gs and HTC Desire.Which one would be better?
speedfreak01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 00:48   #4413
BHPian
 
jatinpatel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 610
Thanked: 191 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

hello all

i have a galaxy 3 with andriod 2.2 on it.
wanted to ask is when we sync the phone with samsung kies software does kies save all the contacts in outlook? or in some other form ?
jatinpatel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 01:45   #4414
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Guys,

I installed Rafroid lite v3 NAND ROM, it is working fine, but I could not boot the ROM without SD card, If I remove the SD card or use other SD card it won't boot. I had to put the same SD card which I used to flash the ROM. Also after flashing the clockwork recovery I could not boot my regular SD ROM. Don't know what happened, any idea ?
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 02:16   #4415
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by jatinpatel View Post
hello all

i have a galaxy 3 with andriod 2.2 on it.
wanted to ask is when we sync the phone with samsung kies software does kies save all the contacts in outlook? or in some other form ?
I don't think so, however you should certainly make a full backup using "Titanium Backup" and save it to your computer, this was you can restore it in case of a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
Guys,

I installed Rafroid lite v3 NAND ROM, it is working fine, but I could not boot the ROM without SD card, If I remove the SD card or use other SD card it won't boot. I had to put the same SD card which I used to flash the ROM. Also after flashing the clockwork recovery I could not boot my regular SD ROM. Don't know what happened, any idea ?
Most ROM's a re flashed without keeping your SIM and SD Card in phone.
may be something is conflicting, i would ask the developers, then make a full backup and re-flash properly and restore the backup.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 09:34   #4416
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,085
Thanked: 3,643 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I need to 'sideload' some stuff into my Incredible 2. This is off my Epig4G. I cannot be bothered hunding for the apk's again. Also, there is sms backup. I hear that there are some USB driver issues with htc.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 11:54   #4417
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 468
Thanked: 9 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

I, Cringely Blog Archive The enemy of my enemy - Cringely on technology

A very interesting blog/article relating to Androids future.
Elito11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 12:54   #4418
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,566
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann
Guys,

I installed Rafroid lite v3 NAND ROM, it is working fine, but I could not boot the ROM without SD card, If I remove the SD card or use other SD card it won't boot. I had to put the same SD card which I used to flash the ROM. Also after flashing the clockwork recovery I could not boot my regular SD ROM. Don't know what happened, any idea ?
Do you have an ext3 partition set up in your sd card to store apps?
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 16:09   #4419
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,593
Thanked: 3,311 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
I need to 'sideload' some stuff into my Incredible 2. This is off my Epig4G. I cannot be bothered hunding for the apk's again. Also, there is sms backup. I hear that there are some USB driver issues with htc.
SMS backup & restore will save an XML file on your SDcard.

Titanium backup will save some of the apps to its folder - you can then install them onto your other phone if they are free. Does that work for you? The paid ones will of course be looking either for a android market license, or an IMEI, or a SIM card or such.

Sideload Android apps all you want with the Sideload Wonder Machine | Android Central has some links.

on a side note - DONT buy Theft Aware. Its not immune to a full ROM flashing - so its close, but no cigar!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 16:53   #4420
Senior - BHPian
 
Klub Class's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: KA17|KL65|KL41
Posts: 3,451
Thanked: 693 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbkumar View Post
I have a p500 and since I am on custom rom cm7 now...
How did you get your LG Optimus One CM7ed? Well. I use P500 and I'm a complete noob when it comes to custom ROMS.

Would you please guide me on how to get my phone CM7ed? Else, please provide me some links.

Please...
Klub Class is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 18:21   #4421
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,566
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klub Class

How did you get your LG Optimus One CM7ed? Well. I use P500 and I'm a complete noob when it comes to custom ROMS.

Would you please guide me on how to get my phone CM7ed? Else, please provide me some links.

Please...
Klub, check out xda developer forums, I think there are threads that talk about installing cm on this phone.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 18:27   #4422
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,593
Thanked: 3,311 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klub Class View Post
How did you get your LG Optimus One CM7ed? Well. I use P500 and I'm a complete noob when it comes to custom ROMS.

Would you please guide me on how to get my phone CM7ed? Else, please provide me some links.

Please...
[ROM] Gingerbread-2.3.4-rc4.1 /CM7 @2011-06-15-07:30 - xda-developers is one. Trawl around for more.
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 19:13   #4423
Senior - BHPian
 
ramkya1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 1,815
Thanked: 358 Times
Arrow re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Been trawling around for a phone with following specs:

- Andriod - Gingerbread
- Touch Screen 3" +
- Must have - Dual Sim - Cdma + GSM -
- Phone book 1000 +
- Around 25 K

Found the Spice M1410 at 14 K, brilliant VFM, upgrades to Gingerbread is now possible here:

Software Update for MAGNUM ~ Cherry Mobile

as it's actually another Avatar of Huawei Ideos X6......... but no Dual sim. Sigh!!! The search goes on.

Help!!

--Ramky
ramkya1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 19:23   #4424
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: LAX-SNA-BFL-BLR
Posts: 319
Thanked: 12 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

are the new Defy's coming with Froyo preinstalled?
CaliAtenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 19:34   #4425
Distinguished - BHPian
 
drmohitg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 4,427
Thanked: 3,517 Times
Default re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Hey on GS2 if someone sends me a text which has a number and i wanna add that number to my contacts, is there anyway to do it? I cant seem to find any option for doing the same. My nokia used to have an option of " USE DETAIL" which allowed me to use any number in a received text.
drmohitg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Quintessential Tablet PC Thread (Android, Apple, BB et al) vcash Gadgets, Computers & Software 1660 7th August 2017 16:25
BMW iDrive, Connected Drive & BMW Apps - Review & FAQ Thread! karan561 In-Car Entertainment 27 11th May 2017 00:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks